We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come forth into the light of things, let nature be your teacher” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broadoaks Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Broadoaks Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Audley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Come forth into the light of things, let nature be your teacher”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Quoting William Wordsworth in the title of this review, might seem a bit pretentious but somehow, it is very appropriate for this stunning little hotel, nestling in the beating heart of Cumbria.

Being a native of Cumbria myself, I make a point of visiting the Lakes at least once a year. I have to get my fix of fresh air, countryside and proper Cumberland sausage.

I had taken my partner half a dozen times to this area and until now, we had yet to find "the one". By that, I mean the one place that we could say, "this is made for us". Delighted to say that our search is over. Broadoaks really does tick every box with a bold, emphatic "yes"!

We stayed at the Top Coach House as part of a joint birthday treat. From the moment we spoke to James on the phone to make the booking until Jane checked us out, it was fabulous. My experience is that many hotels in this area, whilst good, lack that personal touch and if anything are a little lazy when it comes to going that extra mile. The exact opposite is true at Broadoaks - relaxed, friendly, personal but yet professional at all times.

The room was perfect - plenty of space to stretch out in, a comfy four-poster bed, a beautiful view and best of all for us, a lovely Jacuzzi bath to relax in after an arduous day of taking afternoon tea *cough*.

The food was outstanding. Not usually a stranger to a 'between meals' snack but never felt the need to here, not when you bookend your day with a delicious full Cumbrian breakfast and a fabulous 3 course meal. That said, we still managed to squeeze in afternoon tea, which was a struggle but you know, needs must and all that.

With a setting as stunning as this it would be so easy for Broadoaks to dine out on its looks alone. The fact that they don't, is great credit to the management and staff. We had a FABULOUS time and the first thing we'll do when we get our 2014 diary is to plan next year's visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Top Coach House and would highly recommend. A peaceful and romantic setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveKilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
The entire team are thrilled that you took the time to write this fab review . We are a big family at Broadoaks and take great pride in our house that we share with our guests , so to have this recognised makes it all worthwhile , so thank you and we look forward to seeing you in 2014 when you get your new diary from Father Christmas ... ;)

Jo Harbottle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    115
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
135
525
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I booked the Broadoaks on a package deal for my wife s 30th that included; cream tea on arrival, a 4 course meal and a night in the "yem room" with breakfast. it was great value for money.

The cream tea was lovely. The four course meal on the night was some of the best food both me and my wife had ever tasted. The deserts were out of this world and the chef even wrote "happy birthday" in chocolate on my wifes plate which I thought was a lovely touch. The breakfast on the morning was also great.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and really peaceful.
We also took advantage of the free use of the leisure facilities at nearby hotel in bowness which was also really nice.

The only downside of our stay was the spa bath in our room wasn't working, when the man came out to fix it he said he would have it working for us by the morning but unfortunately it still wasnt fixed.

Apart from that though our stay was lovely and romantic and would definitely return back to this hotel.

Thanks

Gavin and Kate Pine

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank columbianpirate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Folks thanks for the review , so sorry about the spa bath we needed a part that needed to be ordered ...its all back up and running now .
Next time you book with us we will be sure to give you a room upgrade ! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

My partner booked us in to Broadoaks for a couple of days to chill out after our wedding as we were not able to go on our honeymoon for a couple of weeks. They had a wedding on so we stayed in one of the chalets. Gorgeous little chalets, flat screen tv, corner bath. They put some fresh red roses and a complementary bottle of proseco on ice. The most beautiful thing about the chalets are the views.The windows are huge and look straight in to the woods below. You can also here the stream below, which is very relaxing.
We had booked in to the main house for the following night, which was also very lovely.
The staff are great, the owners are very hands on and the hotel has a really warm welcoming vibe.
The food is amazing and the surrounding beautiful. An all round, beautiful hotel with a cozy environment with great staff.
We extended for an extra night!!

Room Tip: Chalets are really beautiful and romantic. Also dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Folks
It was so lovely to meet such a lovely couple ! , we wish you all the happiness together in your married life ....please come back and see us all again soon .
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My partner and I are having our civil partnership at Broadoaks next September. We've just spent 2 nights here, in part to discuss our plans for next year, but mainly just to have a nice relaxing time away from home. We had high expectations and we weren't disappointed at all. Our room - the Riverhaven garden suite - was very comfortable and had plenty of room for us and our 18-month old labrador. The views, both from our room, and from the house and grounds, were fantastic. Our 4-course evening meals were to die for, and the pre-dinner canapes were delicious. The full Cumbrian cooked breakfast is a great way to start the day. All the staff we met were very friendly, helpful and professional. We are so pleased we chose Broadoaks for our civil partnership, and will be having at least a couple more visits between now and then!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Boys , it was great to meet you both , we cant wait to look after you on your big day next year x x x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potterspury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Lovely old house converted into a small hotel. The gardens are exquisitely looked after as is the entire building. Being a converted house, our room was small and tastefully furnished. Food was to a high standard and the sticky toffee puding was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henry186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review .....so glad you liked the STP !!! Hope to see you again in the near future .
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My partner and I stayed one night in the luxurious Boudoir Suite (13/08) and enjoyed 5-star treatment from arrival to departure. The staff were welcoming, accommodating and extremely professional.
As a Hotel Housekeeper myself, I purposely didn't want to look for faults when I'm not at work! but the feel I got instantly was I could learn a lot from them, they had thought of everything we could possibly want and the standard was impeccable.
I had planned this surprise for quite a while, drooling over the photos on their website yet hoping it'd go well and I am so grateful to the Broadoaks team for making our stay so memorable and so special. Thank you.
(We WILL be back!)

Room Tip: The main house is beautiful but for a romantic getaway, the Suites are just so special. If you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review . Our housekeeping team are thrilled as they don't often get a mention .....they are all walking about with their feathers fluffed out now so thank you for making their day .

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Myself & two teenage children have just stayed at broadoaks for my brothers wedding 29-31 August 2013.
The Walnut room was great with a fabulous whirlpool bath!
The service was spot on from arrival to checking out. The food was lovely, the kids loved the pancake breakfast & the cooked breakfast was great too.
GM James couldn't have done any more for us if he had tried. Hearing a conversation between myself and a child about going to see the swing in the night time he appeared at my side with a torch.
Great staff, fabulous break & will definitely go back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snoop2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Folks , thanks for your review it was great to meet you all .....we look forward to seeing you again in the near future x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
1.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
18.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
12.9 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.8 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadoaks Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadoaks Country House

Property: Broadoaks Country House
Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Broadoaks Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Broadoaks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadoaks Country House Hotel Troutbeck
Broadoaks Country House Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing