We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and wonderful anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay and wonderful anniversary”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We've stayed here for three nights and it was a great stay overall. From the room was spacious, clean and had a great view. The gym was excellently furnished (all you need to do your workouts) and the swimming pool and spa facilities top class.
We stayed for our anniversary and my wife's birthday. We enjoyed every bit of it.
Especially when I asked the manager Pete and the receptionist Robyn to prepare a midnight surprise for my wife's birthday. They collaborated excellently and helped me a lot to make it a special occasion for my wife.

So completely happy and will return again! Love the view from the Bar to the river!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iucle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to share the experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the great 5 star review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments will be passed on to the staff too.
As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we will see you again, if you wish to visit us again, call the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym to receive a 15% discount off best advertised rate.

Thanks and Regards,
The Team at WW Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    256
    117
    39
    34
See reviews for
135
506
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is the most wonderful hotel in the lakes , great location , Beautiful looking building sitting right on the river , lovely little waterfall right outside our window surrounded by the fells , truly amazing , arrived at the reception and the receptionist was so bubbly and friendly , everything was ready for us , our room was lovely and fresh and clean , the beds where so comfortable , we went down to the bar for dinner and the food was wonderful, and we thought , right something has got to go wrong , we said wait and see what breakfast is like , so off we went to bed great nights sleep really quiet and relaxing , woke up fresh shower was great , went for breakfast and again staff really friendly and could not do enough for you , breakfast was really nice , to top it off we where not sure what to do that day , as we only booked 1 night but we ended up staying 3 nights we loved it that much , we met the hotel gardener in the car park again so friendly , and he told us all about the hotel and its history , he also told us of great places to go and do , I would recommend the spa myself and my 7 year old loved it to get away from daddy watching the football , the whitewater hotel is a treat to visit and a great place to enjoy your holiday .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Paula D,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us on TA and for the perfect 5 star score! It is always pleasing to read when guests have enjoyed their stay as that is all we aim to do! Your comments will be passed on to the team whom I am sure will appreciate the read as they do work hard to keep our guests happy.
We hope to welcome you back to the Whitewater again, and as a thankyou gesture we will be happy to discount our best available rate to you by a further 15%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks and Regards,
The WW Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I booked this hotel as an engagement present for my brothers sister.
It was a surprise weekend for them, I booked online and spoke to the hotel direct to say this was a gift for somebody else.
I gave the hotel my card details for payment!

When my brothers sister came to check out they had to pay as they don't take payment for your stay until checking out!

I am very upset about this, Why wasn't I informed on the telephone that this was how the system worked and also it says nowhere online even in terms and conditions!

What if she hadn't of had enough funds to cover her stay??

You simply can not use this hotel as a surprise weekend away for anybody!
If I had of been made aware then it would have been fine.

I also phoned the hotel yesterday where I was told the manager would phone me back, Well I am still waiting for my phone call.

Such a shame as they really enjoyed their stay and I was thinking about booking myself in this hotel for a weekend but I certainly wont be now.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KATIE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Katie L,

We were sorry to read this review, and believe the hotel manager has since made contact with you. It was an unfortunate error on the part of the hotel and for that we apologise. On the positive side your guests were very happy with their stay from the feedback we received from them.
Regards,
The Whitewater Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Arrived on Friday afternoon (4th July), very friendly young lady on the desk, welcomed us with a smile! Rooms were big, fabulous views and spotlessly clean. We spent an hour or so in the pool and used the sauna, spa bath etc, all really clean etc with lovely staff.

Had evening meal in the Dolly Blue Grill/Bar (mixed grills) which was delicious! Again, friendly and helpful staff, always with a smile. Highly recommend the Torte with Chantilly cream for dessert too :)

We only stayed on night as we were visiting the South Lakes Zoo the next morning. The same girl was on reception when we left and was just as smiley and helpful! The surroundings were stunning, as were the views from our rooms. I'd recommend this hotel to anybody visiting the area, so much so that we are going to go back again within the next few weeks with the rest of my family!

Room Tip: We had rooms 203 and 206 (family rooms), both of which had lovely views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaloNorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the great 5 star review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we will see you again, if you call the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will offer a 15% discount off best advertised rate.

Thanks and Regards,
The Team at the WW Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived on Friday afternoon (five ladies) booked in and were given keys to our rooms, two adjoining rooms which was lovely because we felt like we where altogether. We where a little peckish after a few bottles of champers ;) and decided we needed some nibbles, we rang room service and asked for some crisps or nuts, to put us on until dinner, we where brought a few Doritos and some dips that cost £16.00 a bit steep for what we got. All the other meals we had (we where there for two nights) breakfast and dinner were to a good standard no problems whatsoever, the staff in the dining room were good, there was one young girl (Collette) that was outstanding, very helpful, polite and knew her stuff. The staff in the spa were lovely, the only problem was we went to buy some lovely Elemis and there wasn't any staff there, they were all busy doing treatments, we were going to spend a few hundred pounds but hey ho.....The reason for four stars the price of the snack was ridiculous, the reception staff couldn't tell us how to get to the station had no information on the steam train or ferry across the lake, weren't very forthcoming about ordering taxis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ks S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thanks for taking the time to post this review and for the positive & constructive comments. Your points have been noted.
We hope to welcome you back to the Whitewater hotel again, and as a gesture we will be happy to discount our published price to you by a further 15%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks again,
The team at the WW Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked into the restaurant for a birthday meal for my wife and I on Saturday night. As we were local we were not using the accommodation, just the Riverside Restaurant.
Despite living in the area or he last 5 years, we had never been to the restaurant before, and had not really heard any experiences from our neighbours, but decided to give it a go, due to the interesting sample menu.
We were not disappointed. For starters, I had the smoked haddock fishcake, and my wife had the sorbet, which were both satisfactory for the price. However, the stars of the meal were my beef and my wife's salmon. The beef was melt in the mouth tender, and my wife's salmon was an interesting combination of black (squid ink) potatoes and a curry sauce. We also ordered a side of mixed veg/potatoes and chips, which made it a substantial meal.
I followed this with a caramel sponge pudding which was very nice, and my wife with the chocolate gateau, which was exquisite.
The staff were friendly and the service was good (did not experience excessive delays as in other reviews).
The wine (Rioja) was OK for the price.
Pros: The food was great, service was good and attentive. Went for a drink afterwards in the bar below where the beer (Ulverston Brewery, Flying Elephant) and surroundings were both good and the price was fair (£4.90 for a pint and a half)
Cons: Asked for rare beef, but was served medium (although this was not a big issue as its quality was so good. Asked for water and was given expensive bottled without the option of a jug of tap water (even though the table next to us were drinking this) - I resent paying for water.
Overall, I would return for a special occasion meal. Would have awarded 5 stars if it hadn't been for the overcooked beef and the expensive water.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trooser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us on TA and for the 4 star score. Your comments will be passed on to the restaurant team and we will take note of those.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again. The menus change frequently and we also offer a more informal style of dining in the Dolly Blue Bar & Grill.
Thanks and Regards,
The Team at the WW Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Dinner (chicken salad) was tasty when it arrived one hour and 10 minutes after it was ordered. 2 hours from request to receipt of an iron and ironing board. Breakfast awful, coffee and toast arrived 10 minutes after I had eaten the poor attempt at cooked bacon and the mush that was masquerading as scrambled eggs (there was no-one around to offer the option of a fried egg!). Very young staff who could not cope with a busy hotel, not a sign of any Duty Manager. All in all one of the worst hotel experiences I have had. It was almost as if the staff, rather than welcoming you, ran the other way to avoid any questions they may be asked. Doubt I'll be staying there again even though it is in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Gordon,

We are really sorry your experience with us was not great and for the delays with the service we provide. We appreciate your comments and will take them on board.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us this time.
Apologies and Kind Regards,
The Team at the WW Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
1.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
485 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
7.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
5.8 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Lakeland Village Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 STAR PROPERTY WITH A ONE ROSETTE FINE DINING RESTAURANT AND THE DOLLY BLUE BAR AND GRILL RESTAURANT. SITTING ON THE BANK OF THE RIVER LEVEN, THIS PROPERTY OFFERS STUNNING VIEWS AND THE PERFECT BASE TO EXPLORE THE AREA. CLOSE BY ARE THE LAKES AQUARIUM, HAVERTHWAITE STEAM RAILWAY, LAKELAND CRUISES, BEATRIX POTTER AND THE LAKELAND MOTOR MUSEUM FEATURING THE DONALD CAMPBELL BLUEBIRD MUSEUM. THE PERFECT LAKELAND VENUE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel And Leisure Club
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing