We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, simple home style food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cross Keys Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good location, simple home style food”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Pleasant clean pub/hotel. Good range of beers, TV sport on tap. Comfortable pub, good staff. Food is good value, simple food but not bad at all. One of the better places in the area and good place to stop in after a hard days walking. Locals are friendly as well to boot

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mr b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    41
    20
    11
    12
See reviews for
22
54
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was given a night B&B by a family member for myself and a friend and had a great night. The room was wonderful, a double bed plus a single bed. Room was lovely and warm and spacious. Food was great and breakfast was the best. Would recommend to any one who fancies a night away in cumbria ,,

Room Tip: We had a family room and there was plenty of room for 2 adults and a child or even 3 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Good car park, well stocked bar with ales and a scrumpy cider. Quick service from the bar, simple pub grub. Good value. Rooms clean and tidy. WIFI free to residents otherwise only £2. Staff friendly and willing to help.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We (family of 3) arrived late in the evening following a 5 hour journey. The staff were ready and waiting for us and quickly showed us to our room. 1 double and 2 singles in our room along with a big bathroom. Decoration is a little chinsey but this fits perfectly in the hotel and it's surroundings. Beds were comfy. Great selection the following morning with hot and child options for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emma_k_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We've used this hotel several times, it's not the Ritz but it makes up with it it's friendlyness. It's a locals pub, as well as a hotel, so it friendly, handy for Lancaster and the Lakes and reasonably priced. Our only complaint is we don't like four poster beds, a daft idea.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gbf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ross on wye
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Badly stained toilet, uncomfortable beds. Very little choice for breakfast. The only fruit was grapefruit segments. Packets of cereal. If you don't eat a cooked breakfast, tough as there was no continental choice even after asking, just toast.
If this is 4 star the AA needs to review it's grading system. I have stayed in much better B&Bs for less cost.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank sherRossOnWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milnthorpe hotels

manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A room a double and two single beds a huge bathroom with bath and shower easy check in and out. Everything aimed at making families welcome tea, coffee, hot chocolate in room,, breakfast options and an amazing bar. The bar has real ales at not ridiculous prices and a fab pool room with tv screen to watch the football(under 14 not allowed in this room) .All in all a great place for a family of four or couples .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zoemanchester99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnthorpe
0.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
#1 of 2 in Milnthorpe
171 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
955 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.5 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,087 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys Hotel

Property: The Cross Keys Hotel
Address: 1 Park Road, Milnthorpe LA7 7AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross Keys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is surrounded by a wealth of history, Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty, such as Leighton Moss, and a wide range of visitor attractions Milnthorpe has a long history - its busy Friday street market in the Square dates from 1334. The village's heyday was from the middle of the eighteenth to the middle of the nineteenth centuries when many of the buildings in the centre of the village (now a conservation area) were completed including the present Cross Keys Hotel. When the turnpike road between Kendal and Lancaster was constructed through the village nearly two hundred years ago Milnthorpe became an important staging post and the Cross Keys gained a fine reputation as a coaching inn with stabling for 36 horses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Cross Keys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing