We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Time Lucky”
Review of Sailor's Return

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maryport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sailor's Return
Ranked #4 of 6 Maryport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was my 3rd stop at the 'sailors' and it was just as I remembered. A little dated but very Warm and friendly. The rooms are very tidy and clean with comfy beds(wish I knew where she bought the Matress !) and with a TV in each room. The view from the front rooms is a picture post card, (so don't forget to ask for front room when booking).
Stayed 3 nights and at still only £20 per person with full English it represents great value for money and makes a perfect base for exploring Cumbria and the nearby Lake District.
This was my 3rd stay but I am sure not my last.

Room Tip: Ask for a Front Room for great views
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Growwithyourjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Sailor's Return
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Spent a couple of nights here and came away happy. It is a B&B over a pub and it does not pretend to be otherwise. The decor was dated and some aspects did look ready for a refurb.
Fortunately though the atmosphere was as dated as the decor. It was still warm and friendly with a homely feel, nothing corporate or cold about this place.
The view from our window over the bay was lovely, the beds were new & comfy. Breakfast was very good. Full English accompanied by toast and Marmalade.
At £20 per person per night I rated it good value and will be back later in the year.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking bay
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Growwithyourjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Back in Maryport again, and loved every minute of it. The B&B was difficult to get a reservation as it is really full through the week what with workers, travellers, reps etc. These people know a good deal when they find it.
We were back for my wifes XXth Birthday (can't tell or she'd shoot me ;o) The team were stiil the same, which must be a positive sign, head cook and bottle washer/owner Moree, Irene "The Serving Wench", Jinty "The Scrubber" and Johhny "The Gopher" (poor lad).

This team could run The Sailor's with their eyes closed, they have been there that long but are NEVER complacent. The beers in the bar are some of the cheapest in Maryport and they even have Irn-Bru and McEwans Export YIPPEEEEEEeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. The place is an absolute sell out on a Sunday lunchtime, and I will tell you why. The BIGGEST plate of Half and Half (Chips and Rice) with chicken curry you will ever see in your life and at £4.50 is the biggest steal since the Great Train Robbery. The whole menu is £4.50 for the old favourites like fish n chips, steak pie with chips and two veg.
Note, this is NOT an overpriced posh nosh place, this is good quality, box standard food and plenty of it at a fair price. You cannot ask for more.

The B&B upstairs does need some cash spent, but is a great sleep. Whisper this one (the bed in room one is AMAZING), but STILL at £20 a skull for a great sleep and a HUGEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEeeeeeeeeeeeee fry up is the second biggest steal since the Great Train Robbery (See above for the lunchtime menu prices, now that is the biggest steal)

The staff are awesome, kind, friendly and caring and The Natives are really friendly.
So, to sum up:
1) Great Value B&B
2) Great Sleep
3) Great Breakfast
4) Great value menu.
5) Great staff
6) Great Local Yokels.

What more can a person want at TWENTY POUNDS/person?

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1, the bed is to die for and it looks directly into the sea (mind you, all the rooms do...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rabt1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This Pub come B&B is right on the sea, the view is absolutely STUNNING. The landlady (Moree) is a wonderful lady and no issue is a problem. This is a basic,not en suite, clean B&B, good food and the breakfast is superb with as much toast, butter, marmalade and jam as you can eat (ps the coffee is magic). The fry-up is all locally sourced and the sausages are BRILL. The bar is beautiful and full of history, right down to the portholes of The Ark Royal, the prices in the bar are excellent. All in all, a basic, clean B&B and at £20 a skull you cannot argue. We are heading back there next weekend.
It should be re-named Rab's Return

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rabt1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryport
5.0 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#1 of 6 in Maryport
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ellenbank Hotel
Ellenbank Hotel
#5 of 6 in Maryport
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rafferty's Bistro Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Brookside
Brookside
#2 of 2 in Allonby
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailor's Return? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailor's Return

Address: 17 King Street, Maryport CA15 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Maryport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Maryport
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Sailor's Return Maryport, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing