We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made friends with most of the village!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cross Keys Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I didn't chose Cross Keys. I was just put there by the company that I visited for a week.
And that, I am soo thankful for. The hotel is in the southern Lake District and the little city of Milnthorpe is at its very best in late May. Beatrix Potter used to live in the area and her books and illustrations with rolling hills, little rivers, trees and flowers seem to influence the people living here.
The landlord and his wife and the five girls in the bar/restaurant made my stay pleasant and memorable.

The hotel is in a building that probably has been there since fifteenth or sixteenth century and extended/modernized over the years. Winding staircases and corridors - as always in real British Inns - but very well functioning in all respect. From the large selection of Ales and Lagers in the bar to the well-equipped bathroom with generous towels and frotté gowns.

The weather was nice but not hot, so I do not know what the rooms will be like in the summer. But surroundings are quiet and I slept with windows open all nigts.

The real surprise was how the locals treated a "damn furriner" like me. I was immediatley accepted and had great fun every night. I also visited the local Cricket Club and learned "all" about Cricket. I realize that I didn't - but I sure felt like I did.

Great stay at a decent cost. Will go there again. Andthen my wife will be there, too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skogsgurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

My partner and i went away for a few days and stayed in this lovely hotel,we were absolutely delighted with the room,it was immaculate and the bathroom was lovely and spacious,it made our break special.The owners were really helpful and friendly and always had time for a chat and the hotel itself was lovely,my partner was very impressed with the Real Ales on sale.All the staff were friendly and we cannot find anything that was not first class.We are planning on another visit next year,for a bit longer,maybe when the Beer Festival is on :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patlovesleeds H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed for 1 night very recently at The Cross Keys as I was visiting family/friends nearby. The room was immaculate and very spacious. The bathroom was spotless and equally spacious.

Breakfast was excellent with a choice of fruit, cereal and a full English to your liking.

Although it was a brief visit I would recommend to anyone visiting this beautiful part of the world. I hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cosmicgirl-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Very happy with my stay hear rooms were very clean,bathroom spacious and you even get a bath robe and lots of little added extras you don't get in most hotels throughout your room would recommend a stay hear

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chrisrskem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

I stay here all year round on business, Ian and Sandra provide everthing that you need at a price that is realistic. The food is nice, the rooms very clean and well appionted. Location is perfect for the Lakes, and the M6. A Large free carpark is Also provided. What more can you want.?

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mikegmikeg1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My wife and I, stayed there on a recent trip to the Westmorland Show, to be honest the main issue here is not the Hotel but the owners/managers a husband and wife team that would not be out of place in a 70s TV comedy. Her rude, offensive and scruffy. Him stressed, inapt and scruffy. I was informed by one of the very good members of the Bar staff of which there where many and the delightful girl who served breakfast in the morning, that there had been recent problems with the Chef who had recently resigned and left them, some what in the lurch. However that would or could not explain the wife's obnoxious behavior, when I explained the lamb chops I had ordered well done arrived with a pulse!! Or why when we left the next morning he still wanted to charge for them!! I'm sorry we won't me staying there again until there is under new Management sign put up outside.
I

Room Tip: Hope you not checked in by the Management..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewBC2619WU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Cross Keys is a good budget hotel; it would perhaps benefit from some investment, but you get what you pay for. There's a warren of rooms above a busy bar and mine was comfortable enough, looking out over the main crossroads in the village. I thought the busy A6 might keep me awake but in fact there wasn't a great deal of traffic on it, and the double glazing did its job well. There are some unusual touches in the rooms; a bathrobe, which was nice, a good selection of quality shampoo and soap, and on the desk, a writing set and a pair of scissors - somebody is clearly thinking outside the box.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnthorpe
5.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,056 reviews
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
2.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Burton M6 Northbound
7 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.7 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys Hotel

Address: 1 Park Road, Milnthorpe LA7 7AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
Price Range: £53 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross Keys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is surrounded by a wealth of history, Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty, such as Leighton Moss, and a wide range of visitor attractions Milnthorpe has a long history - its busy Friday street market in the Square dates from 1334. The village's heyday was from the middle of the eighteenth to the middle of the nineteenth centuries when many of the buildings in the centre of the village (now a conservation area) were completed including the present Cross Keys Hotel. When the turnpike road between Kendal and Lancaster was constructed through the village nearly two hundred years ago Milnthorpe became an important staging post and the Cross Keys gained a fine reputation as a coaching inn with stabling for 36 horses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Cross Keys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing