We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Base for Eastern Fells”
Review of Fellside Studios

Fellside Studios
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troutbeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fellside Studios
Ranked #4 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have just had a weekend in the lakes staying at Fellside Studios near Troutbeck. We had both rooms and they are very modern, clean and well appointed. The hosts were very helpful especially when I left some equipment they posted it back to us without any fuss. The breakfast with freshly laid eggs was ample, setting us up nicely for a big walking day. You could easily cook in the kitchen area but we spent both evenings in the excellent Queens Head up the road (booking is worthwhile).

There was plenty of snow around but all the roads were clear and we will definitely return when the wether improves

Room Tip: The twin room is larger than the double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbird122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

Absolutely agree with the other reviews. Peaceful spot, lovely cosy room, with great views. My husband and I stayed for 5 days for some R&R, walking and pottering. We loved the location of Fellside, in a village with 2 nice pubs, with an easy drive to Windermere or Ambleside, and great walks right from the doorstep - Wansfell Pike before breakfast anyone?! Our hosts were friendly and helpful, allowing us to drying our wet and muddy clothes in the cellar, and the breakfasts were large and good quality. We stayed in Studio 1, which had lovely views, and in the autumn chill was very warm and cosy. We loved the decor and little kitchen, everything very well thought out for a short break, and done to a high standard. Would certainly recommend and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Studio 1 has double bed and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fletcher43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

What a wonderful break in a beautiful location. The owners were welcoming and the coffee and cake on arrival made us feel we had made a good choice. Studio ! is not huge but is extremely comfortable with everything you need for a short break.It was well organised and spotlessly clean with nice extra touches. The breakfasts were delicious and the freshly laid eggs an added delight. Great to be able to eat in if you want but note there is no oven, only a microwave. We were blessed with glorious weather and sitting on the patio ,enjoying the stunning view was an added bonus.We had no problem with the television reception.
The countryside is beautiful and there is plenty to do and see. You must visit Holehird Gardens. What a feast of colour and entrance is free.
Overall a wonderful plce to stay and we will be back.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank ALAN_RUTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a perfect spot to stay on a visit to southern Lakeland .. as good as an hotel if you don't want to cook, because a plentiful and delicious breakfast is provided and there is a choice of two pubs in the village that both provide tasty meals for later in the day. For those who prefer to cook, all the equipment is in place, and the village store is just up the road.
The fells are on your doorstep, so we were able to enjoy some great walks without using the car. The walk over to Ambleside is particularly recommended: there is a choice of high or low routes, and a large choice of refreshment stops in Ambleside.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pangalactic_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Fellside - excellent accomodation - good quality breakfasts and beautiful views. Loved the geese and hens roaming around and also enjoyed eating their freshly laid eggs each morning. Troutbeck was a peaceful retreat during the August bank holiday with excellent walks from the doorstep. The Mortal Man is a 15 minute walk away, a lovely stroll through the village. We enjoyed excellent fish and chips and lamb hot pot - good hearty food, just what was needed after a day on the fells. All in all, a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nittynora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This was a lovely change from standard B & Bs. Located near the town of Troutback, this place combines B & B with self-catering - there's a small kitchen in the room (studio), but breakfast is delivered to you each morning. You place your "order" the night before, with lots of options: it's not "full English", but if you've been doing the B & B circuit, it's a relief to have an equally filling but not so fat-laden breakfast. You're within walking distance of the town, its pubs, and walking paths. We had the studio 1 - great views and terrace. Loved the chickens and geese wandering around. A delight!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Fellside for two nights. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing and peaceful stay in the heart of the Lake District in very good accomodation.
We stayed in studio 2 which was very spacious with two single beds joined together, but the sheets went over the gap so it wasn't a problem. The carpet was a bit rough but that was my only complaint. The breakfasts were lovely and the bathroom had a great shower.
Don't go there expecting to watch TV as the reception up there is very poor...not surprising really.
The Queens Head pub in the village was superb and a good recommendation.
I would recommend Fellside Studios to all ages.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaidstoneHelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troutbeck hotels
0.5 mi away
The Mortal Man
The Mortal Man
#3 of 4 in Troutbeck
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Fold Guest House
High Fold Guest House
#1 of 4 in Troutbeck
299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Broadoaks Country House
Broadoaks Country House
#2 of 4 in Troutbeck
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fellside Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fellside Studios

Address: Near Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Fellside Studios Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing