We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brotherswater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brotherswater Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Patterdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

THE BEST lamb Henry! Great walk along the lake from our cottage we hired for 2 weeks, shame we only figured out we could walk on the 2nd week! Great friendly staff, beautiful log fire that the dogs or us didn't want to move away from. Great place to camp, in the right weather of course.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bollidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    71
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
53
111
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and beer selection at competitive prices. Build up a thirst by walking around the lake then sit outside and enjoy a good pint surrounded by stunning scenery. Recommended and will return soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank wirraly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our main reason for choosing was because it was dog friendly and it was a great find. Plenty of room on the campsite, friendly staff willing to help. The toilets/showers are a bit outdated but that's just a minor niggle. We ate in the Inn (evening meal & breakfast) good quality and great staff, we also drank in the barn, once again friendly staff and a good atmosphere. The best thing is that you don't have to go off site in the evening for good food/drink if you don't want to. The shop looked like it stocked a good selection of things but we didnt need to use it. I wouldn't hesitate on returning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mackie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice now, but after sampling camping in Somerset probably wouldn't go back. We pitched up on a Thu night and when we got up we were surrounded by tents which were all from the same group. Far too close to have any kind of chilling to ourselves. Whilst the location is stunning and good walks from the site, the site is just too busy and very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ebenezerManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

A friend and I were there 18 July having walked the Dovedale-St. Sunday Crag round. The beer is excellent - Tag Lag and Tirril, both really well kept. The lamb Henry for my evening meal was superb, ditto the pudding. Manager and staff were all really friendly and helpful. Room was small but very comfortable with a great shower.

All in all, when I finish fell walks in Patterdale I think the extra trip is worth it for the better beer and food, compared to the Patterdale Hotel which has lost the plot a bit in my view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrismac6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I visited this campsite for my first proper camping and hiking experience and was not let down. Despite the roads into the campsite being a bit tough on the car, and this city dweller, the idyllic views that greeted us more than made up for it. The campsite, while not massive, gave us enough room and privacy from other campers, and was well kept by on site staff. The toilets and showers were always clean and while nobody enjoys getting up for a wee in the middle of the night and being forced to walk a few minutes up a hill, its all part of the camping lifestyle.
A special shoutout must be given to the man who greeted us in the small on site shop, who was sporting one of the greatest red/plum velvet jackets I have ever seen. Admittedly it didnt seem very practical in the depths of the Lake District, but I tip my hat to him, he was pulling it off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank JKhyber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We have visited this campsite twice now in the past few months with our 10 year old daughter and have no complaints whatsoever!
It's situated beautifully, and yes you can be open to the elements like we have been both times with wind and heavy rain, but that's what camping is about! We still make the most of it! I'm sorry to hear peoples negative comments about it being a "poor campsite for bad weather", but seriously, is there such a thing as a good campsite for bad weather?! Camping in England you can never guarantee the weather and if a bit of rain and wind bothers you stay in a hotel! The campsite wardens are great, as soon as you book in if rain is expected they advise you on the best place to pitch your tent to avoid waking up in puddles!
The toilets, shower block and washing up facilities are great (and heated) and the small shop on site is very reasonably priced with everything you could ever need for your trip!
The staff in the shop are lovely, they even let the little one walk the dog around the site which she loved! The staff in the bar are really nice too!
Overall, this site is excellent, we love it and we plan to return many more times in the future!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
1.9 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
9.6 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brotherswater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brotherswater Inn

Property: Brotherswater Inn
Address: Brotherswater | Sykeside Camping Park, Patterdale CA11 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brotherswater Inn is a welcoming Lake District pub, open all day every day throughout the year (except Christmas Day), catering for climbers, ramblers and other visitors to this part of the Lake District.There are seven warm and inviting en-suite twin or double rooms. All rooms are non-smoking and no pets are allowed. The Inn has comfortable seating and three huge picture windows which enable you to take in the breathtaking views whilst enjoying our hospitality. There is also ample outside seating (weather permitting!) in front and to the side of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brotherswater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brotherswater Hotel Patterdale
Brotherswater Inn Patterdale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing