We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage with walking from the doorstep”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lynwood Cottage

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Lounge with wood burning stove dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Lounge with wood burning stove
dining room
Dining Room
Main bed room
En suite to main bed room
twin bed room
Main bath room
main bath room
Landing
kitchen
kitchen
view of rear garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Greg M
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage with walking from the doorstep”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

It was a home from home for us for a week with everything we needed.
It was easy to get to and we enjoyed being able to walk from the cottage.
There are a large amount of attractions nearby and you can see the steam train go by from the upstairs windows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Storage heaters took a while to get the temperature right overnight
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2016
Thanks Greg, I am so pleased you had a good holiday. Hope you will come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen C
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cottage is lovely and it's very cosy with the log burner alight. The owner Anna was very helpful when we had a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. I hope you will come back and visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
371piotrl
North Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lake district at its best.”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Lynwood Cottage with our friends-4 adults and 2 toddlers in total. The property has everything what you need to chill out and recharge your batteries. Everything is in a very good condition and works as expected. Very nice stay in Lakes

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable Country Cottage”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We very much enjoyed our stay at Lynwood Cottage. The owner, Anna, was very helpful and easy to deal with. The cottage was easy to find, in a quiet and peaceful location in the pretty rural village of Backbarrow, with easy access to all the various attractions that the Lake District has to offer. It was clean, well equipped, fairly spacious, and very comfortable for our family of 3 adults, 2 children, and 1 infant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flameon15
pontefract west yorks
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Brilliant, relaxing time”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed at the cottage for three nights from 31/03/15, with my wife and two lads. Its in a great spot and I must say we had a fantastic time. The cottage has everything you could ever need and more for a very pleasant stay. Free Wi fi is even included if you want to keep in touch with the outside world! It is spacious and very well kept and cleaned to the highest standards. The log fire was so nice to sit in front of with a glass of wine on an evening. We were so exhausted after a full day in the fresh air walking, it was nice to come back to a home from home and just chill out . Thank you so much Anna.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the log fire!!
Liked least: nothing, it was brill
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyCulve...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage, fantastic stay, would heartily recommend”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The owner was extremely helpful & informative in organising our stay. The cottage was beautiful - lovely bedrooms, bathroom & comfortable living room.

Particularly liked the selections of leaflets (for local attractions), maps, books, DVDs & board games. And Newby Bridge is a lovely place to stay, the river air is refreshing & sublime. Plenty of good walks in the nearby area.

Would absolutely recommend & come back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing