We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inn in a great location”
Review of The Mortal Man

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mortal Man
Ranked #3 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great inn in a great location”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Excellent night's stay - friendly, helpful staff; comfortable room and good food. The location is great for exploring this part of the lakes and is far enough from Windemere-Ambleside that you can get easily away from the crowds.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    218
    62
    48
    27
See reviews for
123
356
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
High hesleden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Location, food and service excellent. Room comfortable with wonderful views. Best fish and chips husband has ever had and we love on the coast. Could have done with pre ordering breakfast as did have a fourth minute wait but was not a pronblem. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

During a recent family holiday in Troutbeck we decided to visit the Mortal Man for drinks and a meal with friends who had joined us. We had visited before on previous holidays and had been pleased with the food and service we received. On this occasion, when we entered the bar area and approached the bar we were not greeted in the friendly way we expected but were instead met with miserable and disinterested bar staff. We ordered our drinks and the bar staff presented them to us, managing to spill one of the drinks over me without any apology. We managed to find a suitable table in the bar to accommodate our party of 6,requested a menu and proceeded to try to order our food. I had checked with the bar staff what time food was served from as we were quite hungry and so proceeded to the bar to order the food, I will admit that I was possibly 3 minutes early but did not anticipate that this would cause the bar staff any undue problems however I was met with a sigh and made to feel like we were requesting a special service. While we were waiting for our food a Romanian waitress came along and deposited a reserved notice on our table commented that we were ok for 45 minutes, We looked around and noticed that there were other similar tables that could have been reserved instead. Our food was eventually delivered after a moderate wait and we proceeded to eat. Four of our party had ordered the fish and chips and we found that although the fish was served hot the chips and the peas were served cold, the other 2 in the party had ordered the sausage and mash which they expected to be served with leeks however there were none to be seen. We looked around and found that all waiting staff seemed to have disappeared so were unable to raise our concerns, When a member of staff finally appeared to clear our plates we mentioned our concerns about the lack of leeks and the cold food. We were told that leeks were only available on the lunch menu and little was said about the cold food. The waitress was more interesting in trying to tempt our children with the desert menu which we had already told her we did not want. After a short interval we were approached by a surly gentleman who I can only assume was the manager judging from the nervous expressions on the faces of the staff when he was around. He told us that as we had actually eaten our food he would offer us a discount of 10% which amounted to an insulting couple of pounds,we would have been more appreciative of an apology and to feel like our comments had been listened to. All in all a disappointing experience. I would note that we had also dropped in a few days previously to relax in the beer garden and were concerned to notice that a number of the benches required some maintenance with nails sticking out of the benches, this was reported to staff and hopefully rectified but I would say the feel of the whole place was somewhat tired. We have been visiting Troutbeck for many years and had always enjoyed a meal or a pint or two at the Mortal Man during our holidays,however I would say that we will now look forward to the reopening of the Queen's Head.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great location, great views, rooms adequate, the whole experience let down by mediocre food and chaotic staff.
Great place to pass through for a pint, chips & burger/fish/scampi/sandwich.
The evening food in the restaurant is not good, Didn't think it was hard to muck up a chicken salad, wasn't quite prepared for deep fried chicken and dressing of oil form the fryer.
Breakfast faired no better, top tip, most people prefer not to have the poached egg served in soup, consisting of the water it was boiled in.
I suppose I should manage my expectations more "all fur coat and no knickers" sorta place.
Great location and views but everything else underpinning in need of dressing up.
To the staff - being a gay couple in modern Britain is acceptable and legal. I'm in my late forties and constantly being referred to as "boys" "night boys" is sailing very close to the wind in being homophobic, I didn't here any other male guests being referred to this way ...... Might be impact and intent, but all the same, not very endearing.
I'm sure the management will respond with the usual media statement "inclusive" blah blah.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H0mme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I booked a one night stay here and were very disappointed overall.
The hotel is in a beautiful setting, ideal for walkers, it is a little "tired" but in a nice way.The bar area and restaurant were fine and the evening meal and the real ale were excellent, I had duck sausages which was very different. Breakfast too was very good with a wide selection.
The problem came with the room which for £90 was a disgrace. It was very small with a tiny cramped bathroom, paint was peeling off the skirting boards and wallpaper was missing in some areas. The furnishings were very dated with some awful curtains giving a very 1970's look.
The TV only received BBC1 with a satisfactory signal so all in all we were very disappointed although it seems we may have got the worst room in the place.
I pointed out at the time that the room was probably worth around £50 per night but £90 is daylight robbery. When you book do not accept room 1 unless you get a hefty discount.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed on Friday gone. The hotel itself ie. the communal areas is a bit 'lived in' but we didn't mind. Location and view from room was excellent (despite the Lakeland drizzle).
Room 4 was spacious and well furnished with a swanky new bathroom. The room did smell a little of dog but we didn't notice after a while.
The bar is great. You know when you see Peroni, Estrella and Stella 4 on draught that this pub takes drink seriously. There were a good selection of ales and also a good dozen or more ciders as part of their cider 'festival'.
Special mention to Jimmy the cheery barman. Not saying what for or everyone will ask!
We will return all being well :-(

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superkev70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After a long day on our mountainbikes cycling the Coast to Coast route, this beautifully positioned Inn was a welcome relief. Staff is friendly and helpful. The dinner in the pub/restaurant was great and breakfast next morning was tasty and well presented with the best views from the breakfast room. The atmosphere was a little bit lacking but as we were there for just one night during the week, it's difficult to judge on other days, like the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
24.7 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
3.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
5.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,432 reviews
17.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mortal Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mortal Man

Property: The Mortal Man
Address: Troutbeck LA23 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mortal Man 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beneath the rugged fells of Troutbeck Valley, just outside Windermere and Ambleside in the English Lake District, lies The Mortal Man. An established traditional Lake District Inn since 1689, it resides over the wonderous panoramic views of Lakeland mountains that have captivated the great minds through the centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Mortal Man reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mortal Man Hotel Troutbeck
The Mortal Man Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing