We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel - no baby facilities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broadoaks Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Broadoaks Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing hotel - no baby facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in stunning surroundings.
The let down for me was that they took a booking for a other and child, (6MO)
When I called to confirm that a cot had been booked, I was told that this was not something that the hotel offered, (having previously been told that one had been reserved) This meant my daughter had to sleep on the floor next to the fire escape in our room, which was droughty ...
There aren't any baby changing facilities. The ladies bathroom does not allow room to change a baby, so this left me chafing her in the car as our room was not ready until after the wedding that we had arrived for.
Such a shame really, a couple of travel cots and a changing station would be some very simple additions that would make this lovely hotel family friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 543Stefana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    115
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
135
526
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had a wonderfully relaxing overnight stay at this little gem of a place in June. Everyone was so friendly, the food really was quite excellent and our garden cottage was cosy yet luxurious. Our elderly cocker enjoyed all the attention (and his sausages). A fabulous venue to share with friends and family - highly recommended! Sure we'll be back. Thank you all!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eilean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I’m not usually one for writing reviews, but I really felt we owed it to the general public to do so!

We’ve just stayed at Broadoaks Country House hotel. It was recommended to us by friends who’d been over joyed by their weekend stay back in June – so when we finally got a free weekend, we booked.

No wonder they raved about it! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated fantastically.

Due to this being a special occasion we treated ourselves by booking one of the master suites - the Boudoir. The room itself is beautifully decorated and it’s huge! It has to be as it contains a sumptuous, 4 poster bed, with lush bedding & a tempur mattress! We had tea and coffee making facilities (including biscuits and chocolate), a huge Bang & Olsen tv and to top it off - an open fire! The on-suite bathroom had a great big double ended spa bath, walk in shower, lovely smelling toiletries, slippers, robes, hairdryer - everything you need to bring, but forgot to pack!

That evening we went to bar, ordered a gin & tonic (very reasonably priced for a hotel) then went through to the library. Here we ate delicious canapés and pre ordered our dinner! Once we were ready, we were directed to the dining room where our starters were ready.

Being a trained chef myself, I was expecting fresh, locally sourced produce, because that’s what the Lakes is famous for. What I wasn’t expecting was near on perfectly balanced, perfectly executed dishes – we were shocked – it was delicious! I can’t fault a single element to any dish – it really was superb. Even if I wasn’t staying at this hotel – I’d eat there, that’s how good it is!

The setting is beautiful and so is the hotel, but what made it so special for us was the staff. Their attention to detail (without being overbearing or stuffy) made us feel genuinely welcome and thoroughly spoilt – a truly delightful experience.

Put it on your bucket list – you won’t be disappointed!

Room Tip: We had a bit of a tour and every room looked great...however, you couldn't beat ours - the Boudo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum and we took our dog. We had a family room which was like it's own little cottage. Room was lovely and had a MASSIVE Spa bath! The room was slightly warm and could have done with a fan.

Included was cream tea which was beautiful and was lovely to sit outside on the terrace.

The food was gorgeous and service was excellent, probably one of the best meals we'd had.

The staff were welcoming and professional and went the extra mile.

Overall a lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings with a true relaxing feel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ami489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Beautiful room, hotel and grounds. The staff were very nice. We only stayed for one night as an anniversary treat, but would of liked to of stayed longer. We booked the spruce room with the hydrobath which came in very handy as we picked the hottest weekend ever and im 8 month pregnant! Free wifi with good signal in this room. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. Some lovely chocs, biscuits and lots of variety of hot drinks in the room. We had fresh coffee and homemade scones on arrival. The four course meal was a real treat and the desserts were amazing! We really would love to book again. £200 dbb is over our usual budget but it was worth every penny. The wine starts from £24 a bottle so good job i wasnt drinking but £4 a pint i think is reasonable hotel pricing. Breakfast was beautiful with quality produce. Couldnt find a single fault, just lovely.

Room Tip: Spruce room has a hydro bath big enough for two also with a tv in bathroom, and a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DixonEngeeGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband booked this place for our third year anniversary, We received a phone call from the hotel owner Tracy the day before we were due to arrive telling us that the private lodge that we had booked in the gardens had a broken boiler we were very disappointed however to compensate we were booked into the top coach house, afternoon tea upgraded to afternoon lunch, a bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates in the room such a massive effort was made to make our stay special, ALL the staff were amazing the place itself is absolutely stunning the grounds and view all beautiful, we ate in the resturant and all I can say is WOW we felt like royalty it was spectacular the food was fantastic, drinks were a little over priced but who cares we could not find fault at all we will be returning regularly now we have found our hidden gem!! I must say it's all the personal touches that count and there was many Thank you to everyone at Broadoak for making our anniversary so special

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Analeise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire, uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing venue
Amazing food
Amazing staff
We have just spent a wonderful night at Broadoaks. We would recommend this hidden gem.
We stayed in a garden lodge which was fab. Lots of super touches, fantastically clean.
Canapés & champagne on the lawn were devine. The dining room staff were delightful. The four course meal was a beyond delicious, cheeky palate cleansing pink champagne sorbets, each course was scrumptious.
We didn't want to leave, and we can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
1.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadoaks Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadoaks Country House

Property: Broadoaks Country House
Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Broadoaks Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Broadoaks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadoaks Country House Hotel Troutbeck
Broadoaks Country House Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing