We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of The Mortal Man

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mortal Man
Ranked #3 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Mortal Man June 2014. Beautiful setting, nice room - bathroom clean and well equipped with shampoo, soap, shower gel and bath soak, peaceful and relaxing. Lunch menu was typical pub food nicely cooked. Cooked breakfast was lovely, although the continental breakfast selection was limited. We were a little disappointed by the evening menu which turned out to be virtually just the same as the lunchtime menu - if we were staying again we wouldn't have both lunch and evening meal we'd just choose one of them as the choice lacked variety. Barman was lovely, breakfast waitress was friendly and efficient. Bed was a little hard and pillows too soft for my liking, but that's I suppose just personal preference.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    217
    62
    48
    27
See reviews for
123
354
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

we stumbled across the Mortal Man whilst driving around the beautiful Lake District. Loved the name of the hotel and the little poem on the board outside showed a sense of humour as did the quip on the blackboard outside. Also liked all the bunting decorating the hotel. The outside garden where we ate our Sunday lunch was a little suntrap with interesting features like the wishing well and peace tree. A good reasonably priced menu and service was quick and pleasant. We all really enjoyed our lunch, and my mother, who found the portions more than generous for her appetite asked for her turkey to be wrapped up to take home, which the staff obligingly did. A very enjoyable experience of Sunday lunch, we would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We are in love with the Mortal Man so decided to spend a few nights here for our Honeymoon!
Stunning location; beautiful room 12-four poster bed room); warm and friendly staff always happy to help & nothing is too much trouble; delicious food (amazing breakfast menu); great portion sizes; good range of bar drinks & excellent relaxed vibe!
We walked Wansfell nearby & chilled for the rest of our time, thanks Kate & Garry, Toby, Gary & rest of staff! We will be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I recently stayed at the mortal man and enjoyed everything the food was excellent and the staff couldn't be more pleasant especially the young local lad untill it came to about half past nine when a quite large man walked in to the bar I believe now that it was the chef. I couldn't help hearing the vulgar language of the man it made me sick to think that he was preparing my food a few hours earlier. As the night went on he got drunker and drunker non of the staff even attempted to refuse service to him in the end I decided to retire to my room after hearing enough


Great place beautiful views shame about the company past 9pm

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suitednbooted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just stayed for a 3 night break,a stunning location (which we will come back to) but not to the Man. Food ok but needs more variety,and it would have been nice if Gary had even noticed we were there considering he walked past us 3 times without even looking at us.He did speak to some people but perhaps it was because they were locals.
The rest of the staff did at least try to engage with people but it seemed they were overtaken by fear when you asked a question.
I dont know if Gary reads these reviews but if he does the door in room 9 needs to be repaired ,because it may not matter to him but it is the TOILET door for Christs sake.

It may seem that this review is picky but if you pay the going rate for a stay in the Lakes you dont expect to sit in the bar listening to staff and locals swearing and thinking it funny when one of them releases wind in front of guests.

We found an excellent alternative on our last night down the lane at the Queens Head,nice staff,excellent food,lovely surroundings,well worth a visit,and we will be coming back soon to the area but not to the Man.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We chose this spot as it was an ideal overnight stop prior to walking Wansfell Pike, it was a great choice and must rank as one of the most dog friendly hotels we've stayed at ! The room was clean and tidy and the staff very friendly and efficient, we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakesholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Spent a fabulous evening in this pub recently. We only went there because they take dogs and have a carpet (as our dog won't sit on a hard floor...)

We went on a Tuesday night and they have a 'I think therefore I Jam' night, where you can bring a guitar and sing, and probably get a free beer. There were about half a dozen people that did sign, ranging from Oasis covers through to one guy signing folk songs without musical backup.

The food was reasonably priced - four of us ate for around £50, including drinks, and was good. Service was pretty quick too.

Will certainly go back there, next time during the day to take in more of the scenery.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
24.7 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
3.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
5.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,426 reviews
17.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mortal Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mortal Man

Property: The Mortal Man
Address: Troutbeck LA23 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mortal Man 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beneath the rugged fells of Troutbeck Valley, just outside Windermere and Ambleside in the English Lake District, lies The Mortal Man. An established traditional Lake District Inn since 1689, it resides over the wonderous panoramic views of Lakeland mountains that have captivated the great minds through the centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mortal Man reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mortal Man Hotel Troutbeck
The Mortal Man Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing