We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Fold Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
303
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
303
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh fruitb btea and biscuitsapplethwaite suitebreakfast roomlake districtperfect hostspubs within walking distancekentmere roomcooked breakfastfull englishwalking polesmortal mantop floorfriendly and helpful hostsbird feedersstunning views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is the fifth time we have stayed at High Fold and each visit is just as special as the previous visit. You will not get a better breakfast or view from the dining room, the rooms are of the highest standard together with a very warm welcome from Sue and Les. Their knowledge of the lake district is as good as any printed literature and you leave at the end of your stay knowing that you will return at a future date.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our second visit to the Lake District but our first stay at The High Fold and we were not disappointed. The location was breathtaking and so peaceful, with amazing views. Our room, The Kentmere had a four poster bed and was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The breakfast was of the highest quality and plenty of choice, with nothing being too much trouble. Les was very helpful and was very forthcoming with information on things to do and places to visit. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend anybody visiting the Lake District to stay at The High Fold and we cannot wait to stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesySouthampton_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is ours second stay in just over a month - we absolutely love it. If I was being selfish I would not tell anyone and keep for ourselves but Les deserves the accolades. From the moment you walk in to tea and biscuits, followed by fab breakfasts each morning. Les has great local knowledge of places to visit and walks to try. Les did us a great pack lunch whilst were on fishing trip and made flasks of coffee - nothing is too much trouble. High Fold is ideally situated for the local pubs The Mortal Man and the Queens Head. If you want further a field the local towns of Ambleside and Gras mere are close by. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

As the final stage of our round trip we found this awesome place to stay. Very nice welcome from the very helpful owners gave us just a perfect start to find the right places to go to, the right hikes to go for and just have a great pleasent time. The room with a great view was silent, very well maintained and clean. And the very good breakfast was just a perfect fit to the big picture that Susan and Les put together there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

As a repeat visitor it speaks for itself. The welcome on arrival with tea and biscuits ; the extensive fresh fruit platter plus great variety of cooked breakfast ; the wide choice of drink varieties ; the willing provision of fresh milk for our picnics ; the views from the bedroom and breakfast room ; the luxury bedding,willingly adapted for our preference ; changing a wheel when a puncture was incurred . It should be no surprise that we look forward to our next visit . Two pubs within walking distance for evening meals

Room Tip: Book early ! ( but not the room we prefer )
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews