We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service.”
Review of The Queens Head

The Queens Head
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Troutbeck
Price range: US$8 - US$31
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Description: Reopening in April 2017 after a £2 million refurbishment, The Queens Head Hotel is Located 4 miles from Ambleside and Windermere and nestled on the side of the fells which overlook the Troutbeck Valley. The new Queens Head will feature a large drinking area with cosy dining areas and 10 newly-refurbished en-suite guest bedrooms providing the perfect base for guests to Cumbria and, of course, their four legged companions. Renowned for serving some of the finest food in the area, The Queens Head’s new menu will highlight a mixture of homely classic pub food with a Cumbrian flair. So, whether stopping by for a pint of one of Robinsons award-winning cask ales, enjoying some wholesome home-cooked food or staying the night, you are always guaranteed to receive a warm Lakeland welcome when visiting the Queens Head.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Service.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Great place to visit - great service - friendly staff - good atmosphere - nice decor - very thing spot on - the food was wonderful - will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frenchie246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thankyou! Have a great Xmas and NY!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    84
    41
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, cosy pub”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Spent a few days in troutbeck out of season and tried both pubs within walking distance.

Overall, it's a nice if slightly pricey pub with a (very) wide range of choice. It does make me wonder how fresh everything can be on a menu so large however, our food was spot on. It's very children friendly also. Being the lakes, this pub has the ubiquitous 'tourist apathy' approach to service and they would do well to sort this out for it to be seen as something different to most other pubs in the lakes.

Good beer selection and the wine wasn't too bad. Would go again and suffer the poor service attitude as the food made up for it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Halfchipshalfrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
All out food is freshly prepared to order, something we are very proud of. We are glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Fantastic food in a great location, great country pub atmosphere. Restaurant was very busy yet food and service excellent. Bar area great atmosphere whether dining or just enjoying a drink and relax by the open log fire!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank familyfun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our host at the B&B recommended this pub and we were so glad he did. It was so good we went back a second time. I particularly enjoy lamb shanks and I would have to say that the one here was the best ever! My partner had the pasty and this was also very special. The building itself only adds to the experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DemonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and give us such great compliments. To be told you had the best Lamb Shank ever with us is fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful quaint lake district pub. We arrived on a busy Saturday night and were informed things were delayed on the food front by a rather unenthusiastic barman (not good). However the waitress explained the situation and was very helpful offering free snacks to keep us going while we waited. We enjoyed an amazing meal at the queens head in beautiful surroundings overall a brilliant pub to visit we would defo recomend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, we always find them very useful for future staff training. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queens Head also viewed

Troutbeck, Lake District
Troutbeck, Lake District
 
Troutbeck, Lake District
 

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing