We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem in the Lake District!”
Review of The Mortal Man

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mortal Man
Ranked #3 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real gem in the Lake District!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A wonderful Inn in a spectacular location. It was really good find. The room was great with all that we needed and the view was lovely from the window. We enjoyed a wonderful meal in the Inn, the staff were great and the menu was varied. The smoked haddock chowder was amazing! Would highly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKMI6girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    210
    62
    48
    27
See reviews for
121
346
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK - currently travelling
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned from a weekend away in the Lakes and from the moment we arrived Toby and his entire team made us feel very welcome. If you are looking for a 5* hotel then this is not the place for you, instead its is a great tradditional Inn set in an stunning setting with a big heart. It has a laid back and friendly vibe going on.... This a genuinely dog friendly hotel and our room had a second exit meaning we didnt have to trapse through the hotel with her (room 11).

We loved loved loved our stay here and cant wait to come back later in the year.....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feistyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have just returned from a 3 day/night stay at The Mortal Man Inn and had to write and say what a cosy and warm welcome we had from ALL the staff. The room was lovely, what a view and sooooo quiet! The meals we had there were plentiful and my husband did so enjoy tasting ALL the local bitters! Even our dog was at home there! Set in beautiful countryside The Mortal Man Inn is well worth a visit. Thank you one and all.........we shall be back. W + L W. Jones

Room Tip: If you have a dog.......try room 6. So peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent food and a great selection of real ales. Micheal was superb at front of house and always had a smile on his face ... on the Sarurday night he fronted and guided his team in a true professional manner. Well done Micheal and team. A true Lake District gem

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DJTower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have to admit that a weekend in the Lakes has me grinning like a lunatic at the best of times, and there I was, grinning like a lunatic as the Mortal Man hove into view. A good way of triggering abusive texts from friends is to take a picture of your pint in front of one of the best views from a pub beer garden in the Lakes, and send it to your mates in work on a Friday lunchtime. Such a potty mouth, Mr. H.

Anyhoo, fantastic Coniston Bluebird beer and an incredibly good fish and chips started a wonderful weekend for us. They also have possibly the friendliest pub cat I've ever met. If you visit, go in the big back room furthest from the bar. The view is incredible, and the old hotel guest books are dotted around the place, dating back to the early 1920's. i Could have sat there and drink, and drank in the view, and drank more, and read the ledgers all day. But, we had to go. And drink beer somewhere else. I will pop back soon, I think

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_V_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stopped at The Mortal Man on our walking route over Wansfell Pike, as it seemed so did half the pub. This wasn't a problem though and walkers (and their boots!) are welcome. There's a lovely roaring fire and plenty of seating, inside and out. The staff were pleasant and there's a nice selection of ales and drinks. We didn't have food but it looked very nice. A lovely stop on the way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lovely little pub/ Hotel, out of the way but not too far from the shops. It took a couple of attempts to find it, very sharp turn off, unless approaching the hotel from the opposite side. The bed was very comfy, a beautiful decorated large room, with a lovely view of the countryside. Food was really nice but as others have said, it was expensive, so an idea would be to go out for the meal on the evening. But the staff where more than happy to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky_beck_bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
3.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.8 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
11.1 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.8 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
17.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mortal Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mortal Man

Property: The Mortal Man
Address: Troutbeck LA23 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mortal Man 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beneath the rugged fells of Troutbeck Valley, just outside Windermere and Ambleside in the English Lake District, lies The Mortal Man. An established traditional Lake District Inn since 1689, it resides over the wonderous panoramic views of Lakeland mountains that have captivated the great minds through the centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Mortal Man reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mortal Man Hotel Troutbeck
The Mortal Man Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing