We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great beer garden”
Review of The Mortal Man

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mortal Man
Ranked #3 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great beer garden”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

enjoyed our stay here, old hotel so a bit basic, our bathroom door would not pull shut and the shower curtain did not go right around. Brilliant beer garden with outstanding views, fantastic on a lovely day. Had a nice meal but thought it was strange that you had to go to the bar for your drinks and coffee, staff were very friendly though. Breakfast had lots of choice and was very nice. Such a beautiful little town in part of the Lake District.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacrushford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    211
    62
    48
    27
See reviews for
121
347
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just nipped into this Hotel/Pub as we were passing and it was lunch time, so decided to eat there. The Service was excellent, the staff extremely competent and the food was glorious. Not the largest Menu choice admitted, but our meals were wonderful. I think the motto is, have a small Menu and cook it very very well, rather than have a large Menu and cook rather badly which some establishments do.

The Mortal Man is off the main highway, but certainly worth the detour to eat there.

Room Tip: We did not stay here, but if the rooms are as good as the food, then it should be very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked a table by phone on Thursday evening for Firday. The booking had not been registered on the system. However we were quickly found a table but not in the bar area which looked more inviting. I had looked at the menu online prior to booking but was disappointed to find neither of my 2 favoured dishes were listed. I asked a waitress about the venison steak and the lamb with dauphinois potatoes. She said menu had recently changed and both were off the menu. Venison was available as sausages, but that's hardly the same thing. I said the menu obviously hadn't been updated on the website. We looked again at the menu but thought it quite ordinary without the 2 meals I mentioned. There were no specials that day. The room was not appealing, in need of a facelift and so we decided to leave and eat elsewhere. Having eaten some lovely meals at the Queen's in Troutbeck, I would have thought The Mortal Man would be making more of their menu rather than less, to fill the gap sadly left by the recent fire there. When we paid for our drinks we mentioned the misleading online menu as our reason for not ordering food and the man did apologise. Two days later I have looked again at website and the old menu is still there it also mentions specials cooked daily! Not a rapid response to constructive criticism. Hardly fair to give a star rating as we only had a drink but £5.05 for 1 pint and a small lime and soda seems expensive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank just4mead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydd-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

went in for a drink with potential stay over - manager was rude to another customer, did not engage with us and left the building !!! everything else seemed ok, service good and food OK, maybe manager had a bad day - the other staff seemed nice enough

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

went here a couple of weeks ago for the weekend. Great place very very dog friendly. stayed in room three very comfy. dogs aloud in bar were you can eat or drink menu in bar the same as restaurant. very friendly staff good rear garden good choice breakfast. good area for walking

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Mortal Man June 2014. Beautiful setting, nice room - bathroom clean and well equipped with shampoo, soap, shower gel and bath soak, peaceful and relaxing. Lunch menu was typical pub food nicely cooked. Cooked breakfast was lovely, although the continental breakfast selection was limited. We were a little disappointed by the evening menu which turned out to be virtually just the same as the lunchtime menu - if we were staying again we wouldn't have both lunch and evening meal we'd just choose one of them as the choice lacked variety. Barman was lovely, breakfast waitress was friendly and efficient. Bed was a little hard and pillows too soft for my liking, but that's I suppose just personal preference.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

we stumbled across the Mortal Man whilst driving around the beautiful Lake District. Loved the name of the hotel and the little poem on the board outside showed a sense of humour as did the quip on the blackboard outside. Also liked all the bunting decorating the hotel. The outside garden where we ate our Sunday lunch was a little suntrap with interesting features like the wishing well and peace tree. A good reasonably priced menu and service was quick and pleasant. We all really enjoyed our lunch, and my mother, who found the portions more than generous for her appetite asked for her turkey to be wrapped up to take home, which the staff obligingly did. A very enjoyable experience of Sunday lunch, we would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
3.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.8 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
11.1 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.8 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
17.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mortal Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mortal Man

Property: The Mortal Man
Address: Troutbeck LA23 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mortal Man 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beneath the rugged fells of Troutbeck Valley, just outside Windermere and Ambleside in the English Lake District, lies The Mortal Man. An established traditional Lake District Inn since 1689, it resides over the wonderous panoramic views of Lakeland mountains that have captivated the great minds through the centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mortal Man reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mortal Man Hotel Troutbeck
The Mortal Man Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing