We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impessive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broadoaks Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Yes I must confess that we were very impressed with this hotel, It seems that all the bedrooms are individually styled (and named)The hotel is in a beautiful setting, with wonderful manicured gardens. So love the way that the lower trunk of a large fallen tree has been integrated.The staff were all courteous and efficient, and ran the event (wedding) very well. A short stay but memorable.

Room Tip: The rear rooms of the hotel would be quieter, the front ones are above reception and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorris3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I booked a one night stay at Broadoaks for my fiancées birthday at the start of June.

He's never been to the lakes before and I wanted somewhere really special for his first visit.

Staff were so friendly - even calling my mobile to see if we were alright after we were later arriving than I said we would be!

Our room was perfect. Four poster bed was super comfy and our bathroom was amazing! Jacuzzi bath with a touchscreen tv on the wall.

We had drinks before dinner in the small bar and it was lovely to chat to other guests who had a cute little dog! (One of the things I loved when looking online was the provisions for furry friends!)

Dinner was delicious and service great. Restaurant manager was really chatty and had a good chat with my fiancée who is also a restaurant manager.

Breakfast was perfect in the orangery. Couldn't fault it!

We didn't want to leave!! Well definitely be back later in the year!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank CharlotteRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a bit delayed but still valid. We held our wedding at Broadoaks at the end of March 2014 and booked out the hotel for Friday afternoon through Saturday morning for a group of about 50.
In summary it was a wonderful day hosted by a very professional team. Jo and Viki were a great calming influence in what can be a stressful time and everything went brilliantly. We were not the easiest of customers as we had a budget and wanted to do a few things "off plan" but nothing was too much problem.
We stayed in the "Boudoir" which was absolutely fantastic and all our guests had no complaints whatsoever - multiple comments about how much they enjoyed the rooms. The food was gorgeous ( we chose the classic cold buffet ) and very well presented and the service was spot on for the whole event. This is an independent business and the quality of the service and facilitates is a credit to the owners and their staff.
The hotel itself is wonderfully period - we chose a 1930's theme for our wedding because it just fitted - but the detail is modern and the cleanliness superb.
Thank you Broadoaks, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet quality place to stay in the Lakes.

Room Tip: Go with the guidance of the website - the descriptions are good and the higher end rooms are gorgeou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BryceM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited Broadoaks last week to celebrate our engagement and my birthday and it was fantastic. We couldn't ask for anything more. The hotel is gorgeous in beautiful surroundings and so peaceful. We stayed in the Pine room and it was amazing, the bathroom had a sunken spa bath, marble tiles and a mirrored ceiling! The four poster bed was very comfortable, the room decorated to high standards and impeccably clean. The staff are lovely and a credit to the hotel.
Now for the food - WOW - the best we have ever had and our compliments go to the head chef Sharon for a brilliant meal.
This really is a lovely place to stay, the drinks are reasonably priced, the grounds are beautiful and it was such a relaxing break away. Thanks Broadoaks, we will be visiting you again soon.
Bonita and Alison x

Room Tip: The Pine room is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonita802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a wonderful long weekend here with my mum. We got the perfect room for us - Redwood has two separate bedrooms and a very big luxurious bathroom. (My mum got the room with the four-poster, dressing table and walk-in wardrobe, while I was very happy with the smaller room - especially as it had its own home-made biscuits!) The hotel itself is a lovely cosy country house, big enough to be spacious but small enough to feel homely. There were wood burners lit in the big hall and wonderful music room, which was very welcome on a wet Saturday. But sunny evenings with drinks on the terrace too! It's a great location - Lake Windermere glinting below but just far enough out of the town to feel properly countrysidey. I went for a run one evening, and straight from the hotel you just head up and up into what feels like the heart of the Lake District - all cottages and stone walls and tempting pubs. A deer stood watching in the next field. Great food and wine afterwards, too. Anyway, very much hope to be back - it's one of those rare places where you get a warm welcome from staff who genuinely seem pleased to be working there.

Room Tip: Redwood is great if you need two rooms in one - it has its own little patio and pond area outside an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just had a 1 night stay as a thank you from our daughter and son in law for organizing their wedding earlier this year and they have stayed at this hotel themselves and promised us a treat to remember.. We have stayed in a lot of hotels and this is right up there with the best. Its obvious its not part of a big hotel chain and this adds a personal touch to various parts of the hotel. We stayed in the Boudoire room and it was fantastic with all the home comforts you could ever need and tables and chairs outside the room in a private area made it feel as though we lived here. The 4 course evening meal was perfect and all the staff were polite and efficient. Its well worth reading some of the info around the hotel which gives a bit of history. Would love to visit again and this will be on our to do list.. many thanks to all the team

Room Tip: All rooms are individual and all seem to be vry good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shedstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Broadoaks for three nights as part of our holiday in England. What a delightful place. Location is amazing, the staff and the welcome were outstanding and the food excellent. Dinner choices were good, beautifully served and tasted as good as they looked, the canapes served before dinner in the music room were brilliant and different each night and the breakfasts were memorable. We were given a lovely cream tea on our arrival and sitting outside in the sun eating it and looking at the beautiful surroundings is a memory that will live a long time. Would love to go back and spend a few nights there in winter for a different experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
1.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,402 reviews
10.0 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,705 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadoaks Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadoaks Country House

Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range: £118 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Broadoaks Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Broadoaks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadoaks Country House Hotel Troutbeck
Broadoaks Country House Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing