We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Patterdale Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Lake(Glenridding)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Howtown Hotel(Howtown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Another Place, The Lake(Watermillock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Side(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,026)
Filter reviews
1,026 results
Traveller rating
605
317
73
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
605
317
73
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschoice hotelshalf boardevening meallake districtlakeland viewkirkstone passwalking grouppooley bridgebuffet breakfastwhite lionpacked lunchullswater steamergreat weekendrestaurant staffwalking holidaykippersfriendly hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 1,026 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on a dinner & b&b basis. Due to later than expected arrival got rushed into dinner as last orders. Food was average. Clearly cooked to high quantity not quality. Staff were nice and polite. Once in room, 1 window didnt shut properly, towards end of 2nd that night shower broke and then eventually got stuck outside room as lock was tempramental. Breakfast was lovely. Buffey style breakfast. Again cooked to quantity not quality but was still good. Didnt bother having the included dinner saturday night, decided would rather go out and pay for dinner. This hotel is all about location. Set amongst the mountains and at one end of the Ullswater the view is beautiful. Other than that the hotel was average. Overpriced for quality and service. Would only ever stay again as b&b if couldnt find anywhere else.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin_Barker_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Very spacious. Brilliant for families with kids young and old, or people without kids at all.

The hotel was recommended by family and they didn't let bus down.

On arrival we were met at the front desk by a very cheerful receptionist who enjoyed a joke with out young son and put us aat ease Immediately.

We were early when we arrived so went for a snack in the bar. The food, even as a snack was fantastic and only set the presidence for what was to come.

The rooms were well turned out, clean and fresh. Plenty of space for everyone. Cleaners came round everyday to remake beds and reset towels etc.

The evening meals were very well cooked and presented. The waiting staff were very polite and helpful, even when we went off menu for our son they were more than happy to help.

The hotel was within walking distance of a few walks that weren't too difficult for us novices and for our son.

All round a great break. Big thanks to The Patterdale.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Alex_Donna_Ethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have just got back and had a fabulous time. The staff are wonderful and the breakfast and evening meal were beautiful. We are looking at re booking the same hotel again which is something i don,t usually do as a rule. We thought the rooms were very clean and decor was of a lovely standard. they have a singer on a Thursday evening and usually a Saturday as well

Room Tip: check as some rooms have scenic view and some are not
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geordiedave45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChoiceHotelsltd, General Manager at The Patterdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Geordie Dave

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Three night stay over Easter weekend. The staff really stood out - they couldn't have done more for us. Polite, friendly and knowledgeable and an asset to the hotel. Many companies would do well to follow their example.

The hotel was comfortable and the choice of food was hearty - great to come back to after a day of walking.

Will definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CLK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Spent four nights at the Patterdale, two rooms between four of us, both facing front towards Ullswater with stunning views especially through our window which was large and had a nice window seat. Location is brilliant for Helvellyn and Ullswater. Can't fault this hotel, quite amusing to read some of the negative reviews by people who seem to forget this is a two star hotel. I'd actually give it more than that, here's why: Staff very friendly and efficient, all smiling and courteous. Food was great especially breakfast. Me being a pig I availed myself of breakfast buffet more than once most mornings, well cooked English or you could have cereals and fruit. Packed lunches available to order. Evening meals are three courses which come out very swiftly, when you've been out in the fresh air all day that's exactly what you need - good food served quickly. Bar nice and garden outside even nicer - we were lucky to have two glorious sunny evenings. Beer was in good condition. Rooms cleaned daily. Hot water was hot and showers had good pressure. Quiz night on Tuesday in which we came second. They gave us a free bottle of wine. All in all a fantastic stay. Kids loved it especially the free wifi. I actually liked the slightly dated decor in the hallways, made me feel quite nostalgic! We all felt that we made an excellent choice choosing here. If you're reading this Patterdale please big up your excellent staff! Just one suggestion: we'd have liked to have had breakfast a bit earlier, say seven o'clock so we could get out on the fells earlier. But that said we saw how hard your staff worked so perhaps that's a little too much to ask. Hope to return soon. Rob, Jo, Poppy and Charlotte.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChoiceHotelsltd, General Manager at The Patterdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Rob, Jo, Poppy and Charlotte

We all think your review is fantastic and we are so pleased you all had a great time. Thank you for spending the time to write the wonderful review. Also Rob, if you ever want to get on those fells early we can do a take away breakfast it won't be a full English but we can arrange something to give you plenty energy.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews