We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful change”
Review of Fellside Studios

Fellside Studios
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troutbeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fellside Studios
Ranked #5 of 5 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This was a lovely change from standard B & Bs. Located near the town of Troutback, this place combines B & B with self-catering - there's a small kitchen in the room (studio), but breakfast is delivered to you each morning. You place your "order" the night before, with lots of options: it's not "full English", but if you've been doing the B & B circuit, it's a relief to have an equally filling but not so fat-laden breakfast. You're within walking distance of the town, its pubs, and walking paths. We had the studio 1 - great views and terrace. Loved the chickens and geese wandering around. A delight!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Fellside for two nights. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing and peaceful stay in the heart of the Lake District in very good accomodation.
We stayed in studio 2 which was very spacious with two single beds joined together, but the sheets went over the gap so it wasn't a problem. The carpet was a bit rough but that was my only complaint. The breakfasts were lovely and the bathroom had a great shower.
Don't go there expecting to watch TV as the reception up there is very poor...not surprising really.
The Queens Head pub in the village was superb and a good recommendation.
I would recommend Fellside Studios to all ages.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaidstoneHelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

A cross between selfcatering and b&b. Studio was modern and clean with great views down the valley. Lovely breakfast delivered to your door at your requested time. Option to prepare your own meals in the well equipped kitchenette. The weather was pretty bad so it was great to be able to retreat to your own space when you wanted (I find a lot of b&b's don't want you around during the day). Lots of information about walks and local amenities available from the friendly owners. I would also recommend the QueensHead pub in the village.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mood64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Studio 1 is at the back of the property with smashing views. The room is clean, and has eveything you need. (You could live here for a short while if need be.)The shower is small, but has plenty of hot water. Eco-friendly soap/shower gel/washing up liquid as well as fair-trade tea/coffee/biscuits are thoughtfully provided. All fixtures and fittings are from a well-known Scandinavian furniture chain, so if modern is your thing, then you will like it here. No chintz!! Bring slippers as the carpet is scratchy! The portable TV is too far away to watch from the armchairs, but you could always read the coffee-table books, browse the basket full of tourist info, listen to the radio or play the wooden games that are included in the studio. I cooked a few bacon sandwiches on the posh cooker. The fridge was big enough for a weekend's worth of food.
I would recommend staying here. It is situated down a quiet lane; there is a pub within walking distance, and you are only a few minutes drive from Windermere and Ambleside. It was lovely to have breakfast brought to the room each morning. Monica and Brian are good hosts. They say hello when they see you and leave you to get on with your own thing. There is a good feeling about this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nancyshhdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

We could not have been happier with our rooms at Fellside Studios. I went there with two friends and we spent five days, using Troutbeck as our base for gentle walks and exploration of the Lake District.

None of us can drive so we took a train to Winderemere (track work delayed the journey from Manchester by several hours) and we stopped off at the fabulous Booth's supermarket next to the train station to stock up for the week. We found all the ingredients we needed to cook Asian and Italian food and we were delighted to find the kitchen at Fellside Studios so well equipped.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the studios are nicely decorated, clean and fantastically quiet. I stay in many top-notch hotels and rarely find rooms as well thought out as those at Fellside Studios. Each room has reading lamps by each bed, curtains that really do block out the light, plenty of shower gel, an ample supply of tea bags and biscuits, maps and guidebooks and books about the Lake District , a nice collection fo DVDs and central heating that really works. In short, Fellside Studios has everything you need.

A word about the differences between the two rooms--the room with two single beds has a separate kitchen and faces the road. The one with the (somewhat small) double bed is really a bed sit/studio with the kitchen area in the same room. This room faces the hills and has a little terrace to eat on and I think gets a bit more light. Both have modern bathrooms, the one in the room with two beds struck me as little bigger.

We had a few tiny niggles which were addressed by Monica and Brian immediately--a tv remote that didn't work very well, a DVD that was very scratched and a bit of a problem with the hot water in one of the bathrooms. Monica and Brian got on the case straight away. They are very kind and offered us a lift to the train station and to go out to lunch but they are not overpowering and do respect the privacy of their guests. Their maps are far better than the ones sold in bookshops and they went out of their way to get information for us about things to do in the area. The wi-fi works around the front of the house, where the room with two beds is.

We loved eating dinner at the Queen's Head. I'd chooose that over the Mortal Man any day. Holehird gardens are gorgeous and worth visiting as is the Yeoman's cottage in Troutbeck. We also enjoyed tea at Holbeck Ghyll and walks to Ambleside (the easy path not the hard one).

We really like cooking our own food and we loved the quiet and privacy. Am sure we will return despite the rain.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank newyorkanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2007

We stayed at Fellside studios for two nights midweek in October had had a great time. We stayed in studio two which is perfectly appointed, comfortable, warm, stylish and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfy, there is lots of books with lovely pictures of the area and a useful map of walks from your front door - perfect for carless novice walkers like us.
Brian and Monica are great hosts, serving us a lovely big pot of tea and homemade cake on arrival and a delicious breakfast to our door every day. There is a choice of things for breakfast including fresh eggs from the chickens and the food was good quality and mostly organic .Monica was very kind when we burnt popcorn in the kitchen and welded it to the bottom of one of the pans. We were given a lift back to Windermere station at the end of our stay which was a huge help as it made it an easy place to reach by public transport.
Troutbeck village is lovely, in the middle of gorgeous countryside with 2 nice pubs and a little shop. It is an easy 15 minute walk to some of the most beautiful views I have ever seen. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank higpig82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2007

My friend and I stayed in the smaller of the two studios for a week last May. It was truly a delightful place: the only sounds were lambs baaing, birdsong and the occasional tolling of church bells from the valley below. The flat is well equipped for self-catering with *new and modern* cookware and utensils. The décor is high-modern, with repro-Eames chairs and ‘flying-saucer-style’ light fixtures. Interesting! Everything is spotlessly clean, well-maintained and of good quality. Great hikes begin right on the doorstep, and Ambleside and Windermere are only a short drive away. There are also the two pubs in Troutbeck that are worth a walk to for dinner. We particularly looked forward to breakfast which arrived on a pretty tray every morning.

Overall, Fellside was a great little find!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troutbeck hotels
0.1 mi away
High Fold Guest House
High Fold Guest House
#2 of 5 in Troutbeck
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mortal Man
The Mortal Man
#3 of 5 in Troutbeck
662 reviews
1 mi away
Broadoaks Country House
Broadoaks Country House
#1 of 5 in Troutbeck
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fellside Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fellside Studios

Address: Near Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Fellside Studios Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing