We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Fold Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Always a great place to stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Have stayed at High Fold over Easter for the last 3 years and it has always been a great stay. High quality and very comfortable accomodation. Les & Susan are warm and welcoming, and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Breakfasts are great and the breakfast views are wonderful; and when we stay there you can literally see the lambs being born. Stayed with a large group of friends, most of whom stayed in a local hotel just down the road, but those of us staying at High Fold think we struck gold

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les B, Owner at High Fold Guest House, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank-you for completing a review of High Fold Guest House. Your kind and positive comments are very much appreciated and we hope to see you again in the future. Best Wishes Les & Susan Bradley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
227
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A wonderful stay at High Fold. All the reviews say it all - the hosts are very accommodating and the breakfast was first-rate. A lovely, quiet location where we spent just 2 nights - would have been nice to stay longer, but maybe next time - we will definitely visit High Fold again.

Les recommended a walk to Ambleside that was 7 miles and offered a great day out in terms of scenery - stunning views of Windermere. A nice variety of scenery as well, from fells to meadows to woodland - it had it all. Weather was variable but to be expected in this part of the world!

Room was very comfortable - an excellent ensuite and everything was so clean, we slept like logs on both nights. The Mortal Man Inn catered well for our evening meals, very good food and well priced - and the selection of real ale was also a joy to sample. It was my partner's first trip to the Lakes and she loved every minute of it. I shall be visiting Troutbeck again, and hopefully book out the other two rooms for us and for my parents as well - they are keen to visit now as well.

Thanks again Les and Susan for a wonderful stay.

P.d.G. / L.A.

Room Tip: we were in the top room, kirkstone, which was the cheapest and the only one available at the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierre266 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les B, Owner at High Fold Guest House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank-you for taking the time and trouble to write such a positive and comprehensive review, we very much appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best Wishes Les & Susan Bradley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Had a wonderful retreat with my nature-lover mother here! Superb view, nice and clean room, plenty natural lights and a caring owner. Woke up with wonderful mountain terrain view with small birds flying around. There is an easy track for small walk around the village and into the meadow near the guest house. A splendid opportunity to get to know an authentic english village.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therewii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les B, Owner at High Fold Guest House, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank-you to all our guests who have taken the time to write a review of High Fold Guest House. Your kind and positive comments are very much appreciated. It is very rewarding for us when people enjoy their stay and we hope to see you again in the future, along with some new faces. Best Wishes Les & Susan Bradley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our room was spacious and very comfortable and clean. Towels were soft and changed every other day. Breakfast was beautifully presented with a large variety of fruits and cereals and cooked breakfast, with a stunning view. Our hosts showed every kindness.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWV565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on 29th March and loved it :) We had never been to the Lake District before so Les recommended some walks to us which was brilliant.

The guest house is beautifully located with countryside all around and a bird table which you can see from the dining room attracting lots of different types of bird. We stayed in the Kirkstone room which was lovely - really comfortable, spacious and clean with nice views. Good to have fresh bottles of water each morning and toiletries. Generally hairdryers in hotels etc are no good but the one supplied here was better than my own!! Tea and coffee making all good too.

Breakfast was perfect to set us up for a days walking - fresh fruit and yoghurt, toast, juice, tea/coffee then we had the full English both days. All really nice :)

We walked up behind the hotel to the peak and down into Ambleside passed the waterfall (Stock Ghyll Force) then back up to Troutbeck during which there were some amazing views of Lake Windemere :)

On Les' recommendation, we also drove up on the Kirkstone pass and round a few of the lakes and walked up to Aira Force waterfall which was lovely :)

On the first night we ate at The Mortal Man which is not far away, we used the torch provided at High Fol which was great and made it into a bit of an adventure! Very welcoming and nice food. On the 2nd night we went into Ambleside which is just ten mins drive to Jantana Thai restaurant which we loved too :)

Would also recommend the Apple Pie Eating House in Ambleside - great food especially the cakes!

Overall a brilliant weekend, would love to return to High Fold Guest House, hopefully for a bit longer next time! Thanks to Les for the recommendations on where to go :) Highly recommended.

Michelle & Raj

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have now stayed in two rooms at High Fold both of which have been homely and well equipped with very comfortable beds and fantastic views. The breakfast is marvellous with a good choice including delicious freshly prepared fresh fruit and wonderful cooked breakfasts.

Room Tip: Applethwaite is a large room with comfortable sitting area and good sized en-suite. Kentmere is sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les B, Manager at High Fold Guest House, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our guest house, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best Wishes Les & Susan Bradley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We really couldn’t fault any aspect of our recent stay at High Fold Guest House. We selected the Applethwaite suite, a particularly large space with lounge area, window seating that afforded glorious views overlooking the Troutbeck valley, and a spacious and well-appointed bathroom that also offered an incredible view of the countryside.

The accommodation was spotlessly clean and well-appointed - every day during our stay the bed was remade, bottled water and biscuits replenished, bathroom tidied and clean towels provided. There was free WiFi (something of a necessity as cell connectivity is almost non-existent) and even Sky television.

The breakfast room, with its pristine tablecloths, roaring fire and vases of flowers, offers enviable views over the countryside and an added attraction are the wide variety of bird species that visit the feeders just outside the window. A comprehensive spread to suit all tastes was available, from the full ‘English’ cooked breakfast to a range of cereals, fresh fruits, yogurt and toast.

It was impressive how owners Les and Susan went that extra mile to make our stay even more comfortable, happily suggesting nearby walks and places to visit. In addition, I require a gluten-free diet, but this posed no problem whatsoever, with gluten-free toast and sausages at breakfast, and even gluten-free biscuits in our room.

High Fold Guest House is easy to find, located in the quiet village of Troutbeck just a few minutes from both Ambleside and Windermere, and on the doorstep of the Kirkstone Pass, so the scenery is spectacular in all directions (including from the windows of the guesthouse itself). For walkers Wansfell Pike is just on the doorstep and for those looking to quench their thirst, two pubs are also within easy reach.

We will definitely be returning, and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend High Fold Guest House to anyone wishing to explore Troutbeck, Windermere, Ambleside and the wider Lake District area.

Room Tip: The Applethwaite suite is highly recommended, and it must have the best view from any toilet in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les B, Owner at High Fold Guest House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and positive review. It is very rewarding for us when guests enjoy their stay and we very much appreciate your kind comments. We hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes Les & Susan Bradley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
964 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
532 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mortal Man
The Mortal Man
#3 of 4 in Troutbeck
604 reviews
1.0 mi away
Broadoaks Country House
Broadoaks Country House
#2 of 4 in Troutbeck
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Fold Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Fold Guest House

Property: High Fold Guest House
Address: | Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — High Fold Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Fold Guest House is surrounded by green rolling hills and mountain peaks and all our bedrooms and the dining room have fine views. There is ample free parking and free Wi-Fi. Despite its rural location High Fold is only 3 miles from Windermere and Ambleside. We are happy to offer advice on local walks, local attractions or other ideas for your stay. We have ample walking books and maps that guests may borrow are and several local walks may be started directly from the house. All our bedrooms are en-suite and have king size or super-king size beds and they all have excellent views. For breakfast we offer a good selection of locally sourced high quality produce to suit all tastes. We offer a vegetarian option and we are happy to accommodate guests with special dietary requirements. Guests not wishing to drive to enjoy evening and lunchtime meals will find good food, fine wines and ales at an excellent Inn/restaurant within walking distance of High Fold Guest House. Whatever the reasons for your visit you are guaranteed the best care and attention throughout your stay with us and a warm welcome awaits you. We hope to see you soon, Les & Susan Bradley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Fold Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Fold Guest House Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing