We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real taste of rural life.”
Review of Noran Bank Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patterdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Noran Bank Farm
Ranked #6 of 12 Patterdale B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A real taste of rural life.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

As two couples, we booked the double room in the house and our friends had the double in the bunkhouse. They were a little bit squashed and were woken early by the non curtained skylight. We had more room in the house and also had the company of the dogs. As we were walking the longest leg of the C2C the next day we had an early (big) cooked breakfast in the characterful dining room and a were given a very hearty packed lunch. Definitely not your run of the mill B&B but a great experience of Lakeland farm life.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here on a recent coast to coast trip. Such a lovely old farmhouse, with a gorgeous three legged collie who wags her tail when she sees you, plus another friendly little dog. Fantastic packed lunch, including a bolied egg!! Lovely and very interesting hosts. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was billed as a 'luxury bunkhouse' and I was curious to see how luxurious a group of bunkbeds can be. It was wonderful. The location is stunning, the view from the bench outside is luxury indeed. The new toilets and sinks were of very high quality and spotless. The beds were huge, one lower bunk was the size of a double bed and the linen was fresh and, again, of good quality.
Take an eye mask though, we were there on the weekend of the longest day and there are no blinds on the bedroom windows so its an early wake up if you're on the top bunks.
Heather, the owner, could not make us more welcome and she was particularly accommodating when I was planning the trip for me and 7 other ladies and kept calling to arrange and change minor things. I'd recommend the packed lunches, her cake is delicious.
It was great to be on a working farm and returning to the bunkhouse to find a sheep being sheared nearby and Rip the cute terrier keen to get involved with anything that's happening.
You will want for nothing here with Heather, it was a 10/10 from all of us.

Room Tip: If there's just the two of you, ask if the two bunk room is free - it has an en-suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here on the C2C and arrived after a very wet day.
The bunkhouse is very clean and well fitted out.
two people stayed in the house and two in the bunkhouse.
Heather cooked the best breakfast and gave us the best packed lunch...Tip if you dont want the full breakfast tell her or it will be on the table!
Good for an early start if you are going all the way to Shap..A hard day!!
The Family are lovely people and work hard

Room Tip: There is a twin room in the house and the bunk house has twin room en suite and a 6bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I recently stayed at Noran Farm Bunkhouse with four friends for two nights while walking the Coast to Coast Walk. We had a 6 bed bunk room to ourselves, which although a tight fit was comfortable. We had a shared bathroom on the ground floor which was clean with lots of hot water. We catered for ourselves and the kitchen was well-appointed and comfortable.
Heather and Kevin were excellent hosts and Heather won our hearts by doing our washing! We could get wifi if we sat on the stairs or outside the door but it was not always consistent.
We were given good advice about local attractions and eating places and we would certainly stay there again. We were able to park our car outside the bunk house.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here on our recent C2C trip - really nice comfortable place, we were the only people staying so felt like we had hired a little cottage for the night! The breakfast stuff put in the fridge for you is a really nice touch - Choose and cook what you like :) it is a bunkhouse so you can't go into it expecting too much, however what we got far exceeded our expectations! Lovely living area in the kitchen/dining part - chairs very comfortable (we had a nightmare trying to keep our dog from curling up in them!) The rooms were clean and (for a bunkhouse) very spacious. The only tiny tiny grumble that I have is that the bed we had (double in the main en suite room) wasn't ever so comfortable, you could feel the springs in the mattress which meant that I didn't have a great night sleep but all in all it was a lovely stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phillippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Calling this a bunk house means you arrive not expecting it to be as nice as it is. This place exceeded my expectations. I had a lovely on suite room in the bunk house. Nice simple decor. Great to have a kitchen. I cooked my own breakfast- everything I needed was in the fridge. This really suited me because I had an early start to get to Shap the next day. Heather made me a great packed lunch. Loved the carrot cake.

The walls are very thin but there was only one person staying in the other room so this wasn't a problem for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.2 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
957 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,643 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cherry Holme
Cherry Holme
#5 of 6 in Glenridding
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Patterdale
YHA Patterdale
#1 of 3 in Patterdale
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noran Bank Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noran Bank Farm

Property: Noran Bank Farm
Address: Noran Bank Farm A592, Patterdale CA11 0NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Patterdale
Also Known As:
Noran Bank Farm Patterdale, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing