We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little aquarium”

Lake District Coast Aquarium
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Maryport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good little aquarium”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Nice little aquarium with some great exhibitions.

Quayside cafe serves fantastic food.

The family ticket to include a meal is superb value for money.

Not the biggest attraction in the world but clean tidy and exellent value.

Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    108
    32
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rip off overpriced for whats inside should do 2prices for winter/summer I think”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Place a bit smaller than I thought was a bit miserable my 2year old son hated it we had to leave 5minutes after paying but waited till he was asleep and went back to give it another go whilst he was asleep,biggest waste of money unless its s nice day to make use of outdoor facilities too,didn't take long to go around the actual aquarium wasn't impressed think it would be maybe worth it in summer but way way overpriced for the aquarium alone won't be back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JJsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenCockermouth, Owner at Lake District Coast Aquarium, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
I was sorry to hear that you had such a poor time at our aquarium. It does happen every now and again that very young children ( we do not charge for 2 year olds) take fright at the sight and sound of the fish displays and in such cases we always offer a full refund to the parents, but we have to be made aware of what has happened if staff have not observed it for themselves.
We know by most visitors' reactions that we have a greater variety of local sealife here on show than almost anywhere else in the UK, even if we do not compete on sheer size ( John Dory, Wolf fish, Jellyfish, baby rays,Lumpsuckers, octopus, Tope, etc) and so most visitors with an interest in nature are not disappointed. We have held our prices for more than three years reflecting how our visitors' incomes are still recession stretched and know that value for money here now has never been better. Ticket holders currently also get free access to a 14 hole crazy golf course and we also offer an extremely good value all inclusive ticket that includes admissions, anything from our cafe menu, golf or time on the radio control boats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice little aquarium”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stumbled across this by chance and as we love aquariums we had to go in. Nice tanks with a great variety of fish from around the world. Interesting talk by the staff at 'feeding' time. Particularly liked the Rays.

Kids play area and crazy golf also on site.

Little cafe provided a good range of simple fayre, but was nice to see gluten free options on the menu.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jace_gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Its nothing special but nice enough”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Well its ok. Its small but if you like fish you'll be in your element!
Entrance fees were fair but I could be in and out in minutes. There is quite alot to see and a 'touching' area where you can feel sea anemones, starfish, etc.

There's a room where small children can draw, play with toys, read books. We must've stayed under an hour. We didn't go to the cafe on this occasion as I've been before and from experience its nothing special. We had an ice cream from the van outside instead.

You can get tickets for crazy golf next door with your entrance fee. That was good but didnt hold the attention of our toddler. Massive pirate play park that is free but older kids were running riot and parents just ignored them. I witnessed a little girl fall about 6ft onto her head...so its not the safest place for toddlers unless you stay with them.

It was still worth going considering the park and crazy golf are next door. Just don't go in school holidays as it'll be too busy.

Helpful?
Thank GannyMagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good day out for all the family”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Almost the perfect place to visit, especially for a rainy day. There's something for everyone in the aquarium with the added interest of focusing on marine life in the Solway - this makes it a bit more personal to the area.
The cafe is good quality, decent food and big portions though sometimes you have to repeat yourself, depending who is on duty. It's an occasional glitch in the service but doesn't often happen.
The only downside is they have started to expand the aquarium into new areas, which takes away some of their outside space.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake District Coast Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Lake District Coast Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing