We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Gem”
Review of Three Shires Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Three Shires Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Found this place by accident - what a great little place - we visit the lakes twice a month all year round and will put this place top of our list.

It has BT WIFI which is fantastic - you can sit here on your laptop or tablet while enjoying fantastic food and great drinks. You must visit this venu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    79
    22
    13
    2
See reviews for
57
132
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Was staying in the lakes b&b looking for somewhere to eat booked the three shires at the last minute, glad we did . Staff were really nice and not stuck up we both ordered the salmon starter and I had lamb my husband had steak with cheese and Parma ham . Must I say my husband is extremely fussy about his food and he was well impressed with it . I have never tasted food like it excellent place compliments to the chef .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzyraskal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Three Shires is a wonderful find. Cosy and unpretentious yet very comfortable with excellent food. We walked on both days from the pub and had a marvellous walks - depending on the weather you can stay low or go high. The staff were very helpful and arranged for our boots and clothes to be dried overnight.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Little to add to my previous piece and those of other reviewers. Comfortable. Inexpensive. Excellent portions of fresh Lakeland produce at dinner and breakfast. You'll either love or hate the banoffee Eton mess (we loved it but were glad not to have to count the calories). And the service at breakfast was much improved.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward1951S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
three-shires-inn, Owner at Three Shires Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again. We will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were turned away soon after 8pm (although orders are taken until 8.45), despite the fact that members of the party had eaten there most nights of the week with other friends and a considerable amount had been put across the counter. Staff were chatty and friendly enough on slower nights mid week with the take and a tip in view, but were only too ready to refuse service when they had a booking from a large party. Not impressed , let the buyer beware.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
three-shires-inn, Owner at Three Shires Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
We are sorry you were not able to get a table with us last Friday evening. Our always friendly staff did explain that we were fully booked with larger parties who were all dining after 8 p.m. As a small country Inn with only 2 staff cooking we are limited to the number of meals we can serve at any time. On Friday we were still sending food out at 10pm. to those who had booked.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your earlier visits and are sorry you did not see the prominent notices which advise making a reservation for dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Three days in Little Langdale staying at this small family hotel was perfection. The food was locally sourced and excellent. The menu offers a well thought out and interesting choice . Beer and a whisky (from a very wide choice) just what were called for after long walks. Rooms comfortable and well furnished. Staff cheerful and friendly.Views stunning, but above all the peace and the quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the city or its suburbs

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

stayed 2 nights at this great little inn. room was cosy and clean with side views of hillside and terrace garden. bar well stocked with whiskey and real ales. breakfast very hearty and evening meal was good (and chef very accommodating for my hubby who is veggie) and not too pricey for this part of world. best of all is the absolute quiet and stunning views over the valley. hotel guests can sit on the verandah at the front, sip a beer and watch the world go by. Bliss. Some great walks nearby and staff friendly and helpful with walking advice. would happily return

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Langdale
2.5 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Shires Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Shires Inn

Property: Three Shires Inn
Address: | Ambleside, Little Langdale LA22 9NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Little Langdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Langdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Shires Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Three Shires Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Shires Hotel Little Langdale
The 3 Shires Inn
Three Shires Inn Little Langdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing