We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cross Keys Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We (family of 3) arrived late in the evening following a 5 hour journey. The staff were ready and waiting for us and quickly showed us to our room. 1 double and 2 singles in our room along with a big bathroom. Decoration is a little chinsey but this fits perfectly in the hotel and it's surroundings. Beds were comfy. Great selection the following morning with hot and child options for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emma_k_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We've used this hotel several times, it's not the Ritz but it makes up with it it's friendlyness. It's a locals pub, as well as a hotel, so it friendly, handy for Lancaster and the Lakes and reasonably priced. Our only complaint is we don't like four poster beds, a daft idea.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gbf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Badly stained toilet, uncomfortable beds. Very little choice for breakfast. The only fruit was grapefruit segments. Packets of cereal. If you don't eat a cooked breakfast, tough as there was no continental choice even after asking, just toast.
If this is 4 star the AA needs to review it's grading system. I have stayed in much better B&Bs for less cost.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank sherRossOnWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A room a double and two single beds a huge bathroom with bath and shower easy check in and out. Everything aimed at making families welcome tea, coffee, hot chocolate in room,, breakfast options and an amazing bar. The bar has real ales at not ridiculous prices and a fab pool room with tv screen to watch the football(under 14 not allowed in this room) .All in all a great place for a family of four or couples .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zoemanchester99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here on A Saturday night as a relative was hosting a house warming BBQ and didn;t have enough room for everyone to stay over. On reflection I wish we had stayed for more than one night as I don't think we got to appreciate the hotel or it's surrounding areas. Check in was nice and quick and the staff were very friendly. We had a room on the top floor and it was equipped better than expected and was very comfortable. The little extras also made the stay such as dressing gowns in the room as well as all teh tourist books you could look at. Although we didn't have a meal in the hotel the food smelled delicious and we would definitely have eaten there if we weren't going out. The bar itself was lovely and had a good range of local ales to try. Breakfast the next morning was very good with plenty of choice.
Overall we would definitely visit again but this time to explore the area and the hotel/bar itself :-)

Room Tip: We were at the back and had no noise whatsoever :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

As we only booked a family room an hour before we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at the standard of accomodation here. It is nicer than their photos show. We were given a large clean room with comfy beds, ensuite and even a fan - great in this heatwave. It was easy to find, easy to park and central to the village with shops opposite and kids park at the back. No hassle and a good nights sleep was had by all - just what you need after a long day driving.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank lqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have visited this hotel on numerous occations and never been disapointed.The food is plain but excelent .The bedrooms are very well appointed and very roomy and above all else spolessly clean.The hotel is open all year round and does not charge extra for bank holidays.very good value for money

Barbara Davies .

Room Tip: All rooms are excelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BarbaraDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnthorpe
0.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
#1 of 2 in Milnthorpe
183 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,027 reviews
7.1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
555 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys Hotel

Address: 1 Park Road, Milnthorpe LA7 7AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
Price Range: £53 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross Keys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is surrounded by a wealth of history, Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty, such as Leighton Moss, and a wide range of visitor attractions Milnthorpe has a long history - its busy Friday street market in the Square dates from 1334. The village's heyday was from the middle of the eighteenth to the middle of the nineteenth centuries when many of the buildings in the centre of the village (now a conservation area) were completed including the present Cross Keys Hotel. When the turnpike road between Kendal and Lancaster was constructed through the village nearly two hundred years ago Milnthorpe became an important staging post and the Cross Keys gained a fine reputation as a coaching inn with stabling for 36 horses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your The Cross Keys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing