We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good rooms don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Patterdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were allocated a room with a large noisy industrial fan outside the window which ran from 06:30 to 21:30 each day. The fan extracted from the kitchen and the smell blew into the bedroom. We complained to the hotel but our complaint fell on deaf ears,

The front of the hotel houses the sceptic tanks which emitted a smell of sewerage - not nice

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 819alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our fourth trip to the hotel in as many years and it is good to report standards have been maintained. The food is good, the staff are excellent and the four day mid-week package we took represents excellent value for money. In the past we have booked a lake view room, this time we opted for a standard room which overlooked the land at the back of the hotel. The room was of the same standard as lake view rooms and we shall have no hesitation in booking a similar room in future. As expected the age profile of mid-week guests was greater than that of the weekenders we had met previously but we enjoyed the company of fellow guests who for the most part had mastered the art of relaxation and knew how to have a good time.
We had excellent weather and this added to the enjoyment of the three walks we took (of varying difficulty and length) each of which began and ended at the hotel. A brochure provided by the hotel gave a brief outline of some of the many walks in Patterdale.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Patterdale was a great hotel to stay with the family. We were blown away by the friendliness of the staff, the fabulous setting, the cleanliness of the rooms and last but by no means least the delicious and varied food. Staying during May half term we were wonderfully situated in the most picturesque part of the Lake District – with activities close by ranging from rowing/ kayaking and sailing on Lake Ullswater to fabulous rambles. Our children enjoyed the whole stay – their needs catered for beautifully.

The hotel has a lovely beer garden to the front, which was well used. The bar serves snacks throughout the day and evening, and the evening entertainment here was enjoyed by all the family. Every member of the team we came across appeared to be eager to help, and took exceptional care of our needs, even those who weren’t on duty.

The fabulous breakfasts were served by a competent team – the buffet being regularly topped up. The evening table d’hote menu, included in the cost of our stay, was wonderful, with a fantastic array of foods to suit all tastes, obviously cooked freshly in the kitchens for each service, the value for money for this 3 course meal was stunning. We didn't feel the need for such large portions (the second serving of potatoes on each plate could perhaps be queried with guests rather than being given them, as felt awful not completely clearing our plates). Service was swift with the Supervisor overseeing a well-oiled team.

Reception and the Hotel Manager were very competent and able to advise us on queries we needed assistance with.

The rooms were large, the décor fresh and well cleaned. We slept well. Our only suggestion would be the bath towels were slightly ‘small’ for our liking, however this was not a deal breaker.

We would warmly recommend this hotel as a fabulous destination in this fabulous part of the world… When can we visit again?

Room Tip: The front facing rooms were fabulous... both a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on a dinner & b&b basis. Due to later than expected arrival got rushed into dinner as last orders. Food was average. Clearly cooked to high quantity not quality. Staff were nice and polite. Once in room, 1 window didnt shut properly, towards end of 2nd that night shower broke and then eventually got stuck outside room as lock was tempramental. Breakfast was lovely. Buffey style breakfast. Again cooked to quantity not quality but was still good. Didnt bother having the included dinner saturday night, decided would rather go out and pay for dinner. This hotel is all about location. Set amongst the mountains and at one end of the Ullswater the view is beautiful. Other than that the hotel was average. Overpriced for quality and service. Would only ever stay again as b&b if couldnt find anywhere else.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin_Barker_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Very spacious. Brilliant for families with kids young and old, or people without kids at all.

The hotel was recommended by family and they didn't let bus down.

On arrival we were met at the front desk by a very cheerful receptionist who enjoyed a joke with out young son and put us aat ease Immediately.

We were early when we arrived so went for a snack in the bar. The food, even as a snack was fantastic and only set the presidence for what was to come.

The rooms were well turned out, clean and fresh. Plenty of space for everyone. Cleaners came round everyday to remake beds and reset towels etc.

The evening meals were very well cooked and presented. The waiting staff were very polite and helpful, even when we went off menu for our son they were more than happy to help.

The hotel was within walking distance of a few walks that weren't too difficult for us novices and for our son.

All round a great break. Big thanks to The Patterdale.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Alex_Donna_Ethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have just got back and had a fabulous time. The staff are wonderful and the breakfast and evening meal were beautiful. We are looking at re booking the same hotel again which is something i don,t usually do as a rule. We thought the rooms were very clean and decor was of a lovely standard. they have a singer on a Thursday evening and usually a Saturday as well

Room Tip: check as some rooms have scenic view and some are not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geordiedave45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChoiceHotelsltd, General Manager at The Patterdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Geordie Dave

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Three night stay over Easter weekend. The staff really stood out - they couldn't have done more for us. Polite, friendly and knowledgeable and an asset to the hotel. Many companies would do well to follow their example.

The hotel was comfortable and the choice of food was hearty - great to come back to after a day of walking.

Will definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CLK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,770 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Glenridding Hotel
The Glenridding Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenridding
452 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
225 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Address: | Ullswater near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price Range: £71 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing