We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambience”
Review of The Queens Head

The Queens Head
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Troutbeck
Price range: US$8 - US$31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Reopening in April 2017 after a £2 million refurbishment, The Queens Head Hotel is Located 4 miles from Ambleside and Windermere and nestled on the side of the fells which overlook the Troutbeck Valley. The new Queens Head will feature a large drinking area with cosy dining areas and 10 newly-refurbished en-suite guest bedrooms providing the perfect base for guests to Cumbria and, of course, their four legged companions. Renowned for serving some of the finest food in the area, The Queens Head’s new menu will highlight a mixture of homely classic pub food with a Cumbrian flair. So, whether stopping by for a pint of one of Robinsons award-winning cask ales, enjoying some wholesome home-cooked food or staying the night, you are always guaranteed to receive a warm Lakeland welcome when visiting the Queens Head.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and ambience”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Enjoyed a family meal with two 3 year olds in tow. From the start the staff were friendly and helpful especially as a member of our party was gluten free. The staff were helpful in guiding menu choices and assuring in manner with our gluten free diner.

The food did not disappoint and the timings impeccable. The belly pork was a firm favourite along with the treacle tart. We were made to feel welcome, children included. It was refreshing to find a children's menu that included food other than chicken nuggets and chips!

Along with local ales, a real gem Will definitely revisit on our next trip to the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks Rachel S for your great comments. It is fantastic to hear how much your whole party enjoyed it, down to the little ones - and when the children are happy, we know we must be doing something right!

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip for some more tasty belly pork and real ales!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    94
    51
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful country pub”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We walked over Wansfell Pike to Troutbeck to eat at this traditional pub, but the food was better than most. Tasty pork roll with black pudding, try it. Nice selection of ales in a wonderful setting. Dog friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texan-n-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thanks for your great comments. So good to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit - those on 2 legs and on 4!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Having been here before and had great beer and fantastic food, we were a little disappointed on this occasion and hope that it is not a change for the worse and just a blip on this day,Tues of this week. Him that knows his beers, was disappointed with his blond (beer not wife) he hopes it was just because it was near the end of the barrel. The food ( goats cheese and red pepper roll,with fries and a tiny portion of slaw & potato salad) seemed to have shrunk in size since the last time we were here. We are not big eaters and hate to be outfaced with too much food but anyone out for a serious walk with an appetite may be disappointed. Having said all that the pace is well worth a visit and yes we will probably try it again, but please take note and don't let standards slip.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thanks for your review.

I am sure that if you had mentioned the Dizzy Blonde not meeting your expectations at the time, we would have changed it for you. It was mentioned to me on Tuesday that 2 or 3 of the barrels finished in the same afternoon, which does happen from time to time. I think this is the first complaint I have received about the beer not being up to scratch in a number of years and I can only put this down to the end of the barrel which can't be helped.

The crusty rolls have not been changed for many years, since we last offered baguettes. The portion size has subsequently also not changed.

I am glad to hear that you are happy to try the Queens Head again. With all of our food cooked fresh to order, there are occasionally issues. If there is an issue, please let us know and we will rectify it as quickly as we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“This place looks amazing, especially at night time”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Well I have passed this place on two occasions, and finally decided to pop in one night for some food and a beer. All I can say is give it a go, food and atmosphere brilliant, and when the fire is on you can easily fall asleep while having your meal...................bliss

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M2bfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thanks for your great review! The fire is one of our favourite features in the bar and we keep it going 365 days a year, for a relaxing meal all year-round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“gem”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Had the very fortunate experience to have a room and meal booked at this gem of a hotel last night i cannot rate more highly our fantastic experience from begining to end, room 16 was described as cosy and yes it was but it was more than that ,cosy, tranquel, with beautiful views, and tastly decorated with the most comfyest bed i have slept in.
We decided to eat there as menus looked great but well what can one say about the meal we was served, it was outstanding and with the other half being a chef himself, even he was impressed ,hope there paying the chefs what they most certainly deserve, breakfast was just as fabulous best he had ever had tother half commented on, the staff where exellent polite and friendly what more could one of wanted from an exceptional night out we will be back for sure

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thanks Helen L for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear how much you and the other half enjoyed your stay and the food on your recent visit to the Queens Head.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queens Head also viewed

Troutbeck, Lake District
Patterdale, Lake District
 
Glenridding, Lake District
 
Troutbeck, Lake District
 

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing