We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broadoaks Country House
Ranked #1 of 5 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Spent a night here in August and really enjoyed it. Lovely old house set in gorgeous gardens. Staff are very friendly and efficient. Rooms were not to my taste but very comfortable and clean. Had predinner drinks and canapes on the terrace then dinner in the restaurant and it was really delicious. We had a wonderful stay at the Broadoaks and would happily return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroWManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your kind comments , we also look forward to seeing you again in the near future . x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

I surprised my husband for a nights stay at Broadoak's last night to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and my birthday, and all I can say is WOW!!

Being both local to the area I have always found many hotels in the area to cater mainly for tourists. The thought of dining out or going for a romantic getaway to a local hotel so close to home hasn't really come to the forefront of our planning or generally appealed to us....until now!!!

We actually live just 2 minutes drive away and at first glance previous to our stay, because of its beautiful surroundings and grand entrance, we were slightly intimidated by popping our head through the door and saying hello. When we arrived we both felt we were on holiday and had visited a spa retreat. It was incredibly relaxing and a great way just to unwind, even if it was for one night.

Broadoak's is like a little treasure chest, the staff are extremely attentive and lovely and have a great sense of humour. Getting sung Happy Birthday whilst checking out was a treat....thanks Tracy!! The food, we thought was absolutely superb, the best we have had in a long time. We just couldn't fault it.

The house itself is set in a stunning location in the heart of the Lake District. We booked ourselves in the Troutbeck, Luxury Garden Suite, which was perfectly positioned away from the main house itself. We would definitely recommend it, I just wanted to pick it up and take it home with me.

We would definitely recommend it to our friends and family. It was a real treat and great value for money. We shall be popping our heads through the door and saying hello more often, we are practically neighbours after all!

Thanks for an amazing evening.

Victoria and Robin

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for finding us and for spending your birthday night with us on our EAT FOR FREE ON YOUR BIRTHDAY ....we hope that many other locals will join you and do the same thing xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great hotel, beautiful quiet location with quaint garden area. The room was great, tastefully decorated with a fantastic spa bath, everywhere was very clean and the bed was very comfy. Lovely staff, always happy and ready to help. Food was fantastic, fresh ingredients, great choice at breakfast, the maple syrup and bacon pancakes were amazing! The whole building was beautiful but the conservatory was a lovely environment to enjoy breakfast. The location was great-only a short drive away from Ambleside and Windermere where there are lots of shops and places to eat. Overall one of the best hotels I have stayed in, would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooooon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review , it was really lovely to meet you both we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us . Hope to see you again in the near future x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Quoting William Wordsworth in the title of this review, might seem a bit pretentious but somehow, it is very appropriate for this stunning little hotel, nestling in the beating heart of Cumbria.

Being a native of Cumbria myself, I make a point of visiting the Lakes at least once a year. I have to get my fix of fresh air, countryside and proper Cumberland sausage.

I had taken my partner half a dozen times to this area and until now, we had yet to find "the one". By that, I mean the one place that we could say, "this is made for us". Delighted to say that our search is over. Broadoaks really does tick every box with a bold, emphatic "yes"!

We stayed at the Top Coach House as part of a joint birthday treat. From the moment we spoke to James on the phone to make the booking until Jane checked us out, it was fabulous. My experience is that many hotels in this area, whilst good, lack that personal touch and if anything are a little lazy when it comes to going that extra mile. The exact opposite is true at Broadoaks - relaxed, friendly, personal but yet professional at all times.

The room was perfect - plenty of space to stretch out in, a comfy four-poster bed, a beautiful view and best of all for us, a lovely Jacuzzi bath to relax in after an arduous day of taking afternoon tea *cough*.

The food was outstanding. Not usually a stranger to a 'between meals' snack but never felt the need to here, not when you bookend your day with a delicious full Cumbrian breakfast and a fabulous 3 course meal. That said, we still managed to squeeze in afternoon tea, which was a struggle but you know, needs must and all that.

With a setting as stunning as this it would be so easy for Broadoaks to dine out on its looks alone. The fact that they don't, is great credit to the management and staff. We had a FABULOUS time and the first thing we'll do when we get our 2014 diary is to plan next year's visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Top Coach House and would highly recommend. A peaceful and romantic setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveKilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

The entire team are thrilled that you took the time to write this fab review . We are a big family at Broadoaks and take great pride in our house that we share with our guests , so to have this recognised makes it all worthwhile , so thank you and we look forward to seeing you in 2014 when you get your new diary from Father Christmas ... ;)

Jo Harbottle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I booked the Broadoaks on a package deal for my wife s 30th that included; cream tea on arrival, a 4 course meal and a night in the "yem room" with breakfast. it was great value for money.

The cream tea was lovely. The four course meal on the night was some of the best food both me and my wife had ever tasted. The deserts were out of this world and the chef even wrote "happy birthday" in chocolate on my wifes plate which I thought was a lovely touch. The breakfast on the morning was also great.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and really peaceful.
We also took advantage of the free use of the leisure facilities at nearby hotel in bowness which was also really nice.

The only downside of our stay was the spa bath in our room wasn't working, when the man came out to fix it he said he would have it working for us by the morning but unfortunately it still wasnt fixed.

Apart from that though our stay was lovely and romantic and would definitely return back to this hotel.

Thanks

Gavin and Kate Pine

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank columbianpirate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Folks thanks for the review , so sorry about the spa bath we needed a part that needed to be ordered ...its all back up and running now .
Next time you book with us we will be sure to give you a room upgrade ! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My partner booked us in to Broadoaks for a couple of days to chill out after our wedding as we were not able to go on our honeymoon for a couple of weeks. They had a wedding on so we stayed in one of the chalets. Gorgeous little chalets, flat screen tv, corner bath. They put some fresh red roses and a complementary bottle of proseco on ice. The most beautiful thing about the chalets are the views.The windows are huge and look straight in to the woods below. You can also here the stream below, which is very relaxing.
We had booked in to the main house for the following night, which was also very lovely.
The staff are great, the owners are very hands on and the hotel has a really warm welcoming vibe.
The food is amazing and the surrounding beautiful. An all round, beautiful hotel with a cozy environment with great staff.
We extended for an extra night!!

Room Tip: Chalets are really beautiful and romantic. Also dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Folks
It was so lovely to meet such a lovely couple ! , we wish you all the happiness together in your married life ....please come back and see us all again soon .
x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My partner and I are having our civil partnership at Broadoaks next September. We've just spent 2 nights here, in part to discuss our plans for next year, but mainly just to have a nice relaxing time away from home. We had high expectations and we weren't disappointed at all. Our room - the Riverhaven garden suite - was very comfortable and had plenty of room for us and our 18-month old labrador. The views, both from our room, and from the house and grounds, were fantastic. Our 4-course evening meals were to die for, and the pre-dinner canapes were delicious. The full Cumbrian cooked breakfast is a great way to start the day. All the staff we met were very friendly, helpful and professional. We are so pleased we chose Broadoaks for our civil partnership, and will be having at least a couple more visits between now and then!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Boys , it was great to meet you both , we cant wait to look after you on your big day next year x x x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
1.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,448 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
838 reviews
17 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadoaks Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadoaks Country House

Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range: £118 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Broadoaks Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a leafy valley leading to the River Troutbeck, the 5-star Broadoaks Country House is set in 7 acres of peaceful landscaped grounds. It has an elegant restaurant and luxury boutique-style rooms with a host of original features. With Victorian character, some rooms at Broadoaks feature a whirlpool bath or four-poster bed, whilst all have Bang and Olufsen audio equipment. Rooms boast William Morris-inspired design, and some have views of Lake Windermere or the river. The Michelin recommended Oaks restaurant offers a fine dining menu of both classic Cumbrian and modern British cuisine, made with local produce. Built in 1836, Broadoaks has original open fires, oak panelled walls and period furniture. Guests may use the facilities at the nearby Windermere health club, including a spa, a fitness suite and a swimming pool. The club also has a sauna, a beauty salon and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Broadoaks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadoaks Country House Hotel Troutbeck
Broadoaks Country House Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing