We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have visited this lovely Hotel before and it was fantastic on our first visit and we very much looked forward to returning, especially for the valuable 'Penny Menu' 3 weeks ago we decided to book a table for 2 and when we arrived it was very busy (often a sign of how good a place is) We were shown to our upstairs table and a drink order was taken by a happy and very polite member of staff, who explained to us there may be a wait for our food to be delivered as it was busy and we said how we could see it was busy and knew it would be worth the wait. The drinks didn't take long to arrive with a smile and we had made our minds up what we would have to eat. Black pudding fritter and a cheese tart for starters, Rump Steak and Hunters chicken for our mains and Sticky toffee pudding and apple crumble for desert. We actually didn't wait as long as we thought we would and the cheese tart had been oven cooked so it was lovely crisp pastry not the soft microwaved rubbish that you get at many places these days. Our main courses came with a separate dish of fresh vegetables, not the frozen rubbish and we were table checked a couple of times to see if everything was ok and to see if we wanted any more drinks etc.. The sticky toffee pudding was large and filling and made onsite with plenty of sticky toffee sauce and i've cream as was the crumble which was crunchy and not mush. (plenty of apple too) The Wheatsheaf is a lovely relaxing place even when busy and very happy, welcoming staff, who make you feel there is nothing that is too much trouble. I'm quite shocked to read the comments below as we really looked forward to visiting again and we were not disappointed. I cannot understand how the person below could rate rooms and sleep quality, if they left in a taxi? Maybe I've got the wrong message. We look forward to being able to visit again in the future :)

Room Tip: Make sure you book a table if possible. This is a busy little treasure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    60
    32
    13
    15
See reviews for
39
77
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I spent two weeks here, visiting from the US. The building itself is incredibly quaint, loved the architecture and the room I stayed in was very comfortable and cozy. The staff was very helpful and my interactions with them were always positive and friendly. They went out of their way to make my stay a pleasant experience. The food was great and I looked forward to breakfast every morning. I would happily stay here again, should I travel to the area in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We visited here under recommendation only to be highly disappointed! We booked and when we arrived the staff member did not really know where to seat us. We were rushed to choose a starter and main. The starter was simple and cheap. The main was very bland, dry and I did want to send it back but under politeness we did not. We had to wait over half an hour for our pudding. This ok, but nothing special.
We went to pay our bill as we could not wait to leave, however this was taking some time to find out table number. We left in a taxi who also advised us he would not have recommended this pub.
There were other diners there complaint of the staff and blandness of the food.
Very disappointing !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Wow, that seems a bit harsh! We are really sorry that you seem to have had such a bad experience. However having been in this business for many years we realise that we can't please everyone all of the time but we do have hundreds of guests every week who leave more than satisfied. So apologies once again and please give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milnthorpe hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stopped here for a break on a trip in the holidays, and was overwhelmed by the character of the place, the professional, attentive and very helpful staff. The overall ambience was relaxed, comfortable and very cosy, a bonus on an otherwise wet and windy week, and the food was well cooked and presented, we had no complaints at all. Would certainly recommend and will be back again very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Having lived in Grange over Sands over a year now and always struggled to find decent good quality food - we had passed this place on several occasions. On the way home from a 250 mile trip we stopped off for Tea on a sunday night. Two of us ordered Belly Pork, my husband fish and my daughter sausage and mash. The veg was all fresh veg and not boring garden peas but carrots swede and cabbage. The gravy was just like my granddad used to make delicious! The mains were fabulous. For desert I ordered Lemon Tart which was to die for !! I hope this is on the menu next time we come I was in heaven! Staff were very good very attentive and all in all we were very happy.

Well done and we will now be making this our local!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your kind comments, they are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for a family get-together beginning Feb '14.
As soon as I was given the 'penny menu' I thought, oh dear... The menus (two of them) were a confusing mish mash of typical pub food and an attempt at something else a little more modern. Uninspiring at best, after perusing both for an hour I still did not want to eat anything on either of them. The 'Cumbrian Platter's locally sourced cheeses were two large lumps of what appeared to be Port Salut, the pate cat food...? The 6oz steak on the plate of my husband's mixed grill cannot have weighed more than an ounce and the sausages looked like the cheapest money could buy (pale, uniform and flaccid), the peppercorn sauce to accompany steak seemed to be nothing more than sweetened milk, the duck leg of my sisters was tough as old boots. At breakfast the chef must have run out of bacon halfway through because the first four served had two large rashers and the four served last, only one.
Service was good, friendly and efficient and the rooms, although a little faded, in need of a dust and new bathrooms, were acceptable.
I would strongly recommend that if you're looking for a special stay with good food, steer WELL clear. This is a real shame because the location is superb and the cosy pub atmosphere, if teamed with good food, could be a an absolute gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We were very sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us recently, but thank you for the positive comments towards the end of your review. We do not usually respond to these reviews since most of them are generally complimentary and if there is a genuine problem we accept it and respond accordingly. However we feel that this particular review needs a response since it makes some quite harsh and in our opinion unjustified comments. We agree that two of the steaks were quite small, but the duty manageress had explained beforehand that we only had two small steaks left so would it be alright if we compensated with more of the other items, which you accepted. With reference to the cheese it is a locally produced creamy Lancashire Cheese which is nothing like Port Salut and is commented on positively many times, as is the locally procured Brussels Paté which is one of our best selling starters. The same applies to the Confit Duck Leg, which again is one of our most popular dishes so we are at a loss to understand why it seemed to be a problem for you, the duty manageress assured us that she checked the table before and after the meal but no one mentioned any problems, therefore not allowing us the opportunity to rectify the situation Indeed when everyone left the following morning nothing was said so we were quite shocked to read the review a couple of days later, again we can only apologise for not reaching our normal high standards but would appreciate the opportunity to redeem ourselves with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

stayed here in early January for Uncle's wedding and the staff couldnt be beaten on customer service. the bedrooms are lovely and we slept like logs, our bathroom needing updating but everything worked ok.
the breakfast was MASSIVE and served brilliantly.
the food for the wedding we attended was brought out hot, tasty and not one person was given the wrong food on our table (a feat in iteslf with pre-ordering ) I think testament to the excellent management and function of the place .
would go again for a riomantic weekend away with the hubster - great value and a lovely ambience !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnthorpe
0.1 mi away
The Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 2 in Milnthorpe
116 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
487 reviews
7.2 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
247 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 14 in Kendal
74 reviews
7.1 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf at Beetham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Property: The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
Address: Beetham, Milnthorpe LA7 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wheatsheaf at Beetham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Hotel Milnthorpe
Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing