We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding may 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Broadoaks Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wedding may 2014”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Attended a wedding at the venue for the first time. It was an amazing wedding made even more special by the gorgeous grounds. The staff were fantastic and the food was stunning. This place is fantastic for anyone looking for a wedding venue. Will be back and next time I will stay overnight in the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    118
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
137
545
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I recently spent 2 nights at Broadoaks for my nephews wedding. The wedding party took over the whole hotel and everyone seemed to enjoy a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The food was good and the staff pleasant and friendly. My room ( Rowan) was clean and comfortable but dark.
The television did not work, soon sorted out by maintenance but unfortunately stopped working again soon after, a minor problem as the beautiful gardens, views and lovely sunny weather and fresh air far better than TV. Overall had a lovely time at Broadoaks with family and friends and a beautiful bride and her handsome groom.
There are one or 2 points I would like to make however.
1) a hand rail on srairs leading to the bathroom (Rowan and Yew)
2) a grab rail for assistance into and out of the bath would be usefull
3) an eluminous strip of some sort showing where the steps are.
I am sure these will be apprieated by guests especially those with mobility or eyesight problems and help to avoid accidents in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
281 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our daughter and fiance were married at Broadoaks yesterday, and the whole day was perfect. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens with amazing views towards Lake Windermere and surrounding countryside. We had exclusive use of the hotel, and the day was perfect. The sun shone all day but had no chance of eclipsing the happiness of our daughter and husband.
Everything was spot on. All our guests that stayed over were pleased with their rooms, and everyone said the the food was superb. The staff were brilliant, helpful but not intrusive.
The rooms are all different, and very comfortable.
I am sure that some of our guests will quite probably be making a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I recently stayed at Broadoaks for a friend's wedding and have totally fallen in love with the place. The wedding party took over the whole hotel so it had a really intimate, family atmosphere. The food was fabulous and my room (Maple) was gorgeous and comfortable. The whirlpool bath was a bonus too.
There is a great view of the lake through the hills from the front of the hotel and I thoroughly recommend having a go on the swing on the front lawn - it's big enough for two.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahP138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Held my 50th birthday celebration at Broadoaks and I can assure you it was a brilliant decision. You can hire the whole hotel for all of your guests and therefore you can have an exclusive do. Vikki helped me organise the party from seating plans, food choices and timings. All effortless with her help. The staff are one of the reasons you would have your party at Broadoaks. They are very professional and nothing is too much trouble. We started with welcome drinks and once everyone had checked into their rooms we all met in the Music room with a lovely log fire for drinks. We were then called through to our tables which were beautifully prepared and then we enjoyed a 3 course meal of great quality and service. After the meal we had a fantastic time dancing to my friend's prepared playlists. All equipment provided for the disco inclusing lights, PA system and speakers etc.
After the disco we then retired to the Music room for a cheese platter and Port.
Next day we enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the Orangerie.
All my 40 guests made a comment about the high standard of the rooms and service. So if you need any persuading about booking your wedding / party / celebration do not hesitate it was a weekend I will never forget. Thank you Broadoaks

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris13Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend have enjoyed a two night stay at Broadoakes as a special break before we emigrate to Australia.

We stayed in Rippledean Garden Suite and was amazing! From the comfy snuggly day bed to the jacuzzi bath which you could watch tv!!

The food was outstanding and delicious!

All the staff are friendly and welcoming and offered a five star service.

We will recommend all our friends and family.

Never say never we may be back one day!!

Becky & Steve

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just enjoyed a lovely overnight stay at this gorgeous hotel.

I booked it through Wowcher, and included in the rate of £169 was cream tea, dinner, bed and breakfast. I upgraded to a room from the Romantic Collection, and we were given the Ash room, at the front of the house.

The room was immaculate and extremely well-presented. There was a range of complementary products, such as shampoo, conditioner and bubble bath. There were also complimentary dressing gowns! All the staff were attentive and courteous and everything was to an exceptionally high standard.

The evening meal was first rate. We enjoyed drinks and canapés in the Music Room, and were then served a delightful 3-course meal by extremely polite staff.

The breakfast was equally delicious, with an excellent range of dishes including smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. There is also a buffet selection of cereals, yogurts and a range of fruit juices.

The location is brilliant if you wish to visit nearby Windermere. We also took advantage of free access to the swimming pool and gym at the Macdonald Hotel, which was very enjoyable.

All in all, a fantastic stay to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. We'd love to stay again!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyBee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
1.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
21.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadoaks Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadoaks Country House

Property: Broadoaks Country House
Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Broadoaks Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Broadoaks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadoaks Country House Hotel Troutbeck
Broadoaks Country House Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing