We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rubbish service and food”
Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rubbish service and food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is just a review of the bar/restaurant ,
We stopped off here after a walking trip around Windermere with our baby, and it looked amazing, lovely new hotel and spa. We thought it would be a good place to eat, and granted we weren't exactly dressed up (boots and walking trousers) but to be honest we came pretty close to walking out . The young staff here acted pretty arrogant and I had to practically launch myself at them to get some help for a high chair,after aimlessly wandering around trying to catch staff eye for five minutes. We also ended up helping ourselves to menus etc- and the place was NOT busy at the time we turned up.

The food was ok. Adequate. Husband enjoyed his burger, I had a meatballs and cous cous which was the driest meal ever. I didn't enjoy it, and would not be back which is a shame because the hotel itself looked beautiful and would have been a definite contender for future visits, but the staff here could not have been more different to other local places we have visited and stayed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stickybun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    188
    76
    49
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great setting but poor atmosphere ”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The location is lovely here and the decor and surroundings great. We didn't eat in the restaurant area but around the bar. It was a busy evening and there were no seats outside. The entire 'order at the bar and give your table number' system brings no atmosphere to the place and there is no sense of customer service. I got the same bar man twice serving me and he'd clearly had a long day and wasn't very pleasant. The food was ok and we all cleared our plates but a will say they serve the worse chips ever - no flavour at all. I would give it another go but perhaps in the restaurant for a bit of customer service and to avoid the feeling of a glorified take away.

Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaBangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful.........”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

After two average dinners on our first visit to the area we needed somewhere guaranteed to be at least very good and the consensus of opinion was here.
What a find , really first class experiences (we ended up here 3 times in 5 days).
The dining choices are : waitress service in an inviting looking restaurant / order at the bar and pay , sit inside or outside alongside the river . The menu is the same. Note that if inside the bar do not waist time looking for a table number (even though it tells you too on the menu) as you will not find one. Essential for outside though. Also note if inside chose an upholstered chair as the wooden ones are very low.We always chose the bar inside,busy but always a good feel to it
The choice of food varies from Chicken in the basket to Chateaubriand and plenty in between.
The puddings all look quality, we shared a chocolate honeycomb (you know what i mean) cheesecake , it was fantastic and many others thought so as well. At least four children and three adults all came up separately to ask what it was and then went to the bar to order it.
Two mains, two drinks,one pudding £36 and outstanding service with no way of giving a tip.
Afterwards we went for a walk along the river to their private marina.
Did i mention the cheesecake ? .......... i think i did.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing fried chicken!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Had a family meal here midweek. Fab menu with possibly the best "chicken in a basket" ever - spicy, fried to perfection naughtiness. Great steak, amazing creamy mushrooms on toast for a starter. Lovely food and really great service. Nice decor as well, something a bit different compared to many places in the Lakes. Wine list not bad and OH said beer was great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank obefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Askam In Furness
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely riverside setting.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived on a hot sunny Sunday afternnon. To find the Swan very busy. We had pre lunch drinks sat by the river. Very relaxing. As it was very busy outside we chose to go indoors for our lunch. We found a table for six even though it was busy in the resturant as well. The staff were efficient and polite. The service was spot on and very quick considering it was so busy. The food was pipping hot and the chunky rough chips with the scampi delicious. The rest of the family also enjoyed the Fish and Chips. With two opting for the salad. A very enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

Newby Bridge, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Newby Bridge, Lake District
Backbarrow, Lake District
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing