We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our grandaughter thinks Applethwaite Lodge is amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troutbeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Limefitt Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Our grandaughter thinks Applethwaite Lodge is amazing”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our 2nd visit to Limefitt, the previous being in 2012 when we stayed in Badgers Rest. Applethwaite Lodge is less expensive and of course you get less for your money. It is smaller (2 bed versus 3 as expected) but is situated in a much more congested part of the site overlooked by adjacent lodges. When sat on the decking balcony half the view is of the lodge next door which is very close. Inside, the lodge had space enough for the 3 of us and our granddaughter thought it was amazing especially as she had ‘won’ the bathroom to herself. We drew the en suite shower room which was very small. The lodge had all the basics but it was disappointing to find no spare loo rolls, no washing up liquid, no bin bags, only one tea towel, etc. We were also a bit disappointed with the overall cleanliness – not so much dirty as requiring a thorough clean eg the cobwebs behind the front door had been there for some considerable time. Wifi reception was free but it was a poor signal and slow. If we visit Limefitt again we will pay the extra again and get a better property, location and views. But to end on positives - nothing referred to above was enough to spoil the holiday, the lodge met our needs, it has videos, DVDs and a Play Station for those inclined, Limefitt is situated in a beautiful location with pony trekking and good walks on the doorstep with easy access to other parts of the Lakes, bring your bike and cycle around Windermere (30m with just a few hills), foc use of Low Wood Club is great, especially on rainy days or just to relax after a strenuous walk and, at the end of the day, the Haybarn Inn provides good beer and pub fare served up by friendly, helpful staff on site so no need to drive.

Room Tip: If possible check out the site to select a lodge with the best on site location, space and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank PAHEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Limefitt Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding you stay here at Limefitt Holiday Park.

We are pleased to hear that your granddaughter enjoyed her stay here at Limefitt. We are sorry about the issues which you found with the lodge, and we are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused, we have passed these onto the agent you booked with and we can reassure you that this issue will be rectified. We are glad you enjoyed the park as a whole and are thinking of returning to us here at Limefitt. We look forward to seeing you again soon, from all of the Limefitt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    94
    27
    9
    13
See reviews for
261
177
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed as a group of 6 for a long weekend and it was brilliant! The site is set in stunning scenery with plenty of wildlife around (look out for the cheeky badger!). Whilst there seem to be a lot of lodges, it didn't feel over crowded and you still got your own privacy.
The lodge itself is great; with 1 double, 2 twin and 2 bathrooms. Everything has been thought of; there were towels provided, along with all utensils/washing up liquid/foil etc in the kitchen - a real home from home. Plenty of DVDs, a games console, TV, board games - ideal for lazy and/or rainy days. There is a wrap-around balcony which is ideally placed for the evening sun.
In terms of location you do need a car to get around but there are some lovely walks you could do nearby.
Will definitely return!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank annjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Limefitt Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for giving us your feedback and thoughts on your stay here at Limefitt Park. We appreciate and take on board any feedback which we receive. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Limefitt park whilst visiting here with friends and family and that we were able to make it as enjoyable and as home like as we could for you. We look forward to seeing you on your return, from all of the Limefitt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Ewe View Lodge for 4 nights on our honeymoon in August 2013.

The park is in a lovely location, secluded and quiet

Our lodge was beautiful, the hot tub was AMAZING and the owners even left us a bottle of champagne as it was our honeymoon!

The pub is excellent, good food at good prices.

Want to come back again very soon!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Limefitt Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Ewe View Lodge, and we are overjoyed to hear that you spent your honeymoon with us here at Limefitt. We love your comments about the beautiful lodge and the amazing hot tub. We will pass on your comments to the owners who I'm sure will be thrilled at your comments. Thank you for your comments regarding the Haybarn Inn, its food and prices. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Limefitt, maybe for your anniversary.

Congratulations from the Limefitt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from a 4 day break at limefitt park (Troutbeck lodge). The lodge was perfect in every way. It was equipped with everything we needed. The views were breathtaking, so peaceful. The hot tub was a fantastic added bonus. We took 2 small dogs and they were perfectly safe as the lodge was completely enclosed. The dog park was amazing, you could let the dogs off the lead and they could not get out. We are already planning a return. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Limefitt Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your charming review of Limefitt, we are glad you enjoyed your 4 day break In Troutbeck Lodge. Its great to hear the lodge was perfect, and equipped with everything you needed. As you say we are so lucky here at Limefitt to have such a breathtaking and peaceful location, and we do our very best to appreciate it every day. We hope you enjoyed your dip in the hot tub. Its wonderful that your 2 small dogs enjoyed their visit, and made use of our dog field/park. We look forward to your planned return, and thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in June with our young daughter as there was a deal on for that month.
The website was easy to use and professional.
The lodge was a lot smarter than we'd expected with plenty of room, lots of light and well equipped. There is a small playground for the children with spectacular views and a nice area by the river where they can go paddling and fishing. As we went just out of season it was very quiet and we barely heard other people. The location is great for doing all the activities we wanted to do with a small child.
Small niggles would be when we opened the velux window in the twin room a shower of dead flies fell onto the bed. Reception were apologetic when we let them know and the rest of the lodge was clean.
We tried the onsite pub and to be honest that was the only thing that lets Limefitt down. We wanted to sit outside but were being bitten by midges. Inside looked rather tired and a bit down at heel, the food took a long time to come out and was average. Its a shame as it doesn't meet the standards of the rest of the park.
Also a word of warning, you can only get Vodafone coverage but the park do provide free basic wifi for two devices.
We would definitely book again but won't bother with the pub next time!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Limefitt Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at Limefitt. We are glad you found our website easy to use and professional. Im pleased to hear you found the lodge alot smarter than you expected, with plenty of room for you all, that it had lots of light and was well equipped. I am also glad you enjoyed your visit to our play area on site, and that you loved the views and river pool. We find that at Limefitt, even in season the park never seems to be busy, and always seems peaceful and quiet. Limefitts location is superb for the local amenities and activities with the main towns been just 5 minutes drive away. We are sorry about the niggles you had, to include the flies in the velux window. We are very sorry and have asked our cleaning team to ensure than the velux windows are thoroughly checked. I am sorry you were disappointed with our Haybarn Inn on site, we do feel that the Inn has rustic charm and that its lakeland stone feel is one of its key characteristics. We do realize that it is not as modern as some other public house, but do feel that this would deter from its charm somewhat. I am sorry you couldn't sit outside due to the midges, generally we find this not to be a problem, but on more humid days the midges can we attracted to more sheltered areas. We do work hard to ensure our service levels are good, and generally get very good feedback, I apologise if the food service was slow, and I imagine we may have been caught by an unexpectatly busy period which may have meant food services times were a lot longer than hoped. We take your comments on board and will work hard to ensure we reduce the times to an acceptable level. Thank you for you advise about the mobile coverage, as Limefitt is tucked away in its own valley we find coverage is limited unless you are with Vodafone, however we do provide a payphone at reception to contact the outside world. We hope to see you again soon at Limefitt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Arrived home today after spending 3 nights at limefitt park, we stayed in a lodge rented from the owner called higher lodge and I can highly recommended it , we took our little dog with us and she loved the walks and the river she was also welcomed in the haybarn and the mortal man when we went to eat, the park is in easy driving distance of most places we went somewhere different for 2 full days and just walked we have come home extremely tired including the dog and trying to work out when we can go back, wonderful place

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Limefitt Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review titled "excellent stay". We are really please you loved your 3 night break in higher lodge, and that you highly recommend it. Also that your little dog loved the park, the walks and the river. As you have stated we welcome dogs into our Haybarn inn as does the local Mortal Man Inn. Our location is very suited to many of the central lake district towns, with Bowness, Windermere and Ambleside being a very short drive, and we are thrilled to see you took advantage of this, and some of the great walks locally. Sorry that you had to go home to recoup following your busy break, and we look forward to seeing you again soon here at Limefitt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshunt
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

we loved it here, our lodge was excellent very big and clean. I could go running up to ill bell 20 metres from our doorstep. highly recommend. 15 minutes from patterdale along kirkstone pass, 10 from windermere

Room Tip: great location, mortal man pub does lovely irish coffee. great for walkers and runners. very quiet s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Limefitt Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for you great review "limefitt". Great to hear the lodge suited your requirements, and was spacious and clean. Limefitts location means that Ill Bell, High Street and many of most respected walking routes in the lake district are just a stone throw away, it is great to hear you enjoyed them, and you highly recommend us. Again our location means many must see places are really on our doorstep. We hope to see you soon at Limefitt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
2.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
957 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limefitt Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limefitt Holiday Park

Property: Limefitt Holiday Park
Address: Patterdale Road, Troutbeck LA23 1PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Troutbeck
Hotel Class:4 star — Limefitt Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Limefitt Park is spectacularly situated in one of Lakelands most beautiful valley, capturing the very essence scenes of the Lake District National Park. We are located in Troutbeck which is a short 5 minute drive to Windermere/Bowness, where there is a range of pubs, cafes and restaurants. Popular establishments for food in the local area are Jacksons Bistro in Bowness, The Flying Pigg in Bowness, The Wild Boar on the Crook road, The Village Inn in Bowness, and Pedro’s in Troutbeck Bridge. A break here is guaranteed to be relaxed and scenic. Enjoy our fantastic outdoor play park and dog walking field, along with Lakes Pony Trekking! Why not also try some of the local activities such as Treetop-Trek at Brockhole, The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction in Bowness, Windermere Lakes Cruises, and The Low Wood Bay Water sports Centre! There are also various local walking tracks with stunning views of the Lake District. Sit back and relax in front of our homely log burner at the Haybarn Inn on site after a day experiencing the local scenery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Limefitt Holiday Park Hotel Troutbeck
Limefitt Holiday Park Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing