We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't follow the Kendal Crowd, try Milnthorpe”

The Cross Keys Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cross Keys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't follow the Kendal Crowd, try Milnthorpe”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I have recently completed an End-to-End cycle ride, and this is one of the B&Bs I stayed in. My plan was to stay in privately owned facilities, rather than chains.

The Cross Keys is easy to find on the main cross roads in Milnthorpe, and an easy alternative to Kendal, just a few miles up the road. I had single occupancy of a double, with a huge bathroom and a good comfortable bed. The windows were old style sash, but double glazed, and a little bit of a faff to open. Breakfast coffee is from a Kenco cartridge system, but if these are the only two things I can find fault with, you will know that it was good quality and good value for money. Don’t follow the crowd and stay in Kendal, unless you have to, have a look at this one instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RMJ1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    41
    19
    11
    11
See reviews for
21
53
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is a very small town, and the hotel is right on a corner giving ideal access to plenty of areas of local charm to either walk to or drive to. The room is an excellent size with king size bed, wardrobe, cupboard space. Tea and coffee facilities, with a proper kettle so you can boil water for whatever drink you require. Quaint touch, also had chocolate and horlicks drinks in the room. The cups were small but the staff were eager to help and gave me two large mugs to use. The wifi we thought was going to be a problem as we couldn't gain access in our room, quick call and the owner went to check this out and promptly called me back after he had fixed it. Only complaint IF one had to find one, was we had a room on the top floor (3) and with no lift, husband had to make a few trips to car and back with our bags (I of course waited in the room with my feet up drinking coffee) definitely come again, the hotel also being a pub had a vast array of beers on tap and the food, eaten either in the restaurant or in the bar lounge was excellent, amazing to find haddock with poached egg, bread and butter for breakfast, very nicely cooked fresh.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbergsdal
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I didn't chose Cross Keys. I was just put there by the company that I visited for a week.
And that, I am soo thankful for. The hotel is in the southern Lake District and the little city of Milnthorpe is at its very best in late May. Beatrix Potter used to live in the area and her books and illustrations with rolling hills, little rivers, trees and flowers seem to influence the people living here.
The landlord and his wife and the five girls in the bar/restaurant made my stay pleasant and memorable.

The hotel is in a building that probably has been there since fifteenth or sixteenth century and extended/modernized over the years. Winding staircases and corridors - as always in real British Inns - but very well functioning in all respect. From the large selection of Ales and Lagers in the bar to the well-equipped bathroom with generous towels and frotté gowns.

The weather was nice but not hot, so I do not know what the rooms will be like in the summer. But surroundings are quiet and I slept with windows open all nigts.

The real surprise was how the locals treated a "damn furriner" like me. I was immediatley accepted and had great fun every night. I also visited the local Cricket Club and learned "all" about Cricket. I realize that I didn't - but I sure felt like I did.

Great stay at a decent cost. Will go there again. Andthen my wife will be there, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skogsgurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton Latimer, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My partner and i went away for a few days and stayed in this lovely hotel,we were absolutely delighted with the room,it was immaculate and the bathroom was lovely and spacious,it made our break special.The owners were really helpful and friendly and always had time for a chat and the hotel itself was lovely,my partner was very impressed with the Real Ales on sale.All the staff were friendly and we cannot find anything that was not first class.We are planning on another visit next year,for a bit longer,maybe when the Beer Festival is on :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patlovesleeds H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed for 1 night very recently at The Cross Keys as I was visiting family/friends nearby. The room was immaculate and very spacious. The bathroom was spotless and equally spacious.

Breakfast was excellent with a choice of fruit, cereal and a full English to your liking.

Although it was a brief visit I would recommend to anyone visiting this beautiful part of the world. I hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmicgirl-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Very happy with my stay hear rooms were very clean,bathroom spacious and you even get a bath robe and lots of little added extras you don't get in most hotels throughout your room would recommend a stay hear

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chrisrskem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

I stay here all year round on business, Ian and Sandra provide everthing that you need at a price that is realistic. The food is nice, the rooms very clean and well appionted. Location is perfect for the Lakes, and the M6. A Large free carpark is Also provided. What more can you want.?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mikegmikeg1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnthorpe
0.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
#2 of 2 in Milnthorpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys Hotel

Property: The Cross Keys Hotel
Address: 1 Park Road, Milnthorpe LA7 7AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross Keys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is surrounded by a wealth of history, Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty, such as Leighton Moss, and a wide range of visitor attractions Milnthorpe has a long history - its busy Friday street market in the Square dates from 1334. The village's heyday was from the middle of the eighteenth to the middle of the nineteenth centuries when many of the buildings in the centre of the village (now a conservation area) were completed including the present Cross Keys Hotel. When the turnpike road between Kendal and Lancaster was constructed through the village nearly two hundred years ago Milnthorpe became an important staging post and the Cross Keys gained a fine reputation as a coaching inn with stabling for 36 horses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Cross Keys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing