We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Broadoaks Country House
Nearby Hotels
Troutbeck Inn(Troutbeck)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mortal Man(Troutbeck)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
969 results
Traveller rating
779
133
39
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
779
133
39
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusic roomafternoon teacream teacourse mealjacuzzi bathwedding venuesconescoach housegarden suitebeautiful hotelwedding breakfastpine roomexclusive usegroupon dealon arrivalfour poster bedspruce room
Filter
Updating list...
790 - 795 of 969 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We drove up from Devon and our friends joined us from Lancaster for what was a brilliant stay for the four of us at Broadoaks. We were most impressed with the hospitality and have written to the owner accordingly and in particular nominating Nigel for 'going the extra mile' award. From the moment we checked in, Nigel took us to our rooms and made us feel 'at home' straight away. Always with a smile, he was most attentive, polite and courteous throughout our stay. Nothing was ever too much trouble for him. Always in the background but there when we needed him...... he achieved the right balance between friendly and professional. The team at Broadoaks create a warm, comfortable and relaxed atmosphere in an "olde worlde" country house hotel. We were able to relax completely and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and yes! the fine dining and wine was absolutely superb.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank DaisyMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BOaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

It really is a pleasure to hear our team, and Nigel in particular have taken such great care of you and made your stay with us so enjoyable. It is very kind of you to pass on your thoughts to the owner Tracey, who will no doubt be thrilled with your review. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon …

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Booked this hotel on a late deal and was very pleased with the hotel when we got there. Troutbeck is a beautiful village and the hotel is lovely. Welcoming staff, comfortable room (and we had one of the "bijou" rooms), open fires in the public rooms and fabulous food.

The only downside was my husband ended up having a cold shower one evening - it was probably peak time with everybody getting ready for dinner plus it sounded as if the hotel had generators going (the weather was very wet and very windy so they may have been struggling for power).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PomPomRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BOaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

We are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your experience in Oaks restaurant. It is rare for us to have problems with our hot water system and we are very sorry for the inconvenience this caused, we are looking into it straight away.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Having stayed before excellent hotel booked good deal via groupon as wedding anniversary present for my parents.They could not talk highly enough about hotel.They were greeted warmly and were worried hotel would be too formal for them but every member of stay was great.The food was excellent and the service could not be beaten.Even the manager Andrea spent time telling us good places to visit they said.They will returning to the best hotel in the lakes as will my wife and myself.Thank you for making there time with you special as i am now back in the good books!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BOaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

We’re very happy to help and getting people in good books is a speciality! It was no trouble to take care of your parents, and we are glad we could be a part of their celebration. Broadoaks is often enjoyed by guests who are looking for luxury in an unpretentious environment and it is gratifying to hear this ethos came through and your parents enjoyed the relaxed nature of the house and approach from our staff. Thank you for letting us look after them and we look forward to your next stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel as wedding guests mid April. I could not fault anything about the hotel. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were looked after really well. We stayed in the Cedar room. This room was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with views over a valley. It was lovely listening to the river running below. The bathroom was fabulous with a jacuzzi and flat screen tv on the wall. The food was lovely especially the breakfast the following morning. We had a traditional breakfast but there were lots of other choices on offer both hot and cold. After breakfast we did a walk from Troutbeck over to Ambleside. The start of the walk was just beside the post office/shop which is just a short distance by car from the hotel. The views of Lake Windermere from the top were beautiful. The hotel recommended a restaurant called Lucy on a Plate. We were too full after our lovely breakfast but enjoyed coffee and a cake. The walk and coffee stop took about 4 hours. There is also a National Trust property called Townend Farm just up from the hotel which we would liked to have visited but unfortunately is closed on a Monday and Tuesday. My husband and I were sorry to leave and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkshula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BOaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Well, what can we say! It sounds like you loved everything about Broadoaks that we do and that all the team came together to deliver you a very special time away. Well done on getting all the way to the top of Wands fell especially after one of our large breakfasts! Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After an overnight visit via Groupon to Broadoaks we felt the need to thank the staff for their excellent service and professional approach. We stayed in the Rippledean Lodge which was quiet, comfortable and beautifully furnished. It was one of the best nights sleep we have had at any hotel. We found the short distance from the main building to be refreshing and it allowed us to appreciate the beautiful grounds of the hotel. Nigel booked us in to the hotel and supported our evening meal service. We found his approach to be thoughtful and informative in assisting us to enjoy the experience fully. We had breakfast and evening meal during our stay. The quality of the food was excellent and the presentation pleasing. A throughly pleasant experience which we would recommend to others and visit again ourselves.

Room Tip: Lodges were very private
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BOaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your kind words and we are very happy to hear your Groupon experience was one that you thoroughly enjoyed. The lodges are getting some rave reviews since their installation and the combination of having those luxurious touches whilst being set amongst nature was just what we were aiming for. We pride ourselves on delivering a fusion of modern cuisine with traditional Cumbrian influences and our head chef Gareth will be proud to hear your comments, thank you for your time in writing the review and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews