We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great food”
Review of The Queens Head

The Queens Head
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Troutbeck
Price range: US$8 - US$33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Reopening in April 2017 after a £2 million refurbishment, The Queens Head Hotel is Located 4 miles from Ambleside and Windermere and nestled on the side of the fells which overlook the Troutbeck Valley. The new Queens Head will feature a large drinking area with cosy dining areas and 10 newly-refurbished en-suite guest bedrooms providing the perfect base for guests to Cumbria and, of course, their four legged companions. Renowned for serving some of the finest food in the area, The Queens Head’s new menu will highlight a mixture of homely classic pub food with a Cumbrian flair. So, whether stopping by for a pint of one of Robinsons award-winning cask ales, enjoying some wholesome home-cooked food or staying the night, you are always guaranteed to receive a warm Lakeland welcome when visiting the Queens Head.
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We turned up on a Saturday night without having booked. A waitress spotted us in the bar looking as though we needed help and came straight over with a sweet smile and a promise to do what she could. She quickly returned and led us to a very acceptable table in a back room (quieter here than the rest of the pub), warning us about steps on the way and being generally solicitous. The waitress who took our orders and served us was also delightful, and despite the meal being rather more expensive than our usual pub outing we were happy to leave a much larger tip than our usual percentage. Food was gorgeous. We plan to return next month. It was a March evening so dark when we arrive, thus I can't comment on outdoor seating or views.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FionaGLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thanks FionaGLancaster for your great review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the food and service on your visit in March. We change our menu on a regular basis, so there should be some tasty new additions when you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for The Queens Head
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Enjoyed a lovely meal here last night. Slightly spoiled by the shock when we got the bill to see how much we had been charged for drinks ! soda and lime, one pint of beer and one glass of the house sauvinon blanc came to £14. The biggest cost being the glass of wine being over £7. Yes , as you replied to another reviewer people want quality wine with their meal. I would like to know what unique vintage I was offered to justify such a price. If I had known I would have taken time to appreciate it a bit more!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ljmorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thanks ljmorecambe for your review. We have a varied wine list in terms of tastes and prices as we believe in the perfect harmony between good food and good quality wine. This is why we chose to have a variety of wines by the glass which vary in price.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Rubbish. This is a pub trying to be posh just be a pub. Vastly overrated and spoiled a burger by making it too fancy. Avoid this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank timwscfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

We are sorry to hear that the Queens Head was not to your taste. We don't try to be anything that we are not. We are a gastro style pub that serves good quality, fresh, local produce that is cooked to order. If it is an old-fashioned burger you prefer, might I suggest you try our sister restaurant, The Village Inn which is a bar & grill restaurant and may be more to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a meal here one night. Everything was carb loaded & not much salad in sight. Came to pay the bill & foolishly didn't have my glasses with me to check. When we got back to hotel I had been charged £14 for other peoples drink. My fault I know but wonder if this was genuine mistake or had others been overcharged like this. Overall adequate food but have had better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Unfortunately, as humans, we do make mistakes from time to time. If you had contacted us directly and explained the error and the items which you did and did not have, we would have been only too happy to refund the money for any items which you had been overcharged for. We are currently in the process of installing a brand new till system which has cost us in excess of £20,000 which should help us to identify and hopefully eliminate any problems in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We was staying in log cabins near by and walked up one night we just wanted light snaks me and my boyfriend ordered a fish finger butty &chip butty and I've never seen anything like it 4 batter haddock peices on delicious bread with homemade tomatie ketchup and it was £6!!! Onion rings are out if this world staff all brilliant we returned on our last day for a breckfast even that was delicious highly recomend you stop here !!!

Thank Sarah-Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thanks for your review. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed all of the food - from the butty to breakfast.
We hope to see you again on a future visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queens Head also viewed

Troutbeck, Lake District
 
Troutbeck, Lake District
Patterdale, Lake District
 

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing