We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“go and get spiolt!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broadoaks Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broadoaks Country House
Ranked #2 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“go and get spiolt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Lovely rooms, helpfull staff, fantastic food , gorgeous surroundings just a fab place to stay for a treat

Room Tip: this place is just lovely, not tried the lodge rooms but will be doing on our next visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    109
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
125
505
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We drove up from Devon and our friends joined us from Lancaster for what was a brilliant stay for the four of us at Broadoaks. We were most impressed with the hospitality and have written to the owner accordingly and in particular nominating Nigel for 'going the extra mile' award. From the moment we checked in, Nigel took us to our rooms and made us feel 'at home' straight away. Always with a smile, he was most attentive, polite and courteous throughout our stay. Nothing was ever too much trouble for him. Always in the background but there when we needed him...... he achieved the right balance between friendly and professional. The team at Broadoaks create a warm, comfortable and relaxed atmosphere in an "olde worlde" country house hotel. We were able to relax completely and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and yes! the fine dining and wine was absolutely superb.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BOaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
It really is a pleasure to hear our team, and Nigel in particular have taken such great care of you and made your stay with us so enjoyable. It is very kind of you to pass on your thoughts to the owner Tracey, who will no doubt be thrilled with your review. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon …
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Booked this hotel on a late deal and was very pleased with the hotel when we got there. Troutbeck is a beautiful village and the hotel is lovely. Welcoming staff, comfortable room (and we had one of the "bijou" rooms), open fires in the public rooms and fabulous food.

The only downside was my husband ended up having a cold shower one evening - it was probably peak time with everybody getting ready for dinner plus it sounded as if the hotel had generators going (the weather was very wet and very windy so they may have been struggling for power).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PomPomRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BOaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
We are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your experience in Oaks restaurant. It is rare for us to have problems with our hot water system and we are very sorry for the inconvenience this caused, we are looking into it straight away.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Having stayed before excellent hotel booked good deal via groupon as wedding anniversary present for my parents.They could not talk highly enough about hotel.They were greeted warmly and were worried hotel would be too formal for them but every member of stay was great.The food was excellent and the service could not be beaten.Even the manager Andrea spent time telling us good places to visit they said.They will returning to the best hotel in the lakes as will my wife and myself.Thank you for making there time with you special as i am now back in the good books!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BOaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
We’re very happy to help and getting people in good books is a speciality! It was no trouble to take care of your parents, and we are glad we could be a part of their celebration. Broadoaks is often enjoyed by guests who are looking for luxury in an unpretentious environment and it is gratifying to hear this ethos came through and your parents enjoyed the relaxed nature of the house and approach from our staff. Thank you for letting us look after them and we look forward to your next stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport, cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel as wedding guests mid April. I could not fault anything about the hotel. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were looked after really well. We stayed in the Cedar room. This room was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with views over a valley. It was lovely listening to the river running below. The bathroom was fabulous with a jacuzzi and flat screen tv on the wall. The food was lovely especially the breakfast the following morning. We had a traditional breakfast but there were lots of other choices on offer both hot and cold. After breakfast we did a walk from Troutbeck over to Ambleside. The start of the walk was just beside the post office/shop which is just a short distance by car from the hotel. The views of Lake Windermere from the top were beautiful. The hotel recommended a restaurant called Lucy on a Plate. We were too full after our lovely breakfast but enjoyed coffee and a cake. The walk and coffee stop took about 4 hours. There is also a National Trust property called Townend Farm just up from the hotel which we would liked to have visited but unfortunately is closed on a Monday and Tuesday. My husband and I were sorry to leave and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkshula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BOaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Well, what can we say! It sounds like you loved everything about Broadoaks that we do and that all the team came together to deliver you a very special time away. Well done on getting all the way to the top of Wands fell especially after one of our large breakfasts! Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

After an overnight visit via Groupon to Broadoaks we felt the need to thank the staff for their excellent service and professional approach. We stayed in the Rippledean Lodge which was quiet, comfortable and beautifully furnished. It was one of the best nights sleep we have had at any hotel. We found the short distance from the main building to be refreshing and it allowed us to appreciate the beautiful grounds of the hotel. Nigel booked us in to the hotel and supported our evening meal service. We found his approach to be thoughtful and informative in assisting us to enjoy the experience fully. We had breakfast and evening meal during our stay. The quality of the food was excellent and the presentation pleasing. A throughly pleasant experience which we would recommend to others and visit again ourselves.

Room Tip: Lodges were very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BOaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your kind words and we are very happy to hear your Groupon experience was one that you thoroughly enjoyed. The lodges are getting some rave reviews since their installation and the combination of having those luxurious touches whilst being set amongst nature was just what we were aiming for. We pride ourselves on delivering a fusion of modern cuisine with traditional Cumbrian influences and our head chef Gareth will be proud to hear your comments, thank you for your time in writing the review and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for a wedding this week and whilst a wedding is always enjoyable, having a fabulous venue such as Broadoaks just makes the occasion so much more memorable.It has a fantastic location, wonderful scenery and the best customer service.The room we stayed in had a 4 poster bed and a sunken jacuzzi but the views from the window and waking up to the sound of the water from the brook all added to the best and most relaxing stay we've had in such a long time. It oozes charm - from the moment you arrive, you know you will be looked after and have the best stay. The attention to detail that the staff offered was second to none (no need to remind the bar staff what drink you want, the barman could remember!). You dont need any reason to visit Windermere but if you're looking for a place which epitomises a relaxed charm and attention to detail, look no further than Broadoaks - you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marmar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BOaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
It is lovely to hear that our wedding guests are enjoying Broadoaks as much as our Bride and Grooms. We are really glad you experienced the dedicated service and attention to detail that we strive for and makes Broadoaks a special place for all of our guests, we hope we will see you again soon for another excellent break
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
1.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.1 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadoaks Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadoaks Country House

Property: Broadoaks Country House
Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Broadoaks Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Broadoaks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadoaks Country House Hotel Troutbeck
Broadoaks Country House Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing