We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Impressed”

West Coast Indoor Karting
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Popped down as we were on a holiday break. Saw a sign to say about posting on thoughts on here. So here's my opinion... Very disappointed with how pretty much everything is run. Straight away found it uninviting with no staff members there to welcome customers. Actually having to go looking for someone to tend to us.
Customer service was very low level, very little chat from members of staff. On the site it mentions different prices for adults for different length tracks. We were just told "its £22 for 25 minutes" in center, with no choice being given. The briefing was also a let down. Having worked as a Marshall for over 6.5 years I think there needs to be a higher level of safety briefing.
The karts weren't in the greatest condition, and I'd highly recommend buying seat inserts for smaller drivers. Those seat have left a scrape and bruises on my back. The marshal spent most of his time looking at his phone screen.
Even moving cadet karts onto the circuit to prepare for the next session, whilst we were driving.
Overall, there is a lot to learn. Ranging from customer service, to safety and organisation.
And to top it off, upon leaving I purchased a bottle of juice from the vending machine. Looked at the bottle a few days later as I was finishing the juice and found it was 3 months out of date!
Definitely the worst center I've driven at, coming second Worst that I've been in only to Atherton Karting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcoastkarts, Owner at West Coast Indoor Karting, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi, we take all reviews very seriously especially a very negative one like this that comes from someone who works for a competitor . Firstly all our sessions are pre booked and we have not the resources to have a person waiting to greet people who haven't booked. The marshall in question would have been servicing karts in the workshop while there was nothing on the track, was it really a negative? Secondly our marshall on that day is a very chatty person and would only have been less so if he sensed the people in question didn't seem chatty, which is fine, some people are like that. Thirdly our safety briefing is very comprehensive and our safety record is exemplary. Now to the karts, everyone who drives them says they are the best they have driven including the NKA inspector (national karting association) who always comments that our karts are the best in the business.The marshall in question was wrong to be on his phone and he has been reprimanded and as for the bottle of drink, we would have gladly changed it for another had you pointed it out on the day, instead of checking it after 3 days and adding it as another negative. we will be contacting trip adviser as to the rules regarding negative reviews from competitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    6
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fab,Fast and Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We took our son and a group of his friends for a fantastic Karting session at West Coast Karting. Everyone had an amazing time which was added to by the more than helpful staff. Poor man who helped our 10 'more than enthusiastic`kids had the patience of a saint. Nothing was too much trouble and we were all made very welcome.Cant wait to go again. Thank you so very much for making ours sons birthday special.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumfriesshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“rev up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Kids (8,10&13) took there Dad for fathers day and they all had a blast Dad included! The track was fun and staff was friendly. The overall`s were clean and in great condition and the you get a balaclava for under the helmet which is very hygienic! Got £5.00 off vouchers so will deffo be back soon :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude staff don't care at all won't help”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Karts good fun but staff attitude shockingly bad I paid 200 pounds for 2 races for the family rude rude rude
Go Rookin house farm instead ....

Helpful?
7 Thank jonathan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great occasion,never forget my grand prix.I came 3rd out of 5 but got the fastest lap.I'm smiling about it right now,lol.
Fantastic experience,a must try!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kboozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Coast Indoor Karting also viewed

 

Been to West Coast Indoor Karting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing