We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee break”

The Olive Tree Eatery
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Milnthorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good coffee break”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We came here for a coffee and a cake and was delighted to see they had a gluten free menu, as cafés lack this these days. Good cake and tea. Would come here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annehallam, Owner at The Olive Tree Eatery, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are very pleased that you came to visit us and glad that you enjoyed your coffee and cake. We are in the process of renewing our gluten free menu with a larger choice, and thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    7
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“what the doctor ordered”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Needed a quick break and a warm up before going to a local attraction. As well we did, as the local attraction had decided not to be open after all. Need to check out the website for Leighton Hall folks, as they close for private function, eg weddings etc. The cafe is spotless, and cheerful staff, best home made soup of the week and we were in a 3 star AA hotel beforehand, so full marks for that. The jacket potato with chicken tikka was a bit here and there, but was edible. Hot chocolate best f the week and I'd tried it at at several venues around the north west!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annehallam, Owner at The Olive Tree Eatery, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we all strive to try and make the olive tree very welcoming and hope to provide excellent food and service at a reasonable cost and all feedback is taken very seriously. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Popped in here on spec for a bite to eat after a walk. Prompt, friendly attentive service, comfortable relaxed atmosphere and a very good bacon roll. Would go again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank icemandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annehallam, Owner at The Olive Tree Eatery, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we do try very hard to make all who visit very welcome and to accommodate a range of menu to suit all ages. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wish we had visited sooner!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

As my Mum lives in Milnthorpe, we used this cafe quite often under its previous ownership. When we first went to try it after the new owners had taken over, it was closed for a private function.
We finally went for lunch on a Monday in mid February, expecting it to be quiet. Wrong! Lots of people all enjoying their lunch.
The open kitchen is great - nothing to hide!
Two of us had lovely jacket potatoes, fresh not re-heated. The homemade soup was declared to be delicious. My husband had the sweet chilli chicken stir fry, which came in a "double" bowl with chips. Beautifully presented and very tasty. The toddler with us had huge egg sandwiches and left none!
The coffee was excellent and the sticky toffee pudding was very good.
Sorry we left it so long to make our first visit. We will be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cakemaker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annehallam, Owner at The Olive Tree Eatery, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we do try very hard to make all who visit very welcome and to accommodate a range of menu to suit all ages. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Lunch was nice and not over priced, good choice,staff were very pleasant. Hot chocolate was very tasty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cbr4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annehallam, Owner at The Olive Tree Eatery, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree Eatery also viewed

 

Been to The Olive Tree Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing