We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!!”
Review of Golden Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Lion
Ranked #2 of 5 Maryport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I travelled down to Maryport with my mum as a present for Mother's Day as that is where she was born and lived as a child. We arrived at the hotel and parked in the small but adequate carpark. We then checked in and were shown to our room. The room was a good size for me and my mum with lovely decor and en-suite. The room had everything we needed including tea/coffee marking facilities, freeview tv, hairdryer, free wi-fi, toilitries and heating/air-con system. We also had a lovely view of the harbour.
As my mum was born there we then went out walking all afternoon and visited a few of the local pubs which were all very reasonably priced and within short walking distance.
We then went for our dinner in the night at the hotel bistro. There was a great choice of starters and mains and the food was delicious and portion sizes are more than generous. The bar area was friendily also with a good atmosphere.
After a very comfortable sleep in our double bed we then went down to breakfast served between 8-10 on a weekend. There was a choice of cereals, jams, fresh fruit and yoghurts or a full cumbrian breakfast. Me and my mum opted for the cumbrian breakfast which was absolutely delicious, generous portion of 2 thick slices of bacon, 2 eggs (cooked how you prefer), cumberland sausage, beans, mushrooms and toast (i asked for mine without tomato and black pudding) and a pot of tea or coffee with the option of juice.
I honestly have no complaints about this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Maryport for its spectacular loaction. I will definately be returning soon with the rest of the family.

Room Tip: No lift in the hotel so request a lower floor room if needed. Our room was on the 3rd floor, room 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSB1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GL-Management, Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad your mother and you enjoyed your time with us. All of our staff try their best to make your time with us special. We have a delicious new menu starting in April with even more fantastic Cumbrian fare for you to try. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

John

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    21
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
24
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Fantastic spot on Maryport harbour with loads of walks on the doorstep. Had the best cooked breakfast I have ever had with really tasty Cumbrian sausages and thick bacon. The staff are friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend Maryport for a holiday and the hotel as a base.

Room Tip: My room which was No8 could do with a blackout blind to block street lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewportPagnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GL-Management, Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We have taken on board your comments regarding the street lights and will be addressing this issue, thanks for bringing it to our attention. We hope to see you again soon.

John

Maanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

After seeing Julie hesmondhalgh at ewanrigg community centre in the black roses play ,which was excellent ,three of us went for supper at the golden lion .the food was gorgeous ,fresh ,hot ,and plentiful ,we all had something different and we're not disappointed ,will definitely be returning .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden L, Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. We have a fantastic new menu starting in April with lots of new dishes for you to try.

John Dunlop
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I attended a party held at the Golden Lion Hotel recently and feel I must write a favourable review.  Philip and his staff  adopt a very professional yet friendly  approach to ensure all is as requested. Nothing is too much trouble to any of them.  The table was tastefully and beautifully decorated, the food simply wonderful and the service exemplary. All the guests were delighted and many who hadn't eaten here before have promised to return. 
I HAVE eaten here many times and have NEVER been disappointed. 
Many thanks to Philip and his Staff for a fabulous night. 

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandora219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Excellent accommodation, welcome, service and food for the cost. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.
Location in the town is ideal looking over the sea front with shops,pubs and restaurants all on the doorstep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headmoresk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

~ I'd reached the awful age of 65 (nightmare!) and decided to have a special family get together and meal. Friends had recommended the Golden Lion, Maryport, so on their advice I decided to book their restaurant for my special evening, Saturday 26th October 2013. My eldest son, and sister Mary (plus husband) travelled up from Preston/Bath and booked in for the night. It was their (sister Mary) very first stay in Maryport. The evening was so brilliant. The Hotel was immaculate and the staff extremely friendly and welcoming .. I was delighted how everything went. Everyone had a great time, and the staff gave us as much time as we wanted .. As a result, several of my friends and relatives vow to return. I'm going to go there more often for meals, etc .. Someone ordered a starter for two, at £9.99p. I defy anyone to eat a normal full meal after this .. It looked so delicious. Can I recommend The Golden Lion for the quality of service, cooking and a place to stay? Absolutely.. I promise you will NOT be disappointed. I'll attach some of my photos of the evening, and one I took earlier in the year when trying to decide on a venue for my special do .. Oh .. One of my guests told me that they had researched the history of The Golden Lion, and had discovered that Charles Dickens and George Stephenson (the Stephenson's Rocket Steam train inventor) had both stopped there in the past .. Fancy that!

Room Tip: ~ If possible, ask for a room with Westward views over the wonderful harbour side. You can watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here for a short break and will return . The staff were all excellent and friendly. Our room was spotless , modern and comfortable with harbour views. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the food but I have to say the chips were poor. Breakfast was one of the best cooked breakfasts I have ever had. Everything was hot and freshly cooked. Well done to all at The Golden Lion.

Room Tip: Harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryport
4.1 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.9 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
2.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion

Property: Golden Lion
Address: Senhouse Street, Maryport CA15 6AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Maryport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Golden Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Maryport, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing