We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Patterdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Certificate of Excellence
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent a weekend in the hotel recently, and couldn't fault the service. The room was comfortably basic, and clean and well serviced.
We arrived quite late so couldn't have had a meal in the dining room until 8.30, which was a bit late for us, so the receptionist suggested we eat in the bar, this was quieter than the dining room and we still received excellent service. On the Saturday night we were going to the theatre in Keswick, and would have been pushed for time, but were served quickly and given our desserts for a treat later.We were pleased to have gone out, as a birthday party was going on, and the bar was still busy on our return, but the noise did not travel to our room, which was far enough away for us not to be disturbed by returning revellers.
The staff could not be faulted for their courtesy and attention

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    295
    68
    15
    12
See reviews for
98
592
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

stayed in room 224 for 2 night on 18th and 19th july thoroughfare to other rooms very noisy, dinner very rushed, On the saturday they had a wedding no one else mattered bar service and restaurant awful. Noise was appalling until after 1am then elephants and noise past room. A bit of thought would have had them put people not attending wedding were they wouldnt be disturbed. Car parking terrible. Breakfast not what it used to be and didnt feel after asking for a better pillow that anyone would be interesed if we complained. We went for a special occasion and it definatly wasnt worth the money or the 6 hour drive. also shower kept going hot and cold all the time.

Room Tip: not on the main corridor or if they have a wedding dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen_sheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had one night in room 229; great view, reasonably quiet room. Our room was very clean and presentable, plenty of towels and hot water. Staff were all very friendly, helpful and efficient. Very good dinner; if the "set" dining times help maintain the good levels of service and great food then I'm all for it! The mango/avocado slaw & prawn starter was excellent and the rib eye medallions with smoked oysters was great too. Other main courses our party tried were the salmon fillet and chicken breast; everyone enjoyed their meals. The rooms are not very well insulated for noise, so if you stay please be a thoughtful guest and keep the noise down for late entries! We weren't disturbed, but we did hear complaints from other guests. Overall the Patterdale is very good value for money. We felt refreshed after our mini break and have no hesitation in recommending the Patterdale to friends and family. No mobile phone signals in the area, not just the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We've visited the Patterdale every year for the past 5 years and never been disappointed. This stay was the best however. The room we stayed in - 228 - was very cosy and as it's at the front commands a stunning view. The rooms look like they've had a makeover and look good for it. The food was as always excellent and the new menu was very impressive. One issue that some reviewers mentioned before was the speed at which meals were served so I'm happy to report this has been addressed. We had four very nice meals and you could sense the change in the ambience now that the staff are less 'busy'. Overall the whole experience was very good and we will definitely be returning. One downside was the local bus. We fancied a trip into Penrith and didn't want to drive so took the bus. £18 return for two. What a rip off! The driver apologised for the cost but nothing he could do about it. It's about 11 miles away. No wonder bus was mostly Pensioners using their bus passes. Other than that we had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying a little extra for Lakeland room for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley, lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I spent a memorable week at the Patterdale Hotel from the 27th June - the 4th of July. We could not fault our stay. The staff were excellent, welcoming, friendly, in fact they could not do enough for you. Our bedroom which overlooked the stunning vista of the Lakeland fells was comfortable, as was our bed. The food was fantastic, with plenty of it, both at breakfast and dinner. The bar was well stocked, with a couple of good real ales on show. We met some lovely people and enjoyed sunny days in the lovely beer garden. We will be returning next year. Patterdale is a lovely village and the locals are friendly. A great summer break, with fantastic memories. 10/10.

Room Tip: Choose a Lakeland room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveKernow09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My friend and I stayed in what was sold as a superior room, unfortunately I felt let down as the room was very ordinary, when queried about the room I was advised it was called superior because of the view, our room was a t the front and faced the view of Place fell, if they marketed the room as rooms with a view this would not raise expectations, as I am afraid we expected a more luxurious abode. Saying that the room was clean and functional, the single beds were small, being tall my feet dangled out the bottom, but they were comfortable!. Only other grumble were the size of the towels they were no bigger than a postage stamp, well I am sure you get the picture. Small touches like large fluffy towels would have been good. Food was good, and considering 3 course evening meal, and breakfast was included in the cost it was value for money. Just not superior.

Room Tip: If you are tall go for double room! Ask for room with view at front, back of hotel restricted view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Back today from 5 sunny days at the patterdale. We have stayed there many times and always been happy - but this week exceeded previous experiences. Everyone was friendly and helpful, the new décor very smart, and the choice of food even better than before. Apricots soaked in Schnapps with chewy meringue, almonds cream and icecream ...what's not to like!
We have recommended the Patterdale to so many people ... all of them have been impressed by the quality and value ...well done to all (and thanks for the bottle of wine for winning the quiz!!)

Room Tip: Always go for a Lakeland room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carapace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.8 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,643 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
387 reviews
10.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Property: The Patterdale Hotel
Address: | Ullswater near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing