We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Excellent Week at Puddleduck Lodge”
other travellers have booked this property
Riverside Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge is on the beck The well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge is on the beck
The well equipped kitchen
The master bedroom
The twin room
The Lounge overlooks the river
The dining area for 4
Benji at the Limefitt dog field
At Riverside Lodge
The river pool at Limefitt
The Limefitt adventure playground
The unspoilt Troutbeck valley
The Langdale pikes
Lakeland lambs
Riverside Lodge
The wrap-around balcony
The reception and shop
Troutbeck church in spring
The view from Catbells
A mountain tarn
Derwent water
Troutbeck valley in early spring
Ullswater in autumn
The Duddon valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Troutbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chrisdell...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“An Excellent Week at Puddleduck Lodge”
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Puddleduck Lodge was like home from home. We had everything needed for a fantastic holiday, I normally prefer the North Lakes as they tend to be less crowded; however, Troutbeck was like a quite haven and provided the opportunity for a number of excellent walks direct from the cabin. The local pubs, albeit just under a mile from the cabin (all up hill on the way there. No problem on the way back!!) were very good. Both the service and food at the Mortal Man Pub were outstanding. Because of this, we would recommend a quick phone call to book a table. In summary, we (us 2 and our 2 West Highland Terriers) had an excellent holiday and would, without doubt return. Many thanks to the owners, Kathy and Robert.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
Thanks for a great review Chris. We're really pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable time at Puddleduck Lodge and discovered a peaceful part of the South Lakes! You are very welcome to come and stay again and thanks for leaving the Lodge so clean and tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compass66...
1 review
“Fantastic Cabin and location”
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed for one week middle of April. the cabin is fantastic and has everything you need for your stay. The shop on site stocks some small items but it is only a short drive into windermere where there are supermarkets, we stopped on our way in, then didn't use the car for the rest of the week! Cabin cosy and comfortable which is what we were after, after a days walk. TV, games, DVDs are in the cabin as well as loads of leaflets with ideas for days out. There are so many walks you can do from the doorstep so no need to drive anywhere. recommend looking up Mortal Man (inn which is 5/10 mins walk across fields from cabin) as they provide details of a few walks of different lengths. particular walk we liked was circular walk from Troutbeck - Wansfell Pike - Ambleside - Troutbeck. You can also access plenty of walks from the track behind the Haybarn inn on site. Overall we had the most fantastic holiday, but we were also lucky the sun was out that week as well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2018
Thanks for your lovely review. We’re so glad you had such a great stay and you’re very welcome to come and stay at Riverside Lodge again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
270seanh
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Anniversary Break”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from spending our 1st anniversary weekend here with my wife and the kids. We absolutely loved it. The cabin was cosy and very well equipped with a lovely log burner effect gas fire. The beds were sooo comfy too! The location is perfect, nestled neatly between two mountains, we were lucky enough to get the snow too and the views were spectacular! There is a charming "babbling brook" running at the end of the lovely spacious veranda. We visited Bowness which is just a short drive away, it's a favourite place of the wife and mine. The site has all amenities you would need and a lovely pub on site called the haybarn inn. With good food and great entertainment! All in all we couldn't recommend this place enough, we would certainly love to use it again some time. Also Robert and Kathy were extremely helpful when called upon. Top, top place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woody118
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Weekend family break with my partner, Grandad and Dog. We loved it, great location, warm cosy and well equipped lodge.

We will definitely be returning.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2017
We're really glad to hear you had such an enjoyable time at Riverside Lodge and we'd be very happy to welcome you back to the Lake District.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoPlaces7...
1 review
“Lovely pet friendly lodge”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely log cabin, great location, brilliant for the dog. Nice pub on site which allows dogs in. We enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacation3...
1 review
“Super Cozy Cabin in a Stunning Location”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

In a word - "Wow!" An absolutely delightful cabin to getaway from it all and listen simply to the river, horses, nearby sheep and birds amid the tranquility of the most stunning scenery. From my very first contact with the owners, Robin & Kathy, right the way through to the 3-day stay itself, the communication was quick, helpful, friendly and welcoming. The cabin is extremely cozy, peaceful and has everything you need for the perfect self-catered vacation. And, if you don't feel like cooking, there's the local pub just a 5-minute walk away. While I stayed here with my mum (who's 77), this would also be an ideal location for a family, friends or romantic getaway. It was very hard to pack up and leave at the end of our stay and I can't wait to go back!

I will definitely be recommending Riverside Lodge (and Limefitt Park itself) to anyone looking to stay in a gorgeous, relaxing yet central location to enjoy everything the Lake District has to offer. Being an avid photographer, I didn't have to go too far to find outstanding photo opportunities abound.

My only hesitation in recommending this cabin, is that it might then be fully booked next time I want to visit :-)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay as it is always nice to know others love it here too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing