We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Patterdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb stay,”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Thank you so much for yet again another fanyastic stay at Patterdale Hotel. Friendly warming staff. Very polite and attentive to your every need. Staci Receptionist was very helpful and polite.
3 course meal on both nights was tasty and very well thought out. Lots of choices.
Chocolate genache desset on Saturday night was just heaven!!
Looking forward to coming back as i do time and time again.
Ideally location for waters around the area of Ullswater and views are superb.

Room Tip: "lakeland rooms are must"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speckialk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    295
    68
    15
    12
See reviews for
98
592
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I had never actually stayed in the lakes but this hotel was truly magnificent......our room overlooked Ullswater Lake which was about half a mile away......our room was very well decorated and was well served with all the usual amenities.The meals were truly out of this world at least 5 stars....... the staff were all very pleasant and helpful.....its a hotel you would come back to each year

Room Tip: 1st floor overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liver13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royston-vasey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Another lovely stay at the Patterdale Hotel. Really cannot fault this hotel and the lovely staff who made my two boys feel very welcome. Lovely food, and amazing value for money. Looking forward to our next visit in August!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0yst0n_vasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night DBB break at the Patterdale Hotel. I can honestly say that the hotel is outstanding in every sense. Peter the manager was exceptionally informative and every single member of staff delivered exceptional levels of service. Food is beautiful and rooms are spotless. Already re-booked! Thank you so much guys for a lovely break!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chucklebutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChoiceHotelsltd, General Manager at The Patterdale Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really appreciate you taking the time and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Have just stayed at the Patterdale Hotel for five nights (our 6th visit since we discovered it last year). Cannot fault it, the Management & Staff are excellent, the food brilliant and the location is just beautiful.
If you want posh it's not for you, if you want welcoming and comfortable go for it!.
We are returning again in June with friends and can't wait.

Room Tip: Haven't stayed in the rooms at the rear of the Hotel, but the view from the Lakeland rooms is ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loverofAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our second stay and we will be back. ALL the staff are efficient and friendly. Food excellent and all the dining room staff understood what Gluten Free means so we had worry free meals. Would recommend to Coeliac UK members.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for rooms with Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocklington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Again another fab stay at the Patterdale Hotel. Service great, staff friendly as always. A team of staff that work so effciently always adds to a great hotel and staff who you could have a good chuckle with. Wad a shame to leave, hopefully see you again soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChoiceHotelsltd, General Manager at The Patterdale Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hi Danny

Many thanks for your kind words, we really appreciate you taking the time to comment. I have passed your comments on to the staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.8 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,643 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
387 reviews
10.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Property: The Patterdale Hotel
Address: | Ullswater near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing