We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice family day out”

Lake District Coast Aquarium
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Maryport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

had a lovely day out with children ranging from 4 to 15 years old they all really enjoyed the exhibits, plenty to see and do and very educational.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    103
    32
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Full of fascinating exhibits.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

On arrival we were greeted with a smile and warm welcome.
We were furnished with details about the aquarium.
The exhibits were labelled clearly giving as much detail you might need.
An altogether fascinating visit which we can highly recommend .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MillersBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Lake District Coast Aquarium is an averaged sized aquarium, with a fair variety of marine life from the Cumbrian coastline. It is interesting to visit & get a closer look at the local marine life, specially for children who greatly enjoy the possibility of petting the fish. The cafe has a decent selection of food, the prices are okay and our meals tasted good. The Aquarium also has a well-stocked gift shop. Due to the location you can grab an ice cream afterwards and head for a walk through the harbour to the nearby beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MiniMoo404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We visited with our two young children 1 & 2 years old, they enjoyed it as did my wife and I. Could take the buggy round and I think the entrance fee represents value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It's okay....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Not bad value, but a little small and getting a little tired in many places... Don't think you are visiting somewhere on a par with The Deep, as you will be disappointed...

The family ticket includes a round of crazy golf which in reality took longer to go around then the place itself! There is also a good outside play area at the back which keeps the kids quiet for another hour or so..

The staff are friendly too, which is always a plus at places like this..

If it's raining and you need to keep the kids entertained it will probably do the trick!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Parners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake District Coast Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Lake District Coast Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing