We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the finest Sunday lunches”
Review of The Queens Head

The Queens Head
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Troutbeck
Price range: US$8 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Description: Reopening in April 2017 after a £2 million refurbishment, The Queens Head Hotel is Located 4 miles from Ambleside and Windermere and nestled on the side of the fells which overlook the Troutbeck Valley. The new Queens Head will feature a large drinking area with cosy dining areas and 10 newly-refurbished en-suite guest bedrooms providing the perfect base for guests to Cumbria and, of course, their four legged companions. Renowned for serving some of the finest food in the area, The Queens Head’s new menu will highlight a mixture of homely classic pub food with a Cumbrian flair. So, whether stopping by for a pint of one of Robinsons award-winning cask ales, enjoying some wholesome home-cooked food or staying the night, you are always guaranteed to receive a warm Lakeland welcome when visiting the Queens Head.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the finest Sunday lunches”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Went here recently with family. I knew everything was going to be alright the moment we stepped through the door and the bar staff were joking with my young son.

The food is fantastic with the Sunday lunch possibly the best I've had. The kids meals are huge.

It's expensive but worth it. Highly recommended.

Big thanks to the staff who were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Eunos1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks Eunos1989! Fantastic to hear how much you and your son enjoyed your trip to the Queens Head. We welcome everyone of all ages and understand how boring sitting at a table can get for the younger ones! I have passed on your comments to all of the staff - thank you from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    85
    41
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deteriorating restaurant”
Reviewed 6 May 2014


We have been visiting the Queen’s Head for several years. We always dine in the restaurant. However, last night our dinner was very poor. The sirloin steak , though well-cooked was of a very poor and cheap quality. The chips were the bits left in the bottom of the frier. There was no table service. You had to approach the bar and queue for attention for the food order as well as the drinks. Our meal for 4 people came to £160, for two courses and limited alcohol. we won’t return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I notice that you have chosen to post your review on our TripAdvisor twice and pleas find below our response from your second, identical review:

The sirloin steak which you had is actually black Herefordshire sirloin which has been hung for 28 days. We have received nothing but praise since its addition to our menu - there is actually such a demand that we are now buying whole sirloins from the cow just to keep up! I really can't understand your comment that it was not good quality. If you would like to read the full history of this breed and cut of beef, I suggest you visit the website of our supplier, Lakes Speciality Foods.

The Queens Head has been busier in the last 3-4 months than I have ever seen it. It is ironic that I have actually been in charge of the kitchen during this time. As I am working on site all day, 7 days a week, I am very aware of the methods of service and any issues. I have stopped all table service in the bar area, a rule which has been in place the entire time I have been here, but often relaxed. This relaxing of the rules has only caused us problems so I have stopped waitress service all together in this area - I can assure you that there are no TripAdvisor reviews thanking us for bending the rules for individuals, and I refuse to get caught in the dilemma any longer. I understand that it has upset a couple of people, but I can name several other establishments that make you queue to place your order - many of which, in my opinion, give smaller portions and poorer quality than at the Queens Head. If you would have preferred table service, we also have a large restaurant area where you would have received this. It is always the customers choice if they would prefer to sit in the bar with the atmosphere and to order at the bar; or to sit in the restaurant and receive table service. Both areas are available 7 nights a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, England
2 reviews
“Amazing food!!!! A little Gem xxxx”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous sumptuous food worth every calorie :) delicious home cooked food! Try the fish pie! To die for! Will return again ! Perfect for family evenings, romance and more x

Helpful?
Thank pixy_feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks pixy_feet for your lovely comments - and remember: calories don't count when you are out for dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable pub food”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped off for a light lunch, in this atmospheric old pub. Service was friendly and efficient. The food was good. We shared a starter of battered French beans - an excellent bowl of deep fried nibbles. We followed this with the 'light' fish and chips, which we actually found very filling, and so just finished with a good cup of coffee.
We will certainly return to try some of the other interesting items on he menu - including desserts.

Helpful?
Thank Bootsontheground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for your great feedback! It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed all of the food, service and atmosphere on your visit to the Queens Head.
We update our menu regularly to reflect the changing seasonal produce, and will be changing both our main menu and desserts over the next 2 weeks. So watch this space for some more interesting dishes for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We turned up on a Saturday night without having booked. A waitress spotted us in the bar looking as though we needed help and came straight over with a sweet smile and a promise to do what she could. She quickly returned and led us to a very acceptable table in a back room (quieter here than the rest of the pub), warning us about steps on the way and being generally solicitous. The waitress who took our orders and served us was also delightful, and despite the meal being rather more expensive than our usual pub outing we were happy to leave a much larger tip than our usual percentage. Food was gorgeous. We plan to return next month. It was a March evening so dark when we arrive, thus I can't comment on outdoor seating or views.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FionaGLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thanks FionaGLancaster for your great review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the food and service on your visit in March. We change our menu on a regular basis, so there should be some tasty new additions when you next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queens Head also viewed

Troutbeck, Lake District
Troutbeck, Lake District
 
Troutbeck, Lake District
 

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing