We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay in a beautiful place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Fold Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in a beautiful place.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed here 15th & 16th August with my Girlfriend. We were made to feel welcome by Les straight away, he showed us our room, made us a nice cafetiere of coffee with cookies and gave us some maps/walk suggestions. The room had a four poster bed and lots of cushions and pillows, the room had two windows so you got a great view across the valley. Nicely decorated throughout the property and we had a en suite bathroom which was ideal and lots of drawers and a wardrobe for our clothes. The breakfast is superb and I had cereal and the full English which was delicious, my Girlfriend had a veggie breakfast one morning and then scrambled eggs with mushrooms. Lots of coffee, fruit juice and a fabulous platter of fresh fruit and yoghurts. I would recommend this place to couples and would like to thank Les and Sue for a fabulous weekend. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: We had the Kentmere room which was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 666Lee666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
231
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This guest house was beautifully situated and the hosts looked after us very well. The cooked breakfast and fruit was amazing, the room spotless and with beautiful views and local tourist advice on offer when we wanted it. We were made to feel like royalty :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We recently visited High Fold and stayed for 3 nights. The location is just what we wanted, quiet, picturesque and walks from the door but in easy reach of good places to eat in the evening without travelling miles.

As soon as you walk in it hits you just how immaculate the whole place is. The room we had was beautifully presented with luxurious bedding & towels and lovely touches which included an excellent hospitality tray, lovely toiletries, bottled water and to top it all wonderful views.

The breakfast choice was great and was presented again, to a very high standard. Cooked to perfection and very tasty all round. As mentioned before in reviews the fruit platter is true luxury, delicious! The dining room is a lovely setting to enjoy the experience and the views and the visiting birds on the bird tables is an added bonus.

Les & Sue can't do enough for you, their conversation and local knowledge is second to none and maps and advise readily available for a lovely daily walk. We certainly felt we left as friends.

They thoroughly deserve all the excellent previous reviews they have gained and I would happily advise everyone to give it a try, you would not and could not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeldale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

When I visit tourist areas, I like to stay in places a little off the beaten path. Troutbeck was the perfect location. It was a quiet village with walks close .We very much enjoyed our stay at High Fold Guest House. We were in the Kenmere room which had 2 windows with beautiful views. It looks just like it does on the website with no surprises. There was a large choice for breakfast with the fresh fruit platter my favorite. Les and Sue have an eye for detail. I liked the nightly small water bottle. I also liked all the books and info on local walks. Les was able to recommend some walks and let me borrow their walking poles which I greatly appreciated. As an American used to larger spaces, I did feel that the bathroom was a little tight. Other than that, I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A short drive from Ambleside. Lovely views, quiet location and an easy stroll to a local pub within a mile. The service is impeccable. The breakfast delicious. Rooms spacious and clean. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A clean, comfortable Guest House set in the quiet tranquil village of Troutbek. The location is wonderful, with beautiful views, just the thing for a relaxing peaceful holiday.
The breakfast is the best we have ever had, especially the delicious fresh fruit platter, served with yoghurt and nuts.
We highly recommend Highfold B&B, and hope to visit again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We had the room at the top of the house which had the smallest window, but nevertheless still a love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at High Fold for 2 nights in the Applethwaite Suite.Lovely guest house in a beautiful village.Brilliant location with numerous walks from the door .The room was large and the view from the back window was brilliant.Good breakfast and lots of choice from fresh fruit to full English all of which were superb.Shame we couldn't dine at the Queens for our evening meal due to the accident as that would of been perfection.All in all a cracking guest house with breathtaking views,hope to be back soon Ian and Anne.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.2 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
500 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
1.4 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
17.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Fold Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Fold Guest House

Property: High Fold Guest House
Address: | Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — High Fold Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Fold Guest House is surrounded by green rolling hills and mountain peaks and all our bedrooms and the dining room have fine views. There is ample free parking and free Wi-Fi. Despite its rural location High Fold is only 3 miles from Windermere and Ambleside. We are happy to offer advice on local walks, local attractions or other ideas for your stay. We have ample walking books and maps that guests may borrow are and several local walks may be started directly from the house. All our bedrooms are en-suite and have king size or super-king size beds and they all have excellent views. For breakfast we offer a good selection of locally sourced high quality produce to suit all tastes. We offer a vegetarian option and we are happy to accommodate guests with special dietary requirements. Guests not wishing to drive to enjoy evening and lunchtime meals will find good food, fine wines and ales at an excellent Inn/restaurant within walking distance of High Fold Guest House. Whatever the reasons for your visit you are guaranteed the best care and attention throughout your stay with us and a warm welcome awaits you. We hope to see you soon, Les & Susan Bradley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Fold Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Fold Guest House Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing