We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“child friendly and great food”
Review of The Queens Head

The Queens Head
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Troutbeck
Price range: US$8 - US$33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Reopening in April 2017 after a £2 million refurbishment, The Queens Head Hotel is Located 4 miles from Ambleside and Windermere and nestled on the side of the fells which overlook the Troutbeck Valley. The new Queens Head will feature a large drinking area with cosy dining areas and 10 newly-refurbished en-suite guest bedrooms providing the perfect base for guests to Cumbria and, of course, their four legged companions. Renowned for serving some of the finest food in the area, The Queens Head’s new menu will highlight a mixture of homely classic pub food with a Cumbrian flair. So, whether stopping by for a pint of one of Robinsons award-winning cask ales, enjoying some wholesome home-cooked food or staying the night, you are always guaranteed to receive a warm Lakeland welcome when visiting the Queens Head.
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We went here at the end of our week in the lakes, finding somewhere with food this good and staff who were great and so child friendly made it a great evening. Even the children's meals were presented in the same beautiful way as the adult meals which was a nice touch. We sat in the downstairs area which was table service and the service was excellent, it was a little cooler down there than in the bar area but great when you have two fidgety children. We will definitely be heading back on our next lakes trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

We are glad to hear how much the whole family enjoyed your trip to the Queens Head. Depending on the age of the children we have a range of toys and games to play (and some for the grown ups too!)
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Lakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 367 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

If your visiting the lakes and are in reach of the Troutbeck I highly recommend stopping here for lunch.
We ordered a sandwich each which came with chips, beautifully presented and tasted even nicer than it looked!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank misshutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

We have spent a lot of time on our menu and are proud to produce everything to high standards in flavour and presentation - from our light bites and sandwiches to larger main courses. It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your lunch.
We look forward to seeing you on your next stop in Troutbeck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

we frequently visit here with friends and family as it is one of our favourite dining establishments.

it is a cosy setting and always seems to be busy which helps create a nice atmosphere.

the food is fantastic- ALWAYS!! iv never had a complaint about the food. they offer pub classics such as fish and chips, but have such a vast range of choices, and some really creative dishes.

yes, some of the prices are slight higher than your average pub, but the food certainly isn't average... you get what you pay for!

the only thing I would perhaps suggest they need to improve on is the service. it certainly isn't bad, but isn't quite the standard you'd expect from an establishment of this standard.
e.g nobody came to ask how our meals were (they had plenty of chances to), and other diners weren't offered to try the wine, nor was it poured (you'd expect this wherever you ordered a bottle of wine).

we will certainly be returning soon for some delicious food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sc160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Whilst staying at a lodge park down the road we went to the queens head 3 times for dinner, we had a starter and a main all 3 times and were absolutely stuffed!!!! It was the most tasty amazing food I have tasted in a long time the soups were to die for, also the steak was pricey but worth every penny, everything was presented beautifully and the staff were all very friendly with Elena remembering us everytime we came in and welcoming us, also the fact we could bring our dog with us was brilliant, I would definitely be returning here again when we next come to the Lake District!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Fantastic meal but not really for kids. Was put in a tiny room with just 3 tables and felt we were unable to relax. Booking is essential as it gets very busy.

Thank fuller37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queens Head also viewed

Troutbeck, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Patterdale, Lake District
 

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing