We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond perfect...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broadoaks Country House
Ranked #2 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beyond perfect...”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding at broadoaks on May 30th after getting engaged here last year. We knew we didn't need to look anywhere else. We had exclusive hire for two nights and it really was a dream come true, it felt just like our home for 2 days. All the bedrooms were gorgeous, luxurious and comfortable, particularly the boudoir, and were commented on by our guests. The decoration of the orangery for our wedding breakfast was so beautiful, it took my breath away. Little jo the wedding co-ordinator went above and beyond to be sure all our planned decoration became a stunning reality. The wedding breakfast was exquisite and beautifully presented, and again proved a talking point for our guests. Special thanks to Richard the restaurant manager, and all the waiting and bar staff for their hard work too. Each and every member of the team helped make sure our day ran smoothly, and I was able to relax and enjoy the day knowing we were in safe hands.
It is difficult to find fault with Broadoaks Country House. We really did have the most incredible day of our lives and several guests commented on how 'looked after' they felt. We would not hesitate to recommend you to anyone planning a wedding. Thank you all for helping to make our day beyond perfect!
Love, the new Mr and Mrs Gaskell xxx

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Katwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    122
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
142
557
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Warm welcome in hotel with lovely room and plush bathroom en suite. the location of this place is gorgeous but slightly less accessible without a car.
Dinner was excellent and the view from the table where I had my breakfast was breathtaking.
Limited luggage storage.that was my only gripe. Otherwise would definitely stay again
Very handily, there is an agreement with the macdonald hotel to use the superb gym and pool/spa facility at Bowness on windermere

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Lucy thanks for taking the time to leave us a review ....we reduced the sizes of some of the big old original wardrobes to give people more space in the rooms ....some rooms do still have them so lets make sure we pop you in one of these rooms next time !!

xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My fiance and I stayed at Broadoaks on a Friday evening, using an Amazon local voucher.
We had a beautiful Afternoon Tea on arrival and then because our room wasn't yet ready we sat in the bar area and had a drink whilst we waited.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the evening "serving" staff.

We then checked into our room (Rowan) which is in the downstairs coachhouse, and it was beautiful. A wonderful Tempur mattress, a birthday card and some little chocolates for me (dont be fooled by the fake empty bottle of champagne!!!) and plenty of tea/coffee/homemade biscuits.
This room also has a large, clean bathroom (some of the grout behind the toilet was stained and could probably benefit from being re-done) with a fantastic Spa bath in.

We ventured into Barrow (about a 5 minute drive away) and visited the Beatrix Potter attraction (fabulous!) and took a wander around the town (tapas bar by the harbour was wonderful!), there are plenty of walks and things to do in the area.

Evening dinner in the hotel was 5*. We couldn't fault a single things; from the canapes in the music room to the perfectly cooked and deliciously tasty dishes and palette cleansers between each course, it was all superb. The food really was special, and made my birthday so wonderful - thank you to all of the excellent, helpful and professional serving staff.

Breakfast too was lovely- well cooked food, an excellent assortment of "continental" style foods (would have liked some form of pastries maybe?) and the little touches like the breakfast menu within the Beatrix Potter books was noted and very much appreciated!

The only complaint we would have with Broadoaks is the quality of sleep (or lack of) we experienced. What we thought would be the perfect night's rest away from busy work, in a fabulously comfy bed and beautiful settings, was ruined completely by a deafening noise that we encountered 3x (for upto an hour) during the night. The noise itself didn't appear to be coming from our room, but instead from the room above - rather like they were using the spa bath (with jets on!) throughout the night, or that the pipes were literally wailing! It was most noticeable in the corner of our bathroom, by the toilet.

This noise did wake us both up, and made for a very disturbed nights rest. Upon telling management on our check-out, we were just told "oh dear, I will get someone to look".
Disappointed in this, and sad that what should have been our wonderful relaxing night away was actually disturbed!

Food is 200% perfect, serving staff are fantastic, hotel grounds and facilities wonderful but SO let down by the night we had :(

Room Tip: Rowan looks wonderful and has all the facilities you could want but BEWARE the noises in the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank golden_revolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Sorry folks , it seems that we had a bit of a gremlin of airlock in the system ....well either that or it was old Charlie the previous owner from the 1800's trying to get a message through !!!

The next time you book to stay with us , please mention this review and we will give you a free room upgrade to a suite ...

Thanks for your other lovely comments much appreciated
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here over the last bank holiday in May (Saturday through til Monday), for my Sister's wedding. It was the perfect venue, everything went smoothly and all guests were thoroughly impressed. Staff were attentitive, food was lovely and drinks reasonably priced for a venue of such high class.
Would definitely recommend this as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartest, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a three day stay from 17 May for a special occasion. On the plus side all the staff were pleasant, welcoming and friendly. The hotel and grounds were beautiful. Breakfast and dinner was good but presentation could have been a bit better ( rather sloppy on some dishes)

On the minus side our room, the top coach house, was quite dark with no wardrobe (a small hanging rail only).The bathroom was very small. We managed, but a bigger person would struggle. The hot radiator was too near to the toilet - I burnt my legs twice! A better option would be to remove the small jacuzzi bath and have a walk in shower. We had reception problems with the TV throughout our stay - the maintenance staff fixed it but it kept coming back. As a 5 star hotel they do need to get flat screen TV's with more than a limited edition of Freeview!

I am not sure given the price we paid that I would recommend the hotel for a special occasion. The management do need to up their game. Such a pity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moorer542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review , the room that you stayed in is a huge room as it is the top of the old coach house ,we may well take your advice and swap the bath for a shower the next time we renovate ....our guests do generally usually like baths , so that is why we left it in .The bathroom may well suit a shower tho due to its quirky layout ....so thanks for your feedback .

We have now swapped out the Bang & Olufsen TV for a modern TV , we kept it in the room as it was design icon .....but due to the digital swap over you are correct that it does not allow for all of the free channels .
We do learn from comments made so thanks again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you again in the future .

Warm Regards

The Broadoaks Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was very difficult to score. We had the best suit, intended for a three day stay, special occasion. The room was very stylish (The Boudoir). The mattress was probably comfortable "once", but no longer. The real fire was needed because it was cold. We had to go to reception in the rain to get the log to light the fire. The bathroom has no door. The advertised wifi didn't work on any of our three devices, and there was no help until tomorrow. (Monday). The most disappointing was we believe a Sunday chef. The afternoon cream tea was forgettable. Dinner. The asparagus was not prepared correctly. Was hard rather than crisp, the egg was overcooked, not provided the melting yoke. Presentation was good but quality of cooking was not good enough.
The outstanding feature was the grounds. They are just beautiful and magnificently maintained.
Breakfast was very disappointing. Our welcome into the dining room, well wasn't a welcome. There was not good morning, or being shown to our table. It was "tea or coffee". There was a lovely window table "unavailable" as it wasn't cleared.
The full breakfast was tainted by a strange oil flavour. It had obviously been pre cooked and left standing. The black pudding had sucked up the oil. The fried egg was solid. It was inedible. The first time I had sent back a breakfast in 35 years. Management have obviously set up a lovely venue. Now time to get very closely involved again I suspect.
I am sorry to be so frank, but we had to leave after one day to save our special occasion.
It could so easily be brilliant. Such a shame.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DacBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadoaks, General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your frank review . I hope you appreciate my equally Frank response .

Not once during your stay did you inform us of any of the above issues that you have raised .

The mattress is a brand new expensive Memory Foam only swapped in January , and by dialling 0 as in most hotels a porter may be summoned to light fires and provide any other service that a guest may have .

We had many other guests in the house that day and night , all of whom had only nice things to say about us and our food delivered all over the weekend by our very experienced executive head chef who has 2 rosettes.

My receptionist was very upset at the way she was spoken to when you demanded to leave early and not pay your bill for the days that you wanted to cancel . It is a pity that given the hard work that we put in as a team that some people feel it is their given right to hold small business like ours to ransom to get what they want . Based upon our many other great reviews I hope readers of this review will come to their own conclusion on the person that wrote it ….just as we have done .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbrian,in uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had a amazing afternoon tea on sunday,,I've never seen so many cakes,,and the little finger sandwiches were yummie,,a glass of pressco and as much tea and coffee as u can drink, the service was fantastic,,the hotel is beautiful and the grounds and garden is beautiful,,,would deffently go again.!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thestylist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
1.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadoaks Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadoaks Country House

Property: Broadoaks Country House
Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Broadoaks Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Broadoaks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadoaks Country House Hotel Troutbeck
Broadoaks Country House Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing