We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Final Stage Lake District” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Fold Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Fold Guest House
Ranked #2 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Final Stage Lake District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

As the final stage of our round trip we found this awesome place to stay. Very nice welcome from the very helpful owners gave us just a perfect start to find the right places to go to, the right hikes to go for and just have a great pleasent time. The room with a great view was silent, very well maintained and clean. And the very good breakfast was just a perfect fit to the big picture that Susan and Les put together there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
210
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

As a repeat visitor it speaks for itself. The welcome on arrival with tea and biscuits ; the extensive fresh fruit platter plus great variety of cooked breakfast ; the wide choice of drink varieties ; the willing provision of fresh milk for our picnics ; the views from the bedroom and breakfast room ; the luxury bedding,willingly adapted for our preference ; changing a wheel when a puncture was incurred . It should be no surprise that we look forward to our next visit . Two pubs within walking distance for evening meals

Room Tip: Book early ! ( but not the room we prefer )
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ray b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our first visit to High Fold, hopefully it won.t be our last .Everything was excellent --its position,our room , breakfast, even the weather was wonderful. Les and Susan were very welcoming hosts,nothing was too much trouble for them. There are lots of guides and magazines and other reading matter provided---even photocopied sheets detailing several local walks. Susan and Les have set a very high standard at High Fold.

Room Tip: Applethwaite was large, peaceful and had lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewjoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our third stay at High Fold and as before everything excellent. A beautiful area, very comfortable accommodation with wonderful views. Excellent breakfast, and watch a wide variety of birds feeding. New born lambs in the fielding next to the property (and rabbits too). If you are unfortunate enough to be walking etc in the rain, outer cloths and boots can be taken away and dried. Nothing too much trouble. Highly recommended. We would certainly recommend the Queens Head for an excellent evening , booking essential. Also a little further afield to Ambleside for a meal and cinema deal and Zefferelli's Italian restaurant also excellent and straight out of the restaurant and in to the cinema. A Beautiful area and excellent food, what more could you ask for!

Room Tip: Occupied two different rooms, both excellent with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Have stayed at High Fold over Easter for the last 3 years and it has always been a great stay. High quality and very comfortable accomodation. Les & Susan are warm and welcoming, and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Breakfasts are great and the breakfast views are wonderful; and when we stay there you can literally see the lambs being born. Stayed with a large group of friends, most of whom stayed in a local hotel just down the road, but those of us staying at High Fold think we struck gold

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les B, Owner at High Fold Guest House, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank-you for completing a review of High Fold Guest House. Your kind and positive comments are very much appreciated and we hope to see you again in the future. Best Wishes Les & Susan Bradley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

A wonderful stay at High Fold. All the reviews say it all - the hosts are very accommodating and the breakfast was first-rate. A lovely, quiet location where we spent just 2 nights - would have been nice to stay longer, but maybe next time - we will definitely visit High Fold again.

Les recommended a walk to Ambleside that was 7 miles and offered a great day out in terms of scenery - stunning views of Windermere. A nice variety of scenery as well, from fells to meadows to woodland - it had it all. Weather was variable but to be expected in this part of the world!

Room was very comfortable - an excellent ensuite and everything was so clean, we slept like logs on both nights. The Mortal Man Inn catered well for our evening meals, very good food and well priced - and the selection of real ale was also a joy to sample. It was my partner's first trip to the Lakes and she loved every minute of it. I shall be visiting Troutbeck again, and hopefully book out the other two rooms for us and for my parents as well - they are keen to visit now as well.

Thanks again Les and Susan for a wonderful stay.

P.d.G. / L.A.

Room Tip: we were in the top room, kirkstone, which was the cheapest and the only one available at the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pierre266 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les B, Owner at High Fold Guest House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank-you for taking the time and trouble to write such a positive and comprehensive review, we very much appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best Wishes Les & Susan Bradley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Had a wonderful retreat with my nature-lover mother here! Superb view, nice and clean room, plenty natural lights and a caring owner. Woke up with wonderful mountain terrain view with small birds flying around. There is an easy track for small walk around the village and into the meadow near the guest house. A splendid opportunity to get to know an authentic english village.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Therewii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les B, Owner at High Fold Guest House, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank-you to all our guests who have taken the time to write a review of High Fold Guest House. Your kind and positive comments are very much appreciated. It is very rewarding for us when people enjoy their stay and we hope to see you again in the future, along with some new faces. Best Wishes Les & Susan Bradley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
1.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mortal Man
The Mortal Man
#3 of 4 in Troutbeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.0 mi away
Broadoaks Country House
Broadoaks Country House
#1 of 4 in Troutbeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Fold Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Fold Guest House

Property: High Fold Guest House
Address: | Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — High Fold Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Fold Guest House is surrounded by green rolling hills and mountain peaks and all our bedrooms and the dining room have fine views. There is ample free parking and free Wi-Fi. Despite its rural location High Fold is only 3 miles from Windermere and Ambleside. We are happy to offer advice on local walks, local attractions or other ideas for your stay. We have ample walking books and maps that guests may borrow are and several local walks may be started directly from the house. All our bedrooms are en-suite and have king size or super-king size beds and they all have excellent views. For breakfast we offer a good selection of locally sourced high quality produce to suit all tastes. We offer a vegetarian option and we are happy to accommodate guests with special dietary requirements. Guests not wishing to drive to enjoy evening and lunchtime meals will find good food, fine wines and ales at an excellent Inn/restaurant within walking distance of High Fold Guest House. Whatever the reasons for your visit you are guaranteed the best care and attention throughout your stay with us and a warm welcome awaits you. We hope to see you soon, Les & Susan Bradley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your High Fold Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Fold Guest House Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing