We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Limefitt Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
445
113
30
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
445
113
30
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubhaybarn innon siteonsite pubpony trekkingsmall shoplake districtewe viewplay areahome from homestaff at receptiongold caravanhay barnzip wirewhite cross baytarn howsprivate lodge
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just returned from a 4day stay at Limefitt Park, we stayed at Hill Lodge. Myself my husband ,my son who is 15 and our dog Tilly.

We had a fantastic time limefitt is brilliantly located

Only a few small hiccups to spoil it a bit and that was the cleanliness of the lodge it was fine on first glance but on looking there was cobwebs everywhere, the bathroom was filthy we felt violated going in there, under the beds had not been cleaned and the bedding and towels provided smelt foisty. Also the electic kept tripping off, (iv read this on other reports too). Maybe
should have took the time to read before we went so we would have known where the box was located and how heating went on. So as not to call security out.

Saying all this we didnt spend much time in the lodge so we didnt let it get us down. Haybarn pub was fab and food very nice although a tad expensive and the woman behind bar was a bit miserable.

But for location you cant beat this place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank jill j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Limefitt Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Thank you for your review of Hill Lodge, We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with the cleaning standard, as this lodge is managed privately and not cleaned by the park we will pass your comments on to the owner. We are sorry your stay was not as expected but are pleased that you continued to enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the Haybarn Pub, we try and keep our pricing in line with, if not a little cheaper than other lake district establishments, but will do some more research locally following your comments, We are sorry that you found the lady behind the bar a bit miserable, we will offer some staff training to ensure you do not experience this in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Limefitt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just returned from a family holiday. We had three lodges between us (7 adults, 2 babies and 2 dogs!). My husband and I stayed in Hill Lodge. Very homely and comfortable and mostly very clean (until we dropped something behind the bed and had to pull the bed out to retrieve it - wasn't too pleasant!). Would very happily return to Limefitt and especially to Hill Lodge which really was a home from home. I did feel very cut off not having any mobile phone reception but thankfully our lodge had WiFi. The only thing I would say is that some sort of Welcome Pack giving details of the lodge would have been handy. The electricity went off several times over the week and the first time it happened it was a major drama looking for the fuse box to flick the trip switches back. (It was eventually located at the back of the top cupboard in the bedroom). It was a race against time to ensure that the food in the fridge wouldn't go off in the very high temperatures! The shower was also very stiff and I had to ask my husband to turn it on every morning (if there is a knack to it, it would be useful to know!). On a different subject, I think that the lady at the Haybarn was having an off day when we arrived. Instead of the warm welcome we expected (having read TA reviews), it seemed we were inconveniencing her by ordering food and drink. Not entirely put off, we had a meal there a few nights later but waited about 40 minutes for our food to arrive. I also felt that staff at Reception didn't seem very knowledgeable about the lodges or particularly interested in any queries. Despite my moans, we really had a lovely week there; it's a lovely place and very tranquil – but not too far to get to the nearest shops and civilisation! Thank you to the owners of Hill Lodge!

Room Tip: I can recommend Hill Lodge - very comfortable!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LikeItToBeNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Limefitt Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Thank you for another lovely review of Hill Lodge, I am pleased you found it homely, comfortable and like a home from home. Due to our location in one of lakeland's most picturesque valleys our mobile phone coverage is quite poor, unless you are with Vodafone where the coverage is very good. We note your comments regarding the electric tripping, and will pass these onto the owner, who manages the property. I was sorry to read of your review of the staff at the haybarn, and reception. We are always investing in training for our staff and will ensure going forward that these issues are addressed. We do like to have a local knowledge, and do think its important to pass this onto our guests, and I am very sorry if this was not the case on this occasion. We hope you choose to return to Limefitt again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for a week in Helms Crag Lodge, a beautifully decorated and well equipped two bedroom place a short walk from the on site pub. The valley in which it is situated is unbeatable. The Haybarn Pub is welcoming and serves lovely food with the signature dish of good old fish & chips being the best we have tasted in UK. Barbara and her staff give excellent service. You couldn't beat this for a relaxing stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank valed47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Limefitt Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for giving us your feedback and thoughts on your stay here at Limefitt Park in ‘Helm Crag Lodge’. We appreciate and take on board any feedback which we receive. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed and had a relaxing stay here at limefitt Park and enjoyed the surroundings and also the service from our onsite pub. I know the Haybarn work really hard to make sure they give excellent customer service to its customers and will be thrilled by your comments. We hope to see you again soon, from all of the Limefitt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our 2nd visit to Limefitt, the previous being in 2012 when we stayed in Badgers Rest. Applethwaite Lodge is less expensive and of course you get less for your money. It is smaller (2 bed versus 3 as expected) but is situated in a much more congested part of the site overlooked by adjacent lodges. When sat on the decking balcony half the view is of the lodge next door which is very close. Inside, the lodge had space enough for the 3 of us and our granddaughter thought it was amazing especially as she had ‘won’ the bathroom to herself. We drew the en suite shower room which was very small. The lodge had all the basics but it was disappointing to find no spare loo rolls, no washing up liquid, no bin bags, only one tea towel, etc. We were also a bit disappointed with the overall cleanliness – not so much dirty as requiring a thorough clean eg the cobwebs behind the front door had been there for some considerable time. Wifi reception was free but it was a poor signal and slow. If we visit Limefitt again we will pay the extra again and get a better property, location and views. But to end on positives - nothing referred to above was enough to spoil the holiday, the lodge met our needs, it has videos, DVDs and a Play Station for those inclined, Limefitt is situated in a beautiful location with pony trekking and good walks on the doorstep with easy access to other parts of the Lakes, bring your bike and cycle around Windermere (30m with just a few hills), foc use of Low Wood Club is great, especially on rainy days or just to relax after a strenuous walk and, at the end of the day, the Haybarn Inn provides good beer and pub fare served up by friendly, helpful staff on site so no need to drive.

Room Tip: If possible check out the site to select a lodge with the best on site location, space and views
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
2  Thank PAHEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Limefitt Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding you stay here at Limefitt Holiday Park.

We are pleased to hear that your granddaughter enjoyed her stay here at Limefitt. We are sorry about the issues which you found with the lodge, and we are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused, we have passed these onto the agent you booked with and we can reassure you that this issue will be rectified. We are glad you enjoyed the park as a whole and are thinking of returning to us here at Limefitt. We look forward to seeing you again soon, from all of the Limefitt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed as a group of 6 for a long weekend and it was brilliant! The site is set in stunning scenery with plenty of wildlife around (look out for the cheeky badger!). Whilst there seem to be a lot of lodges, it didn't feel over crowded and you still got your own privacy.
The lodge itself is great; with 1 double, 2 twin and 2 bathrooms. Everything has been thought of; there were towels provided, along with all utensils/washing up liquid/foil etc in the kitchen - a real home from home. Plenty of DVDs, a games console, TV, board games - ideal for lazy and/or rainy days. There is a wrap-around balcony which is ideally placed for the evening sun.
In terms of location you do need a car to get around but there are some lovely walks you could do nearby.
Will definitely return!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank annjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Limefitt Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for giving us your feedback and thoughts on your stay here at Limefitt Park. We appreciate and take on board any feedback which we receive. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Limefitt park whilst visiting here with friends and family and that we were able to make it as enjoyable and as home like as we could for you. We look forward to seeing you on your return, from all of the Limefitt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews