We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Golden Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Lion
Ranked #1 of 6 Maryport B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

With friendly staff, beautiful, modern, sparkling clean rooms this is a super hotel close to many amenities. The owner is so pleasant and the food is delicious and, with typical Cumbrian hospitality , the breakfasts are enormous!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but ask for room on lower floors if you aren't good with stairs. (There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineamymcfeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GL-Management, Front Office Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to meet you.

Kind Regards

The Golden Lion Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    23
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
27
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed a couple of nights at the Golden Lion for the maryport blues festival. The hotel is in the perfect location for this event. Our room (nr 7) was up a few flights of stairs, so not really ideal if one has mobility issues. The room itself was spotless, and looked like it was recently renovated. The bathroom was modern and faced the harbour. Because of the festival, yes, there was a lot of noise, but we could tolerate that (we had the air con on so it drowned out some of the noise) The only issue we had was that the air con didn't do the job an air con should, however, it was an exceptionally hot weekend, so not entirely the hotel's fault. I think fans would have been more effective. It was a relief to go downstairs into the bar area, where it was comfortable and cool. The breakfast - this was excellent. Ok, not a HUGE selection of cereals, but the cooked breakfast was to a very high standard, and good quality ingredients were used. Staff were really friendly. I would recommend this hotel and will be planning to stay again for next year's festival.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chricoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GL-Management, Front Office Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us during the Blues Festival and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind Regards

The Golden Lion Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The owner and everyone here are lovely and the position is excellent ....high on the side of the hill overlooking the water.
However, someone was smoking in the bar area and that was the only place where the wi-fi worked...so was rather unpleasant. I ended up sitting on the staircase where it was quiet and no smoke. Very noisy outside from party goers, but we were there on a Saturday night. Food was ok.....very limited if you like healthy food. Small but comfortable room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyable stay in the Golden Lion . Room was comfortable with everything required. There is on site parking, there is a bar very close to the parking site. We didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast which was good . Close by the Harbour and Marina with plenty bars and restaurants close by. A short walk to the shops .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NEMACKAY1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GL-Management, Front Office Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards
The Golden Lion Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for one night at this hotel where nothing was too much trouble from the owner to the bar staff.
Good size, clean room with adequate facilities.
Although did not eat in the restuarant at night the food & menu looked great and the restuarant was popular and busy.
Nice views of the Moray firth from our bedroom and good general location for coastal, cumbria base.
Would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 04PaulJ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GL-Management, Front Office Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good Morning Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
The Golden Lion Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A first visit but certainly the first of many. The restaurant at the Golden Lion deserves greater patronage. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The waiter who took our order was friendly and efficient - and knowledgeable about the food - he enthusiastically described the Lamb Henry which was delicious.
The black pudding and sausage stack starter was wonderful - as was my partner 's roast beef.
What sets this restaurant apart is the care in the preparation and presentation. Why should we be surprised that both mains came with different vegetables to suit the meat.

The wine list is small but interesting - and reasonably priced. We were able to choose from the set Sunday lunch menu and also mix with the a la carte menu. A request which has thrown grander restaurants into turmoil.

Be prepared to wait for each course - but when it comes you are certain is it freshly cooked.

The owner of this small hotel is justly proud of his establishment and his staff.
.We will certainly be spreading the word

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GL-Management, Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Good Afternoon Robin,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to the Golden Lion. We have a great team here both front of house and in our kitchen and I shall pass on your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Wonderful evening sampling the launch of the new menu.Delicious food - spoilt for choice.Service and attention to detail were excellent.We were given a very warm welcome and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience. Will definitely be returning and would have no hesitation in recommending The Golden Lion to anyone looking for a first class eating experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyndanjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryport
4.9 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
141 reviews
5.2 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
275 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
641 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion

Property: Golden Lion
Address: Senhouse Street, Maryport CA15 6AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Maryport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Maryport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Golden Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Maryport, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing