We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Broadoaks Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartest, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a three day stay from 17 May for a special occasion. On the plus side all the staff were pleasant, welcoming and friendly. The hotel and grounds were beautiful. Breakfast and dinner was good but presentation could have been a bit better ( rather sloppy on some dishes)

On the minus side our room, the top coach house, was quite dark with no wardrobe (a small hanging rail only).The bathroom was very small. We managed, but a bigger person would struggle. The hot radiator was too near to the toilet - I burnt my legs twice! A better option would be to remove the small jacuzzi bath and have a walk in shower. We had reception problems with the TV throughout our stay - the maintenance staff fixed it but it kept coming back. As a 5 star hotel they do need to get flat screen TV's with more than a limited edition of Freeview!

I am not sure given the price we paid that I would recommend the hotel for a special occasion. The management do need to up their game. Such a pity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moorer542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review , the room that you stayed in is a huge room as it is the top of the old coach house ,we may well take your advice and swap the bath for a shower the next time we renovate ....our guests do generally usually like baths , so that is why we left it in .The bathroom may well suit a shower tho due to its quirky layout ....so thanks for your feedback .

We have now swapped out the Bang & Olufsen TV for a modern TV , we kept it in the room as it was design icon .....but due to the digital swap over you are correct that it does not allow for all of the free channels .
We do learn from comments made so thanks again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you again in the future .

Warm Regards

The Broadoaks Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    118
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
137
542
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was very difficult to score. We had the best suit, intended for a three day stay, special occasion. The room was very stylish (The Boudoir). The mattress was probably comfortable "once", but no longer. The real fire was needed because it was cold. We had to go to reception in the rain to get the log to light the fire. The bathroom has no door. The advertised wifi didn't work on any of our three devices, and there was no help until tomorrow. (Monday). The most disappointing was we believe a Sunday chef. The afternoon cream tea was forgettable. Dinner. The asparagus was not prepared correctly. Was hard rather than crisp, the egg was overcooked, not provided the melting yoke. Presentation was good but quality of cooking was not good enough.
The outstanding feature was the grounds. They are just beautiful and magnificently maintained.
Breakfast was very disappointing. Our welcome into the dining room, well wasn't a welcome. There was not good morning, or being shown to our table. It was "tea or coffee". There was a lovely window table "unavailable" as it wasn't cleared.
The full breakfast was tainted by a strange oil flavour. It had obviously been pre cooked and left standing. The black pudding had sucked up the oil. The fried egg was solid. It was inedible. The first time I had sent back a breakfast in 35 years. Management have obviously set up a lovely venue. Now time to get very closely involved again I suspect.
I am sorry to be so frank, but we had to leave after one day to save our special occasion.
It could so easily be brilliant. Such a shame.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DacBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your frank review . I hope you appreciate my equally Frank response .

Not once during your stay did you inform us of any of the above issues that you have raised .

The mattress is a brand new expensive Memory Foam only swapped in January , and by dialling 0 as in most hotels a porter may be summoned to light fires and provide any other service that a guest may have .

We had many other guests in the house that day and night , all of whom had only nice things to say about us and our food delivered all over the weekend by our very experienced executive head chef who has 2 rosettes.

My receptionist was very upset at the way she was spoken to when you demanded to leave early and not pay your bill for the days that you wanted to cancel . It is a pity that given the hard work that we put in as a team that some people feel it is their given right to hold small business like ours to ransom to get what they want . Based upon our many other great reviews I hope readers of this review will come to their own conclusion on the person that wrote it ….just as we have done .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbrian,in uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had a amazing afternoon tea on sunday,,I've never seen so many cakes,,and the little finger sandwiches were yummie,,a glass of pressco and as much tea and coffee as u can drink, the service was fantastic,,the hotel is beautiful and the grounds and garden is beautiful,,,would deffently go again.!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thestylist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

A fantastic luxury treat near Ambleside and Windermere. Fabulous staff , super location and really excellent food and dining experience. Dog friendly, people friendly.. Nothing is too much trouble at this super hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank speedyranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
It was so lovely to meet you all ....thank you for taking the time to write this review we really appreciate your feedback x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Had our wedding here at weekend. It was absolutely amazing. The hotel is out of the way and has gorgeous grounds. The staff are really friendly and welcoming.
Our ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening reception all took place in the orangery and each time we were blown away with how beautiful the room looked. It was amazing how different the room looked each time.
We paid extra for the gourmet menu which is well worth it, the food is beautiful and the portions are very generous. All our guests commented on how fantastic the food was. That said, it was really disappointing to find that the bacon/sausage butties we had paid £9pp for were such a let down compared to the quantity and quality of the wedding breakfast. The bread was dry, no butter on it and you got one little sausage or one slice of bacon. Definitely not worth the money at all and our guests commented on this.
Overall though, the whole weekend was fantastic. The staff are really professional, especially Vikki, and made the whole occasion flawless.
I would rate it 6 out of 5 if it wasn't the butties!!
Perfect venue for a perfect day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BFC0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Good:
1. Easy to find
2. Good parking space
3. Close to local amenities
4. Nice garden

Not so good:
1. The entrance to the hotel is not baby friendly- only steps around
2. Thee is no changing tables for babies in the toilet downstairs. When we asked them about it, rather than suggesting to use one of the empty rooms, they advised us to change in the entrance of the toilet
3. We were initially charged £140 (through telephone booking). When we compared the room that was given to our friends (for the same price), the room was smaller in size, the toilets were extremely small.
4. The radiator stopped working in the night.
5. Expensive

When I enquirer about the price at the time of billing, they told me that it should have been £120! After mentioning about the radiator, they did not charge for the sandwiches we ate for lunch.

Advice:
At the time of booking, absolutely be sure that you are paying the right amount of money for the right room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nishmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
1. The entrance to the hotel is not baby friendly- only steps around

Broadoaks Management Response : The house was built in 1836 ?

2. Thee is no changing tables for babies in the toilet downstairs. When we asked them about it, rather than suggesting to use one of the empty rooms, they advised us to change in the entrance of the toilet

Broadoaks Management Response : You checked in VERY early to an exclusive hire of the house for a wedding . ALL rooms where booked out by the wedding party so all we could offer you was the front bar ....we closed the door for you to allow you some privacy .

3. We were initially charged £140 (through telephone booking). When we compared the room that was given to our friends (for the same price), the room was smaller in size, the toilets were extremely small.

Broadoaks Management Response : Your room was allocated by the wedding couple , they determined the price you were charged not the hotel .
4. The radiator stopped working in the night.

Broadoaks Management Response It is on a timer and switches off after midnight

5. Expensive

Broadoaks Management Response :We are 5 star rated .....our food and drink compare with other establishments in the area with the same standard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Attended a wedding at the venue for the first time. It was an amazing wedding made even more special by the gorgeous grounds. The staff were fantastic and the food was stunning. This place is fantastic for anyone looking for a wedding venue. Will be back and next time I will stay overnight in the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
1.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
21.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadoaks Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadoaks Country House

Property: Broadoaks Country House
Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Broadoaks Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Broadoaks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadoaks Country House Hotel Troutbeck
Broadoaks Country House Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing