We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
Nearby Hotels
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumbria Grand Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
US$123
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Netherwood(Grange-over-Sands)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grange Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elton Guest House(Grange-over-Sands)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampsfell House Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
59
64
33
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
64
33
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairy stepschristmas lunchnew ownershundred yardswell worth a visithome madeat lunchtimehistoric churchenglish villagevaried menucheesecakepleasant surroundingslocal beertiny villagesteak ale piemash and onion gravytartan carpet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a nice night here but unfortunately the chef was off and food took over an hour to come, with no explanation for delay, or bread to keep us going. When the food came it was great, but the delay was far too long. Chef is off Tuesday and Wednesday apparently, so check before you go. Rooms are fine. Church chimes can be a pain if you are like total quiet at night. As can the A6 which is close.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

4 of us had a very enjoyable meal on the Penny offer where you can have a desert or a sweet for 1p. This was our 4th visit with having a holiday home nearby but were sad to see the offer had changed to only one free sweet or starter instead of both. This added £17 to the bill, not quite as good value as we had before. The wine at £18 for the cheapest bottle, (screw top as well!) was off putting and reluctantly we had only 1 bottle. Guess we will be eating in next time - shame!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveeejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

warm welcome on arrival shown to room just what we'd hoped for wonderful. the evening meal for both nights excellent . breakfast good choice the full english with real butchers sausage
busy ,buzzing restaurant with calm attentive staff got my vote we will be back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Ate at the Whaetsheaf whilst on holiday in the are. Nice pub in pretty village. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was ok but for the price portions were on the small side. Chicken with melted cheese anda bacon topping came with 4 small new potatoes cut into slices nothing else was served with it. We were a bit dissapointed with the food but as I said earlier the pub is nice and the staff were very good

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Was visiting the garden centre close by, but didn't want to eat there as menu too fussy so thought I'd try the Wheatsheaf as I'd seen the sign before but never ventured in, and I'm glad we did. Spoilt for choice for food but as it was Sunday opted for the roast. Really fresh vegetables, tasted like they had just been picked and a good portion of beef too. Staff were very friendly and the service was really quick without being rushed. Two courses only cost £12 and that would have applied to quite a few other options if we'd have gone that route. Have already recommended to friends and will return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank HMAC769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews