We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little museum lots to see”

Maryport Maritime Museum
Ranked #5 of 10 things to do in Maryport
Attraction details
oldham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great little museum lots to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

very interesting with much to view packed into relatively small space. Made to feel lovely and welcome by the lady on the desk who encouraged us to sign the visitors book and chatted with us for some time. would thoroughly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating small museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fascinating small quirky local museum of maritime related history and artifacts near the harbour. A must as part of a day's visit to Maryport, but manned by volunteers so not always open.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
130 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent little museum, excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We visited on a beautiful day and had the museum to ourselves as everyone else was outside enjoying the sunshine while it lasted. We were able to monopolise the volunteer guide and her knowledge was very impressive, and what she didn't know she was able to quickly find from their associated small library. It covers the maritime history of Maryport from the harbours small beginnings in the early 1700's with the coal industry through to the present and the associated ups and downs of the town's fortunes. It also covers the various ships and shipping companies associated with Maryport including the illfated Titanic of the White Star line.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ColinLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Plenty to see and read”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This museum complements the Senhouse Roman Museum in presenting the relative "recent" history which is based around the port.
As with many of these small museums manned by enthusiastic volunteers, the visit is made even more worthwhile by being able to chat and ask questions.
There are not any fish in this museum ;-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PuppyMerrythought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Not a lot to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We visited Maryport on a cold day in March so we were looking for interesting things to do. This museum did not have a lot to offer. We were only in there for half an hour and we were not enthused by the exhibits.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank UlverstonJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maryport Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to Maryport Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing